We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Gertrude's

Certificate of Excellence
$$ - $$$
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
10 Art Museum Dr, Baltimore, MD 21218-3898 (N. Charles St.)
+1 410-889-3399
Website
Today
10:00 - 21:00
Closed now
All hours
Hours:
Sun 10:00 - 20:00
Tue - Fri 11:30 - 21:00
Sat 10:00 - 21:00
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

324 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 316: English reviews
Maryland
Level Contributor
30 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago

Even the setting is enticing, as Gertrude's is in the Baltimore Museum of Art. We enjoy brunch or dinner there a few times a year, when we come to the city to meet friends or when we're visiting the museum or Baltimore events. Gracious dining room, outdoor seating in mild weather, with a consistently friendly and professional staff. All very... More 

Helpful?
Thank JanWMaryland
Gertie S, Guest Relations Manager at Gertrude's, responded to this review

Thank you for your very kind words Jan. When we hear reviews like this it warms our heart as we know we're doing good. And yes, John loves being out in the restaurant chatting with the customers...and giving a helping hand when needed! Come back soon! More 

Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
100 reviews
85 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We usually eat at Gertrude's after hearing a concert put on by the Baltimore Chamber Jazz Society. The restaurant has always provided good food and service. They offer a large selection of small and large plates, sandwiches and salads. We will return after the next concert.

Helpful?
Thank paulhollinger
Bedminster, New Jersey
Level Contributor
56 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We were happy to get a reservation for brunch because we had heard so many great things about the restaurant. It lived up to and exceeded our expectations! Food was amazing. Between the four of us we had the Sweet Potato Hash (which was a special), Gutman Avenue Eggs, Stuffed French Toast and Buttermilk Waffles. Everything was awesome, and service... More 

Helpful?
Thank MJ115
Berlin, Maryland
Level Contributor
18 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Seven friends and I met here one Sunday afternoon for brunch. Service was very good, the food variety was excellent and the prices reasonable for its location and offerings Located in The Baltimore Museum of Art (BMA) which is free except for special shows the artistry of the food competes with the non edible art. My crab omelet was excellent.... More 

Helpful?
Thank BestPaws
BALTIMORE
Level Contributor
193 reviews
174 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Gertrudes is hidden a little bit right now because of all the construction – but don’t let that stop you from heading over and take a stroll through the sculpture garden. Luckily for me, I was able to skip the construction on Charles Street and walk over. It was a gorgeous day and we were able to sit outside. I... More 

Helpful?
Thank eatingcharmcity
santa fe, nm
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 October 2016

Absolutely delicious locally sourced seafood and all produce. Every last bite of every item is simply delicious and fresh and well crafted. Well thought out wines by the glass Good service and you have a world class museum to visit before and after.

Helpful?
Thank Lobomojo
Randallstown, Maryland
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 October 2016

This was my first time at this restaurant. It is located in the BAM which adds a nice touch. It is quaint and has a cute set-up. We were there celebrating a family member's 70th birthday and it was 15 of us. They did accommodate a party of that size considering the restaurant is not that big. Although two waiters... More 

Helpful?
Thank kbgreen22
Gertie S, Guest Relations Manager at Gertrude's, responded to this review

We are so sorry to hear about your experience at Gertrude's. We do pride ourselves on our service and food quality so we're very sad that we disappointed you. While we would like to think that we're 100% all the time, we know that things sometimes go awry. We really appreciate that you let us know because it's only when... More 

Level Contributor
93 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 October 2016

Had lunch here with my mom and a family friend. We had a lovely time. I had the soup and grilled cheese. Soup was small and I got more fries than I anticipated but I left full and the service was great

Helpful?
Thank Sami L
Gertie S, Guest Relations Manager at Gertrude's, responded to this review

Thanks. Come back to see us again soon. More 

Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 October 2016 via mobile

Asked around at our hotel and they did not know of the restaurant. We decided to venture there anyways. I had a wonderful soup of the day, pumpkin pear bisque. I then followed it up with two small plates - the duck spring rolls and fried oysters. Both were excellent. The remounted fir the oysters was spicy and wonderful. My... More 

Helpful?
Thank Aaron W
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
166 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 October 2016

We ordered the crab cakes and oysters. The crab cakes were good and so were the oysters but not exceptional; cannot remember the sides for they were kind of bland (I added sauce to make them edible. There was music for Sunday brunch but the restuarant was so open that it was noisy and hard to hear the music.

Helpful?
Thank Woodsnottraveled
Gertie S, Guest Relations Manager at Gertrude's, responded to this review

So sorry that you were not totally happy. We know how noisy it can get sometimes o Sunday mornings. It's probably one of our busiest times of the week. Hope you'll come back and try us again. We appreciate your feedback....that's how we can keep getting better all the time. More 

Travellers who viewed Gertrude's also viewed

 

Been to Gertrude's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Average prices
US$30 - US$80
Cuisine
American, Balti, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar
Dining Style
Casual Elegant
Good for
Child-friendly, Groups, Romantic, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining
Open Hours
Sunday
10:00 - 20:00
Tuesday
11:30 - 21:00
Wednesday
11:30 - 21:00
Thursday
11:30 - 21:00
Friday
11:30 - 21:00
Saturday
10:00 - 21:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 10 Art Museum Dr, Baltimore, MD 21218-3898
    (N. Charles St.)
  • Location: United States  >  Maryland (MD)  >  Baltimore
  • Phone Number: +1 410-889-3399

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of Gertrude's and other visitors
1 question
Ask a question
Millersville, Maryland

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Gertrude's staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?