We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Moby Dick's

3225 State Hwy Rte 6, Across from Gull Pond Road, Wellfleet, MA 02667-7054
+1 508-349-9795
Website
Share
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent66%
  • Very good24%
  • Average7%
  • Poor2%
  • Terrible1%
Travellers talk about
“lobster” (253 reviews)
“steamers” (101 reviews)
Closed Now
Hours
CUISINES
American, Seafood, Soups, Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Food
Service
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
3225 State Hwy Rte 6, Across from Gull Pond Road, Wellfleet, MA 02667-7054
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (1,395)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1 - 10 of 1,350 reviews

Reviewed 2 days ago

We visit Moby Dick's every year. It is the one restaurant the whole family can agree. The food is always good and consistent. It's not fussy and it's worth the wait. For us old timers it is as close as you can get to Kadee's...More

Thank Kindleuser
Reviewed 1 week ago

Went back to this restaurant a year and a half after the last visit and was extremely disappointed. I am a scallop lover and remember the succulent fried ones that I had here last year. They were huge and lightly breaded and sooo juicy and...More

Thank SandSPS
ToddB2216, Owner at Moby Dick's, responded to this reviewResponded 6 days ago

SandSPS, Thank you for your comments. We do not batter our seafood. We just dust with a seasoned flour mix. We do this so that the taste of our fresh, local sea scallops shines through. That said, we are human and make mistakes. If your...More

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

The food was amazing at Moby Dick’s. My mother enjoyed the clam chowder as well. I would highly recommend this restaurant and we loved the atmosphere.

Thank fgrayson
ToddB2216, Owner at Moby Dick's, responded to this reviewResponded 6 days ago

I'm glad you and your mom enjoyed your dinner. Excellent choice on the clam chowder. Hope to have you back again sometime in the future. -Todd B, Owner

Reviewed 9 October 2018

We love this place so much that we just had to head over there tonight as this was the last night they were open before closing for the season. Our meals were once again cooked/served to perfection! My hubby had fried oysters and I couldn't...More

Thank iamtruro
ToddB2216, Owner at Moby Dick's, responded to this reviewResponded 10 October 2018

Thanks for your continued support and your wonderful review! I'm thrilled to hear you had such a wonderful experience and look forward to having you back again next season. Well wishes, Todd B, Owner

Reviewed 5 October 2018

We come back every year.... great every time! it never disappoints!!! No matter what time of year or how busy it is...

Thank annieg1229
ToddB2216, Owner at Moby Dick's, responded to this reviewResponded 10 October 2018

Thanks for the high praise! We're glad you enjoyed your visit. Hope to have you back again sometime soon. Well wishes, Todd B, Owner

Reviewed 3 October 2018

We used to be regulars but have not been in many years. We had the Oysters Pesto, Cape Cod Salad, and Surf and Turf (Steak tips and scallops). I know this is a seafood restaurant but I LOVE that salad. Blue berry cobbler was an...More

Thank Scott B
ToddB2216, Owner at Moby Dick's, responded to this reviewResponded 9 October 2018

Glad you had an all-around excellent experience, Scott! Great choice on the blueberry cobbler. Hope to have you back again sometime soon. All the best, Todd B, Owner

Reviewed 2 October 2018 via mobile

Great chowder and fish. Clean and inviting. The staff was friendly. You will not be dissapointed. Glad we made a stop here. Crab cakes outstanding

Thank Margaret B
ToddB2216, Owner at Moby Dick's, responded to this reviewResponded 9 October 2018

Great choice on the crab cakes, Margaret! Glad you enjoyed it. Can't wait to have you back again sometime in the future. Well wishes, Todd B, Owner

Reviewed 2 October 2018 via mobile

The reviews were full of praise, so we bought a nice white wine down the road and came back to order a lobster, clam strip dinner, broiled sea scallops with corn on the cob and potato, and a slice of key lime pie. All was...More

Thank Sahuaro6
ToddB2216, Owner at Moby Dick's, responded to this reviewResponded 9 October 2018

I'm thrilled you had such an excellent experience with us. I hope to have you back again sometime soon. I look forward to have you back again sometime soon. Sincerely, Todd B, Owner

Reviewed 2 October 2018 via mobile

We dined twice at this restaurant. You queue to order you food at the main counter and choose which of two restaurant areas to be seated in. The waiting staff were students from around the world and very attentive. Todd the Owner could not have...More

Thank DAVID N
ToddB2216, Owner at Moby Dick's, responded to this reviewResponded 9 October 2018

I'm glad your experiences with us were wonderful, David. Hope to have you back again sometime in the future. Best wishes, Todd B, Owner

Reviewed 2 October 2018

This was certainly different than any other restaurant we have frequented, they do NOT serve beer, wine or ANY alcohol, so people brought their own and the place provided ice buckets for people to keep their wine or whatever alcohol they brought in with them...More

Thank mary-ellen a
ToddB2216, Owner at Moby Dick's, responded to this reviewResponded 9 October 2018

Mary-ellen, It sounds like we were not what you were looking for. Perhaps the next time you are in Wellfleet you should try our other restaurant - Winslow's Tavern. It is located in Wellfleet center and is full service with a full liquor license. All...More

Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 4 hotels in Wellfleet
Mainstay Motor Inn
54 reviews
3.42 km away
Even’tide Resort Motel and Cottages
201 reviews
7.01 km away
Wellfleet Motel
295 reviews
8.23 km away
Blue Dolphin Inn
287 reviews
8.81 km away
Nearby Restaurants
Winslow's Tavern
519 reviews
1.01 km away
Mac's Shack
611 reviews
1.44 km away
The Wicked Oyster
453 reviews
1.36 km away
Nearby Attractions
Wellfleet Bay Wildlife Sanctuary
350 reviews
1.18 km away
Wellfleet Public Library
48 reviews
.98 km away
Duck Harbor Beach
38 reviews
1.24 km away
Wellfleet Historical Society Museum
12 reviews
1.03 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
Michelle A
31 July 2018|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from Sstirling80 | Reviewed this property |
Correct!!
0
Votes
jbieber4
23 July 2017|
AnswerShow all 4 answers
Response from DrSchnuffi | Reviewed this property |
At lunchtime no. Don't know about dinner, but I guess yes.
0
Votes
Charliesgirl1963
12 September 2016|
AnswerShow all 6 answers
Response from Abigail M | Reviewed this property |
Dress code is casual
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$20
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, After-hours
Restaurant features
Takeout, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible
Good for
Local cuisine, Kids, Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining, Groups
Open Hours
Sunday
11:30 AM - 9:00 PM
Monday
11:30 AM - 9:00 PM
Tuesday
11:30 AM - 9:00 PM
Wednesday
11:30 AM - 9:00 PM
Thursday
11:30 AM - 9:00 PM
Friday
11:30 AM - 9:00 PM
Saturday
11:30 AM - 9:00 PM
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 3225 State Hwy Rte 6, Across from Gull Pond Road, Wellfleet, MA 02667-7054
  • Location: United States  >  Massachusetts (MA)  >  Cape Cod  >  Wellfleet
  • Phone Number: +1 508-349-9795
  • E-mail
Description
Closed for the winter. See you May 2017 When we first opened Moby Dick’s in ‘83, we had no idea we’d become an establishment on Cape Cod. We simply wanted to start a BYOB restaurant that had fresh seafood, a relaxed environment, and a friendly staff that would make people feel at home. Well, three decades later, we’re still doing exactly that, opening every season in May to the delight of locals and visitors alike. Some people stop in for our lobster rolls while others come for an old-fashioned bucket of steamers. But everyone knows they can come to us for fresh family fun and a dining experience in Wellfleet they'll never forget.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing