We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Mooring

1 Sayer, Newport, RI 02840
+1 401-846-2260
Website
Share
Save
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent59%
  • Very good29%
  • Average9%
  • Poor2%
  • Terrible1%
Travellers talk about
“doughnuts” (236 reviews)
“seafood” (406 reviews)
Open Now
11:30 AM - 10:00 PM Hours
CUISINES
American, Bar, Seafood, Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
1 Sayer, Newport, RI 02840
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (2,789)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1 - 10 of 2,686 reviews

Reviewed today via mobile

Both chowders are delicious! The service was superb. I would not recommend the bag of doughnuts for an appetizer. The description is enticing, but they were mediocre.

Thank chickie2815
Reviewed today via mobile

Our lovely server was exceptional working a table of 17 people. Food was very tasty and very well presented. Had the Striped Bass special over a corn medley. Everyone enjoyed their meal. Plus, the very on the outdoor porch made it all the better.

Thank Daytripper602
Reviewed today via mobile

Went for a group dinner and give it a two thumbs up. Had the swordfish and it was a 5 Star. Assorted appetizers were excellent as well. Only disappointment was the chocolate desert. Too dry and tasted like paper but everything else was 5 stars.

Thank John C
Reviewed yesterday

It was busy when we were there last week. But the good news is that the wait is not long. Our waitress was great and the food amazing. It' a very busy restaurant but don't let that scare you off, the food was delicious, and...More

Thank Viola L
Reviewed 2 days ago

This is a popular place in a great location. The portions are large and the service was good. We had lunch. The lobster sandwich was fabulous.

Thank rogerd3742
Dan F, General Manager at The Mooring, responded to this reviewResponded yesterday

Dear rogerd3742, Thank you for the five-star rating and I am glad to hear you enjoyed your lunch. We appreciate the kind words and hope we see you again. Gratefully, Dan Fischer General Manager

Reviewed 2 days ago via mobile

The views are really gorgeous, and we were there on a cloudy day and it was still breathtaking. The appetizers were so delicious and their bartender knows how to make delicious drinks!! It’s a wonderful place for special occasions, or just because.

Thank MsWestchester621
Dan F, General Manager at The Mooring, responded to this reviewResponded yesterday

Thank you MsWestchester621! Glad you enjoyed your meal with us and that the bartender made you a great cocktail. Hope you can come back for another special occasion or just because. Gratefully, Dan Fischer General Manager

Reviewed 3 days ago via mobile

We had great drinks and a very good meal. Even better was the fantastic services! We ordered the donuts, tuna poke, cod, fish and chips, take five and key lime pie. Everything was delicious! The take five was extremely impressive; we would forego the key...More

Thank victoriaann77
Dan F, General Manager at The Mooring, responded to this reviewResponded yesterday

Dear victoriaann77, Thank you for the review and glad you enjoyed your dinner with us. You selected some great items and glad you saved room for the Take 5 Pie! We hope you can come back and try us again. Many thanks, Dan Fischer General...More

Reviewed 3 days ago via mobile

We recently visited the Mooring and it was wonderful as usual. However, we just learned that Chef Jen is now the executive chef. We can't wait to return for the meals designed by one of the best chef on the East coast!! Congratulations to the...More

Thank Krisalan02
Dan F, General Manager at The Mooring, responded to this reviewResponded yesterday

Dear Krisalan02, Thank you for the kind review! We are glad to have Chef Jen in our kitchen and are looking forward to her exceptional contributions to our menu (and we are glad you are too). Thank you, Dan Fischer General Manager

Reviewed 3 days ago via mobile

Had to make lunch reservation because dinner was all booked up. Great seat outside with view on the water. The food and service was spot on and I can see why it gets so busy. Parking was a challenge as in the heart of Newport...More

Thank Madan H
Dan F, General Manager at The Mooring, responded to this reviewResponded yesterday

Thank you Madan! Glad you could join us on your quick jaunt to Newport and I'm also glad to hear all was spot on. Thank you for the review and we hope we see yo agin soon. Gratefully, Dan Fischer General Manager

Reviewed 4 days ago via mobile

Visited on a Tuesday night in mid July for dinner. We had reservations, and were seated within 5 minutes after arrival. Did not receive antrees until 1 hour later. Food was OK, but don’t go if you need prompt service.More

Thank WesternMassfamily
Dan F, General Manager at The Mooring, responded to this reviewResponded yesterday

Dear WesternMassfamily, Thank you for the feedback. Sorry if our service was slow - that's not typical for us. We always want the experience here to be enjoyable and memorable and sorry if we came up short on that end. I am glad you enjoyed...More

Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 21 hotels in Newport
Newport Harbor Hotel & Marina
1,460 reviews
.18 km away
Newport Bay Club & Hotel
319 reviews
.19 km away
Forty 1⁰ North
666 reviews
.24 km away
Wyndham Inn on the Harbor
160 reviews
.27 km away
Nearby Restaurants
Kilwin's
281 reviews
.12 km away
Fluke Newport
620 reviews
.08 km away
22 Bowen's Wine Bar & Grille
1,433 reviews
.09 km away
Nearby Attractions
Bowen's Wharf
322 reviews
.09 km away
Antique Yacht Collection
90 reviews
.13 km away
Bird's Eye View Helicopters
184 reviews
.17 km away
Gansett Cruises
522 reviews
.11 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
Pat H
14 July 2018|
AnswerShow all 14 answers
Response from bjaysmom | Reviewed this property |
We were at the Mooring for dinner, so we did dress a little nicer, but there were people coming in with Jeans, etc. If I were going for lunch and it's a nice day, I would definitely wear shorts. I hope you enjoy the... More
0
Votes
Pat H
14 July 2018|
AnswerShow all 14 answers
Response from Ed D | Reviewed this property |
Hi Pat, There is no fixed dress code as far as I know, so you will see people dressed from very casual to very dressy there. For guys, Docker type shorts and a polo or button down shirt (tucked or untucked) is perfect for... More
1
Vote
Ashley M
1 June 2018|
AnswerShow all 6 answers
Response from kerbuck11 | Reviewed this property |
Yes, definitely do! They gave out gf bread too
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$30 - US$80
Meals
Drinks, Lunch, Dinner
Restaurant features
Takeout, Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Private Dining, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Street Parking, Validated Parking, Television, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Accepts Discover
Dining Style
Casual Dining
Good for
Bar Scene, View, Romantic, Groups, Special Occasion Dining, Kids, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Child-friendly
Open Hours
Sunday
11:30 AM - 10:00 PM
Monday
11:30 AM - 10:00 PM
Tuesday
11:30 AM - 10:00 PM
Wednesday
11:30 AM - 10:00 PM
Thursday
11:30 AM - 10:00 PM
Friday
11:30 AM - 11:00 PM
Saturday
11:30 AM - 11:00 PM
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 1 Sayer, Newport, RI 02840
    (America's Cup Ave.)
  • Location: United States  >  Rhode Island (RI)  >  Newport
  • Phone Number: +1 401-846-2260
Description
The ideal embodiment of Newport dining: the freshest seafood, al fresco seating, expansive harbor views, and warm hospitality. Our award-winning wine list is one of the most acclaimed in New England.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing