We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
Thorley Street | Thorley, Bishops Stortford CM23 4AS, England
+44 1279 710991
Website
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

471 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 468: English reviews
Bishops Stortford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed yesterday NEW via mobile

On the whole the food is good. Sometimes find it difficult to book at weekends or special occasions even thou I get emails. I feel that the specials board could do with a bit more variety but overall good pub grub

Helpful?
Thank sharon c
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
94 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed yesterday NEW via mobile

We went for Saturday lunch here and it was great. The food was delicious with generous portions. The staff were very friendly and the whole place is really family friendly. I will definitely be back!

Helpful?
Thank James B
Bishops Stortford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed yesterday NEW via mobile

Had an amazing Sunday lunch here, shared the shoulder of lamb which was huge and plenty to share without feeling you were taking too much!

Helpful?
1 Thank sooze223
Braintree, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Visited Coach and Horses for lunch a month ago during February half-term with my wife and mother. We were going to go to the Three Horseshoes but would have had to wait an hour as they had a party of 12 people! We were pleased that we went to the Coach and Horses instead - the Three Horseshoes is part... More 

Helpful?
Thank Derek B
Ipswich
Level Contributor
49 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago

Stopped on Friday lunchtime. Very warm welcome extended to us and we were soon found a table, even though we hadn't booked. Menu had really good dishes to choose and we were soon tucking into our delicious meals. I had the sweet and sour pork with rice and pitta bread, which was really tasty and piping hot. My husband had... More 

Helpful?
Thank Jaypee046
Sam T, Assistant Manager at Coach and Horses, responded to this review

Hello Jaypee, I'm so happy to read that you enjoyed the food and service, the team will be over joyed to read of your comments. We're very lucky to have quite a few regulars, we all enjoy a good old chat with them! Thank you for taking the time to leave such a complimentary review, we hope to see you... More 

Harlow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

It's a really nice setting, and the menu makes you think you're in for a treat, but I was left a little disappointed. I really want to give it more stars, and I would definitely come again, to give it another chance, mostly down to the staff, who are friendly as you like, without being overbearing, and they all know... More 

Helpful?
3 Thank Calum O
Sam T, Assistant Manager at Coach and Horses, responded to this review

Hello Calum, I'm so sorry to read that you didn't enjoy your meal with us if I can ask you to email the pub ( coachandhorses.stortford@mcmullens.co.uk) with what you ordered and what was wrong with it so that I can look into it with the chef, as we do want to improve. I'm really pleased you enjoyed the service. We... More 

Hoddesdon, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago

Had lovely meal lunchtime today (Friday). The restaurant was very busy and the staff seemed to treat you as though you were the only people there, service was excellent. Food was was lovely and hot. We did not have dessert as the main meal was very filling. I would recommend the gammon steak. We visit the restaurant occasionally, should do... More 

Helpful?
Thank ChrisRoger1969
Sam T, Assistant Manager at Coach and Horses, responded to this review

Hello ChrisRoger, Thank you for taking the time to leave such a wonderful review. I'm really pleased to read that you enjoyed your meals - next time make sure you save room for a pudding, it's the best bit!! I'm also delighted to read that you enjoyed the service, we do like to pride ourselves on great customer service so... More 

Greater London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Had such a lovely meal this afternoon, the staff were excellent throughout and really looked after us… Unfortunately the first serving of beef was a little bit tough but the staff were excellent in looking after us and replacing it… It's a quaint little English pub on the road toward Bishop Stortford-good food and extremely good value price.. would recommend... More 

Helpful?
Thank Ajm M
Sam T, Assistant Manager at Coach and Horses, responded to this review

Hello AJM M, Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. Firstly I'd like to apologise about the beef being tough, but thank you for being so understanding, it was honestly no trouble replacing the meal, in fact as I said, I'd rather replace the meal and have you happy than sat looking over a meal you're not... More 

lpndon
Level Contributor
19 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Has a nice evening here staff are friendly and welcoming ordered the seafood pie that was nice but could have done with some more fish and prawns mainly potatoes and sauce had the pavlova for desert that's was delicious and would also recommend the sticky toffee pudding that my friend had. My fiance had Fish and chips but found a... More 

Helpful?
Thank tyronem1
Sam T, Assistant Manager at Coach and Horses, responded to this review

Hello Tyronem1, Thank you for taking the time to leave a review and some feedback. The Seafood Pie does have a specific weight of fish in there, but if it gets cut too small once cooked the fish cooks away slightly so doesn't seem as if there's as much in there, I will let the chefs know and make sure... More 

Level Contributor
30 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago

we stopped for Sunday lunch on way to Stanstead airport. We had roast dinner The staff are amazing and the food was fantastic. First time here and would highly recommend and will go again

Helpful?
Thank Sjj75
Sam T, Assistant Manager at Coach and Horses, responded to this review

Hello SJJ75, Thank you so much for taking the time to leave a review, it is greatly appreciated! The staff will be delighted to read that you enjoyed the food and service, we look forward to seeing you again soon, Sam More 

Travellers who viewed Coach and Horses also viewed

Bishops Stortford, Hertfordshire
Bishops Stortford, Hertfordshire
 
Bishops Stortford, Hertfordshire
Bishops Stortford, Hertfordshire
 

Been to Coach and Horses? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    4 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Cuisine
Bar, British, Pub, Gluten Free Options, Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, After-hours, Drinks
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Validated Parking, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi
Good for
Romantic, Groups, Business meetings, Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Kids
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Thorley Street | Thorley, Bishops Stortford CM23 4AS, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Hertfordshire  >  Bishops Stortford
  • Phone Number: +44 1279 710991

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of Coach and Horses and other visitors
1 question
Ask a question
10 months ago

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Coach and Horses staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?