We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Stinking Rose

Certificate of Excellence
$$ - $$$
Neighbourhood:
Chinatown
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Neighbourhoods
Neighbourhoods
Get directions
325 Columbus Ave, San Francisco, CA 94133-3907 (Broadway)
+1 415-781-7673
Website
Today
11:30 - 22:00
Closed now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun - Sat 11:30 - 22:00
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

2,161 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 1,882: English reviews
Level Contributor
47 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 days ago NEW via mobile

I was recommended by a friend to come here, she came here about 3 years ago and loved it so on our Last night in San Francisco we gave it a go. After being underwhelmed by the food down on fishermans wharf I was so happy we found this place. Food was fantastic! I love garlic so there's no such... More 

Helpful?
Thank mo71ey
Kansas City, Missouri, USA
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 days ago NEW via mobile

If you love Garlic this is the place for you! My daughter and I went there for dinner and it was delicious! We had the garlic soaked in a tub with their homemade rolls, pizza, pasta and it was yummy! Our waiter took great care of us and we will definitely go back next time we are in San Fran.

Helpful?
Thank mu4lf
London
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 days ago NEW via mobile

Booked on recommendation for the last night of our holiday, party of 4. Reviews and all recommendations were good, but for the price paid it was so horribly rushed it felt like a fast food joint. Some plates were taken while one of us was still eating a starter...despite us mentioning this. Wine (nice house white) was delivered to the... More 

Helpful?
Thank BulaBus
Peter D, General Manager at The Stinking Rose, responded to this review

Dear Guest, We appreciate the feedback. We're happy you enjoyed our delicious food and wine selections. However, were disappointed our team didn't go above and beyond to accommodate your needs or make you feel welcome or valued. Your experience is not on par with the level of service we're accustomed to sharing with our guests. We regret that we didn't... More 

Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
28 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

If you love Garlic, this is the place! The steaks and food are outstanding and the Waitstaff is fun and attentive! Order the roasted garlic app and make sure everyone smears the stinky goodness on their slabs of bread, that way you won't notice the smell of garlic oozing from everyone's pores! Definitely put it on your 'must eat' list!

Helpful?
Thank Cheryl B
Peter D, General Manager at The Stinking Rose, responded to this review

Thank you for the wonderful review, Cheryl! We're delighted you had such a fantastic experience with us! We love sharing our passion for delicious food with our guests and your praise for our mouthwatering dishes lets us know we're doing our job! It's outstanding you enjoyed our garlic dishes so much! That's what we like to see! We look forward... More 

Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Lot's of years ago when I came across this place,at first I thought-"Who would name their restaurant The Stinking Rose"??? And than out of curriosity I went there and I was thrilled. I love garlic,and I enjoyed everything,reading the menu with the small Dracula faces next to every dish that doesn't have garlic :) I enjoyed the butter,the bread,the sallad,the... More 

Helpful?
Thank Emily I
Peter D, General Manager at The Stinking Rose, responded to this review

Thanks for the perfect review, Emily! We're delighted to hear that you had such an outstanding dining experience with us! We strive to offer our guests quality service and delicious cuisine, so your praise lets us know we're doing our job! We'd love to host you again soon for another mouthwatering meal! Thanks for sharing and have a wonderful day! More 

Heathcote, Australia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

Heard of this place through our tour guide. It was great. We felt like spaghetti and meatballs and they didn't disappoint. Lovely atmosphere, great location, terrific staff and the meals where to die for. Yummo

Helpful?
Thank Sandra H
Nory H, General Manager at The Stinking Rose, responded to this review

Thank you for the great rating, Sandra! We are always working very hard to provide fun and comfortable stays for all of our guests. It is great to hear that you enjoyed your meal! We hope you plan on stopping in again soon! We'd love to have you back. Thanks again, Sandra! Have a great day! More 

Arizona
Level Contributor
63 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We ate at the The Stinkin' Rose to celebrate my dad's 75th birthday. The food was excellent & the service even better. The staff was very accommodating with my dad's specific meal request & he loved his meal. They even brought out dessert & sang for his birthday. Lots of fun! Would definitely eat here again.

Helpful?
Thank AZFam-Travel
Nory H, General Manager at The Stinking Rose, responded to this review

Thanks for the outstanding review! We're delighted to hear that you had an amazing birthday celebration with us! It's wonderful that you loved your meal, along with our team's excellent service! We can't wait to host you again soon for more garlicky goodness! Thanks for sharing and have a lovely day! More 

Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
112 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago

Was recommended to eat here by our guy from "Wine Country Tours" (Thanks Phil). A really good vibe and great service. Who new there was so many ways to enjoy garlic? Definitely get the garlic hot tub to enjoy with your bread. Our server, AngelG, really knew his stuff and made our night even better. We had some great cocktails... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank ChevyK74
Nory H, General Manager at The Stinking Rose, responded to this review

Thank you for the perfect rating, Checy! It is great to hear that you enjoyed our great service and delicious food. We are always working very hard to ensure that all of our guests have a great experience! Thank you for stopping in and we hope that you plan on visiting again soon! Thanks again, Chevy! Have a wonderful day! More 

Level Contributor
59 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago

way too much garlic. i get it some people can't taste anything so they need extremes like the real stink of this restaurant. but each to his/own taste. lots of people love it.

Helpful?
Thank Laxsmi d
Nory H, General Manager at The Stinking Rose, responded to this review

Dear Lakshmi, we appreciate you taking the time to share feedback from your recent experience at The Stinking Rose. We take issues and concerns very seriously. If we are unable to pinpoint your contact information from our dining records, a member of our team will reach out to you privately on TripAdvisor to learn and discuss more about your experience.... More 

Level Contributor
79 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

My wife and I are here for lunch today. We ordered a arugula salad and a ribeye steak. We shared both items. We have eaten here before and found that the items with a garlic focus are better. For the steak and salad $80 for lunch is quite expensive.

Helpful?
Thank John M
Nory H, General Manager at The Stinking Rose, responded to this review

We appreciate your feedback, John. We strive to offer our guests quality service and delicious cuisine. However, it's unfortunate that your dining experience with us was anything less than perfect. We'll be addressing your concerns with the appropriate members of our team. We'd love to host you again in the future to share a more positive experience with you. More 

Travellers who viewed The Stinking Rose also viewed

 

Been to The Stinking Rose? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    4 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
    4 of 5 bubbles
Average prices
US$21 - US$30
Cuisine
Italian, American, Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options
Meals
Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, After-hours
Restaurant features
Takeout, Reservations, Private Dining, Seating, Waitstaff, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar
Dining Style
Casual Dining
Good for
Kids, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Groups, Romantic, Child-friendly
Open Hours
Sunday
11:30 - 22:00
Monday
11:30 - 22:00
Tuesday
11:30 - 22:00
Wednesday
11:30 - 22:00
Thursday
11:30 - 22:00
Friday
11:30 - 22:00
Saturday
11:30 - 22:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 325 Columbus Ave, San Francisco, CA 94133-3907
    (Broadway)
  • Public Transportation: Muni Lines: 8BX, 45 and 41
  • Location: United States  >  California (CA)  >  San Francisco>  > Chinatown
  • Neighbourhood: Chinatown
  • Phone Number: +1 415-781-7673
Description
Garlic rules at this world famous North Beach restaurant where dining is an experience for all the senses. Charming private dining areas with unique decor: hanging Chianti bottles, glowing candles, cozy booths and chandeliers. Tureens and sizzling skillets of seafood tantalize and thrill...follow your nose to The Stinking Rose!

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of The Stinking Rose and other visitors
3 questions
Ask a question
7 months ago
Winchester, Virginia
over a year ago
Tacoma, Washington

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from The Stinking Rose staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?

Staying in Chinatown

Neighbourhood Profile
Chinatown
As the oldest in North America, San Francisco's Chinatown is an exotic experience. A unique neighbourhood decorated with colourful shops, historic streetlights, hanging lanterns, and pagoda roofs awaits behind the stone-carved dragon gates. Feast on dim sum at the tea houses, or meet the locals who gather at historic Portsmouth Square to play chess or practice Tai Chi. Fish markets, produce stands, tourist shops, jewelry stores, fortune tellers, temples and restaurants come together to create a world unto itself in this historic neighbourhood.
Explore this neighbourhood