We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Benihana

47 W 56th St, New York City, NY 10019-3902
+1 212-581-0930
Website
Share
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Neighbourhoods
Neighbourhoods
Overview
  • Excellent26%
  • Very good38%
  • Average15%
  • Poor9%
  • Terrible12%
Travellers talk about
“fried rice” (19 reviews)
“prawns” (5 reviews)
Open Now
Hours
CUISINES
Japanese, Sushi, Asian, Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
47 W 56th St, New York City, NY 10019-3902
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (645)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1 - 10 of 334 reviews

Reviewed 19 April 2018 via mobile

We had a family dinner here and it was fun! Food was good and service was decent. They did all the habachi tricks. It was a good time.

Thank WilsonLin
Benihana M, Guest Relations Manager at Benihana, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

WIlson, Your feedback is appreciated. We will be sure to share your kind words with the team.

Reviewed 8 April 2018 via mobile

Had an OK dinner here. Steaks were ok. Sushi was good. Crab mix is funky, they add mayo to it. Chef was entertaining.

Thank sushiguy79
Benihana M, Guest Relations Manager at Benihana, responded to this reviewResponded 9 April 2018

On behalf of our team here at Benihana, we would like to thank you for taking the time to provide us with feedback. We will be sure to share it with our Guest Relations Team.

Reviewed 1 April 2018 via mobile

We had a reservation for 10. Arrived there at 9. While we waited we saw that other consumers were being sitted while we waited. At 10h30 we talked to the staff who was rude and didn’t care. Then we left, The nice part was that...More

1  Thank Florbela M
Benihana M, Guest Relations Manager at Benihana, responded to this reviewResponded 2 April 2018

Florbela, we certainly want to make this right for you. Please contact our Guest Relations team via benihanalistens.smg.com/

Reviewed 12 March 2018 via mobile

This location needs a lot of attention. My husband and I visited this location 3/10/18 At 10pm. Upon arriving and entering the facility we immediately felt unwelcome. The hostess was extremely unpleasant and unwelcoming. Our reservation was for 10:15 and was seated over and hour...More

Thank Brittany V
Benihana M, Guest Relations Manager at Benihana, responded to this reviewResponded 16 March 2018

Brittany, we apologize for this disappointing experience. If you have not done so already, please contact Guest Relations via benihanalistens.smg.com/. Our team would love to follow up with you. Your feedback helps us to make improvements. Thank you for taking the time to share your...More

Reviewed 11 March 2018

Try to make a reservation at 7pm. it should be fine. It's a nice show for kids and teenagers. Teppanyaki food is very good, teir meat really tender. I've been there many time, you can spend 1 1/2h relax with your familly. But try to...More

Thank EricMarc88
Benihana M, Guest Relations Manager at Benihana, responded to this reviewResponded 12 March 2018

Eric, Our goal is to create great guest memories. We are pleased to hear we were able to do so for you and your family.

Reviewed 10 March 2018

We were seated at 7:30 when we had a 6 pm reservation. The lobby was total chaos, as everyone else was complaining for the same reason. I learned from the staff that this happens every weekend. The overbooking is intentional and completely disrespectful of customers....More

Thank geoml2015
Benihana M, Guest Relations Manager at Benihana, responded to this reviewResponded 12 March 2018

Geo, thank you for sharing your review. We understand your disappointment as this shouldn’t have happened. Your feedback helps us to make improvements and we’re hopeful that you will provide us with an opportunity to serve you again. Arigato. If you would like to get...More

Reviewed 6 March 2018

It's busy enough perhaps based on it's name, but they were so disorganized. Even people with reservations were waiting forever to be seated - many just left. Including us...

Thank SFlurry
Benihana M, Guest Relations Manager at Benihana, responded to this reviewResponded 7 March 2018

We're sorry to hear this as it shouldn't have happened. Please contact Guest Relations via benihanalistens.smg.com/

Reviewed 16 February 2018 via mobile

After One hour waiting with a reservation we left. What irritated me the most was the indiference of the guy that received us. On our arrival they tolds us that we should wait 10/15 min max. Not a problem with that. After half an hour...More

Thank Gonçalo H
Benihana M, Guest Relations Manager at Benihana, responded to this reviewResponded 20 February 2018

Goncalo, We definitely want to resolve this issue so you can come back and enjoy our establishment, to better assist you please fill out our guest contact form via benihanalistens.smg.com/ so we can reach out to you regarding this experience.

Reviewed 15 February 2018

Let me start. We looked at the menu of this place in the lobby and noted we could eat for a certain starting point. When we where seated promptly we came at 3:30pm so the is an off time but the first thing I noticed...More

Thank Catherine L
Benihana M, Guest Relations Manager at Benihana, responded to this reviewResponded 20 February 2018

Catherine, on behalf of our team here at Benihana, we would like to sincerely apologize for your negative visit with us. If you have not done so already, please contact Guest Relations via benihanalistens.smg.com/. Our team would love to follow up with you, as your...More

Reviewed 20 January 2018 via mobile

Only families with kids go to Benihana's anymore. The show is still the same after all these years but that is the good thing. The quality of the food is OK. This particular location is not helped by the low ceiling on the mezzanine, and...More

Thank george a
Benihana M, Guest Relations Manager at Benihana, responded to this reviewResponded 25 January 2018

George, we understand your disappointment as this shouldn't have happened. From behalf of our team here at Benihana, we sincerely apologize for the negative experience. Please take a moment to reach out to our Guest Relations team directly via benihanalistens.smg.com/ so that we can make...More

Nearby
Midtown
This is the iconic New York that so many visitors
imagine before they visit—spectacular skyscrapers like
the Chrysler Building and Empire State Building,
iconic public buildings like Grand Central Terminal
and the New York Public Library, and the non-stop
hustle and bustle of the city streets. Fifth Avenue is
a shopper's heaven where you can find every kind of
store imaginable, with fashion brands ranging from the
...More
Nearby HotelsSee all 477 hotels in New York City
The Whitby Hotel
75 reviews
.07 km away
Shoreham
1,960 reviews
.11 km away
the Quin
3,159 reviews
.13 km away
Chambers Hotel
674 reviews
.14 km away
Nearby Restaurants
Beyond Sushi
121 reviews
.03 km away
Bengal Tiger Indian Food
369 reviews
.01 km away
Five Guys
1,661 reviews
.08 km away
Uncle Jack's Steakhouse - Midtown
1,140 reviews
.04 km away
Nearby Attractions
Love Sculpture
592 reviews
.13 km away
Central Park Discovery
247 reviews
.14 km away
Central Park Sightseeing
3,461 reviews
.02 km away
Central Park Tours & Bike Rentals
186 reviews
.12 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
erica99123
31 March 2016|
AnswerShow all 4 answers
Response from Jeff4707 | Reviewed this property |
I went with my wife and 2 children (8,4 yrs old). I had 3 sapporro's and my wife had 2 drinks also. With that, our total bill was $180 with tip. They do take reservations, but they don't care how long you wait. We waited... More
2
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$15 - US$30
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, After-hours
Restaurant features
Reservations, Private Dining, Seating, Waitstaff, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar
Dining Style
Casual Dining
Good for
Child-friendly, Kids, Special Occasion Dining, Groups
Open Hours
Sunday
12:00 PM - 11:00 PM
Monday
11:30 AM - 3:30 PM
5:00 PM - 11:00 PM
Tuesday
11:30 AM - 3:30 PM
5:00 PM - 11:00 PM
Wednesday
11:30 AM - 3:30 PM
5:00 PM - 11:00 PM
Thursday
11:30 AM - 3:30 PM
5:00 PM - 11:00 PM
Friday
11:30 AM - 3:30 PM
5:00 PM - 12:00 AM
Saturday
12:00 PM - 12:00 AM
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 47 W 56th St, New York City, NY 10019-3902
    (Between 5th and 6th Ave)
  • Public Transportation: F Train ( 57 street stop)
  • Location: United States  >  New York (NY)  >  New York City>  > Midtown
  • Neighbourhood: Midtown
  • Phone Number: +1 212-581-0930
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing
;