We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Kobe' Japanese Steak House

136 Dickenson St, Ste 1, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761-1273
+1 808-667-5555
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent30%
  • Very good28%
  • Average20%
  • Poor8%
  • Terrible14%
Travellers talk about
“sushi” (73 reviews)
“kobe steak” (11 reviews)
“shrimp” (37 reviews)
Open Now
5:00 PM - 11:00 PMAll hours
CUISINES
Japanese, Sushi, Asian
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
136 Dickenson St, Ste 1, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761-1273
All Details
Write a Review
Reviews (431)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 406 reviews

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Great food, fun atmosphere and a good price! Really recommend for families. We had a two year old and an eight month old who loved the show.

Thank Michelle K
Martha H, Owner at Kobe' Japanese Steak House, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thanks so much for coming by and hanging out with us, Michelle! It's great to hear that you had a good time. We hope to see you again soon. Best, Kobe Ohana

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Gifted chefs. Usually closed for lunch but opened for our ladies group. Check out the photos. Vegan and vegetarian options. All price range menu items.

Thank LoisonMaui
Martha H, Owner at Kobe' Japanese Steak House, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

That's what we like to hear! Thanks for checking us out and spreading the word. We can't wait until your next visit. Best, Kobe Ohana

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We have wanted to go to Kobe's for awhile, but always opted for somewhere a bit more budget friendly each time. So, I guess when we're spending more than usual, we expect more than usual. I was a bit disappointed. We sat with other guests...More

Thank MaryAnnTravels
Martha H, Owner at Kobe' Japanese Steak House, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

We're glad you enjoyed your experience overall, but it's concerning that you were disappointed. We always want you to love your meal and your experience here. If there's something we could have done to improve your visit, don't hesitate to let us know. All the...More

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

we made a reservation and had to wait more than 1.5 hours until we were served. manager just didn't care. food was good. cook was nice.

Thank kinimod75
Martha H, Owner at Kobe' Japanese Steak House, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

We're really sorry to hear about the wait. We certainly never want that to be the case when you make a reservation. It sounds like there was some kind of mix up. Our apologies for the frustration. Best, Kobe Ohana

Reviewed 5 September 2017 via mobile

It was my daughter's birthday and her boyfriend wanted to take he family out for a nice dinner. What a joke! We arrived at our reservation at 7, with not much place to park. We were seated in the lounge for 1/2 an hour. Then...More

Thank Michele S
Martha H, Owner at Kobe' Japanese Steak House, responded to this reviewResponded 8 September 2017

This certainly isn't the impression we want to leave you with, Michele -- it's always our goal for you to leave feeling full and entertained. Our apologies for the wait. We can get a little busy, but that's no excuse for the frustration when you...More

Reviewed 28 August 2017 via mobile

Our family of 6 visited the restaurant. We were seated at our table within 10 minutes. The drink menu was great but we had to wait 40 minutes for our chef which was too long. Once he arrived he was chatty, friendly and very funny....More

Thank Miriam M
Martha H, Owner at Kobe' Japanese Steak House, responded to this reviewResponded 30 August 2017

Thanks for coming by with the family, Miriam! It's great to hear that you had a good time, but we're sorry about the wait. We hope you'll visit again soon. Best, Kobe Ohana

A TripAdvisor Member
3
Reviewed 20 August 2017 via mobile

Great all around experience, We had a party of 9 with a reservation at 5:30. They got us right in and seated. Our server Christian was awesome and attentive, our chef was equally as great and dinner was delicious. Only negative I can say is...More

Thank A TripAdvisor Member
Martha H, Owner at Kobe' Japanese Steak House, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2017

We're so glad you had such a good time! We'll be sure to pass along your compliments. We can't wait until your next visit! Best, Kobe Ohana

Reviewed 18 August 2017 via mobile

Awesome portions, cooked to order, drinks are good, wine is always affordable and everyone likes the show. Always a bit kitch, but everyone leaves full and smiling.

Thank Andre_mainville
Martha H, Owner at Kobe' Japanese Steak House, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2017

We're so glad everyone had a good time, Andre! Thanks for coming by and hanging out with us. We can't wait until next time! Best, Kobe Ohana

Reviewed 14 August 2017 via mobile

My family of five made reservations to eat at Kobe because typically we enjoy hibachi style restaurants. When we arrived, we sat in the "lounge" area for about five minutes before being seated. We were seated at the same time as a family of four....More

Thank lisa o
Martha H, Owner at Kobe' Japanese Steak House, responded to this reviewResponded 16 August 2017

We're sorry to hear about the wait when you came by. That certainly shouldn't be what you experience with us -- we always want you to have a wonderful time from beginning to end. We hope you'll give us another chance in the future. Best,...More

A TripAdvisor Member
31
Reviewed 8 August 2017 via mobile

The service was very slow... The food was a letdown had to ask the chef to clean the grill because it was filthy...

Thank A TripAdvisor Member
Martha H, Owner at Kobe' Japanese Steak House, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2017

We're sorry to hear about the service you received. That certainly shouldn't be the case when you come by. Our apologies for the frustration. We hope you'll visit again really soon -- we know we can do better. -Kobe Ohana

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
Lahaina Pizza Company
1,134 reviews
.13 km away
Captain Jack's Island Grill
977 reviews
.12 km away
BanyanTreats
198 reviews
.14 km away
Hawaii Gelato
178 reviews
.09 km away
Nearby Attractions
Lahaina Front Street
3,913 reviews
.11 km away
Maria Lanakila Catholic Church
216 reviews
.17 km away
Baldwin Home Museum
176 reviews
.08 km away
Epic Maui Hikes
78 reviews
.02 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
LuxuryAroundTheWorld
29 August 2017|
AnswerShow all 4 answers
Response from Oompa03 | Reviewed this property |
It's a hibachi grill so yeah, all of the meat is gluten free... As for what sauces used, they have a large variety so I'm sure there are at least some that are gluten free.
0
Votes
donaldf724
8 March 2017|
AnswerShow all 15 answers
Response from shelleykc | Reviewed this property |
Sorry for the delay in replying. Yes, kids have fun watching the chef cook the food on the hibachi grill.
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Cuisine
Meals
Dinner, After-hours
Restaurant features
Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar
Dining Style
Casual Dining
Good for
Groups, Child-friendly, Kids, Special Occasion Dining
Open Hours
Sunday
5:00 PM - 11:00 PM
Monday
5:00 PM - 11:00 PM
Tuesday
5:00 PM - 11:00 PM
Wednesday
5:00 PM - 11:00 PM
Thursday
5:00 PM - 11:00 PM
Friday
5:00 PM - 11:00 PM
Saturday
5:00 PM - 11:00 PM
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 136 Dickenson St, Ste 1, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761-1273
    (Luakini)
  • Public Transportation: The Maui Bus stops at the Wharf Shopping center 1/2 block from the restuarant.
  • Location: United States  >  Hawaii (HI)  >  Maui  >  Lahaina
  • Phone Number: +1 808-667-5555
Description
Enjoy the exciting, ancient art of teppanyaki cooking at the restaurant voted number 1 Japanese restaurant on Maui. Teppanyaki is derived from "teppan" which means iron plate and "yaki" which means grilled. At Kobe, it is delivered with the style and grace of a Japanese country inn. Blend in the gentle aloha of Hawaii, you will experience an evening where terrific food and entertainment are the perfect combination. After a delicious bowl of shabu-shabu soup, your teppan chef will begin to cook up an entrée of dishes, right in front of you, cooking it to tasty perfection, while watching him do the "flaming onion volcano", one of their many culinary tricks. Another favorite at Kobe is to sit in the sunken sushi bar and order one of uncle Oku's fabulous daily specials and enjoy watching the chefs masterfully create their delicious sushi. Oku prides himself on the high quality of fresh fish he chooses from local vendors. Approximately 95% of Oku's fish comes from Hawaii, and the balance of his menu consists of exotic items imported from Japan. The restaurant décor features many historical ornaments and artifacts to provide an authentic feel of Japan, the mother country. Kobe Japanese Steak House & Oku's Sushi Bar delights visiting guests and Island locals alike. Come and join us for a great meal today!
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing