We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Mooring

1 Sayer, Newport, RI 02840
+1 401-846-2260
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent55%
  • Very good30%
  • Average9%
  • Poor3%
  • Terrible1%
Travellers talk about
“doughnuts” (214 reviews)
“seafood” (339 reviews)
Open Now
All hours
CUISINES
American, Bar, Seafood, Soups, Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
$$ - $$$
DETAILS
1 Sayer, Newport, RI 02840
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
Write a Review
Reviews (2,270)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

481 - 490 of 2,270 reviews

Reviewed 4 July 2016 via mobile

If you are visiting Newport this is an excellent restaurant to stop by and eat with ana amazing view of the bay. All their food is really good. It is important to make a reservation over the weekends.

Thank Carla S
Reviewed 4 July 2016 via mobile

This place is a must and you cannot live without their Seafood pasta. This place is a must if you are visiting Newport. The stuffed lobster was absolutely delicious and the service was incredible. Our waitress was friendly and helpful and gave great recommendations. The...More

Thank Alexandra D
Dan F, General Manager at The Mooring, responded to this review

Dear Alexandra, Thank you for your excellent review of The Mooring! Your compliments are wonderful and I will be sure to pass them along to the staff. They work hard to present a memorable experience to every guest and deserve every accolade they receive. Thank...More

Reviewed 4 July 2016 via mobile

Highly recommend. Located very central to downtown, in the middle of everything! Loved it! Everyone was really happy. Best lunch service ever! Great cocktails too! Went back a second time! Crowded...so make a reservation!More

Thank Pam P
Dan F, General Manager at The Mooring, responded to this review

Dear Pam, Thank you for your great enthusiasm and five star review! I'm thrilled to hear how much you love your experience at The Mooring, from the ease of our location to the service and cocktails. Please do come back when you can. We would...More

Reviewed 4 July 2016

Delicious ! My husband had the tuna and I had filet mignon. Salad and side dishes, we scraped our plates clean! Gluten free choices for those of us that need gluten free..Celiac Disease.More

Thank MomRosie
Dan F, General Manager at The Mooring, responded to this review

Dear MomRosie, Thank you for your kind remarks on The Mooring. I'm so glad you were delighted by your meals and that our GF menu was up to your expectations! I appreciate your five-star review very much and I hope you will be back to...More

Reviewed 4 July 2016 via mobile

We use to visit The Moorings frequently ever since they opened over 30 years ago. We moved away and when my wife and her siblings decided to get together in Newport a dinner at The Moorings was planned. Reserved a table on the deck which...More

Thank kregertony
Dan F, General Manager at The Mooring, responded to this review

Dear kregertony, I am very sorry to hear about your recent experience at The Mooring, and I am genuinely concerned about the description of the meals you received. As you mentioned, The Mooring has been an establishment in Newport for decades and it continues because...More

Reviewed 3 July 2016 via mobile

Been to Newport many times. This was always a guaranteed solid meal. Every entrée was poor. Sole drowned in butter. Tuna low quality and four slices for $28. Just disappointing. Guess just a tourist attraction now.

Thank Ken A
Reviewed 3 July 2016

I am a native Rhode Islander and have been to Newport RI too many times to count. I have also eaten at The Mooring a multitude of times. This meal was for 4 adults and we had one toddler with us. The chowder was horrible...More

Thank smalleststate
Reviewed 2 July 2016 via mobile

Very creative chef offers a variety of amazing choices. The seafood menu is varied and eclectic . They also serve amazing unique cocktails . There is also a vegetarian menu and a gluten free menu. Literally something for everyone. Had the butternut melt on my...More

Thank lovetoeatout75
Dan F, General Manager at The Mooring, responded to this review

Dear lovetoeatout75, Thank you so much of your kind remarks on The Mooring and awarding us a five-star rating. In particular, I appreciate that you highlighted our different menus as we do our absolute best to accommodate all of our guests tastes and needs. I...More

Reviewed 2 July 2016 via mobile

We were here for a family brunch and absolutely loved it! The service was bar none and the food was delicious. Definitely order the coconut sorbet if it's on the menu!

Thank vjwatson
Reviewed 1 July 2016

We sat at the bar for lunch because there was a 45 minute wait. Server was very nice and staff helped deliver food so we were served promptly. The bag of donuts are a must try. Lobster sandwich was awesome. The mussels were a little...More

Thank SueP413
Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
The Landing Restaurant
21 reviews
.12 km away
22 Bowen's Wine Bar & Grille
1,199 reviews
.09 km away
Fluke Wine Bar & Kitchen
539 reviews
.08 km away
Nearby Attractions
Bowen's Wharf
270 reviews
.08 km away
Bird's Eye View Helicopters
100 reviews
.17 km away
Sailing Excursions Adirondack II
442 reviews
.10 km away
Sightsailing of Newport
260 reviews
.09 km away
Questions & AnswersAsk a question
Rhiirhi
If I have dinner plans at the mooring where is there a good hotel or bed and breakfast to stay at walking distance in downtown Rhode Island ? Thank you !
30 April 2017|
Answer
Response from Cheri N | Reviewed this property |
The Marriott is excellent.
0
Votes
oceanstar9
Does their Sunday brunch include traditional brunch menu items? From the menu online it looks more like lunch than brunch: no egg dishes, etc.
21 March 2017|
Answer Show all 5 answers
Response from momof4RhodeIsland | Reviewed this property |
I am not sure about the brunch menu as we were there for a late afternoon lunch. The view is outstanding, maybe calling ahead will give you an idea of the brunch menu items.
0
Votes
njdattilo
Could you accommodate 20 -25 for a wedding rehearsal dinner on a Thursday in June 2017.
1 November 2016|
Answer Show all 2 answers
Response from Marsha L | Reviewed this property |
You will have to ask them, but I know they have private dining area as we saw a large group come in the same time we arrived.
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$30 - US$80
Meals
Drinks, Lunch, Dinner
Restaurant features
Takeout, Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Private Dining, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Street Parking, Validated Parking, Television, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Accepts Discover
Dining Style
Casual Dining
Good for
Local cuisine, Kids, View, Business meetings, Child-friendly, Bar Scene, Special Occasion Dining, Groups, Romantic
Open Hours
Sunday
11:30 - 21:00
Monday
11:30 - 21:00
Tuesday
11:30 - 21:00
Wednesday
11:30 - 21:00
Thursday
11:30 - 21:00
Friday
11:30 - 22:00
Saturday
11:30 - 22:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 1 Sayer, Newport, RI 02840
    (America's Cup Ave.)
  • Location: United States  >  Rhode Island (RI)  >  Newport
  • Phone Number: +1 401-846-2260
  • E-mail
Description
The ideal embodiment of Newport dining: the freshest seafood, al fresco seating, expansive harbor views, and warm hospitality. Our award-winning wine list is one of the most acclaimed in New England.