We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Lancaster Arms

Claimed
Save
Share
COVID-19 update: See the added health and safety measures this property is taking.Read more
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your visit
  • Hand sanitiser available to guests & staff
  • Socially distanced dining tables
  • Staff required to regularly wash hands
  • Single-use/Individually wrapped condiments
Updated 31/07/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
Updated 31/07/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
About
FRESH INGREDIENTS.FINE FOOD.EASY ATMOSPHERE. Welcome to the Lancaster Arms, the home of great beer and fine, earthy, freshly prepared food in a classic old English country pub. Come and join us - 'Let us eat and drink as friends'
PRICE RANGE
US$6 - US$35
Special Diets
Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options, Vegan Options
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, After-hours
CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub
FEATURES
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Parking Available, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi, Accepts Credit Cards, Table Service, Gift Cards Available
Reviews (291)
Filter reviews
291 results
Traveller rating
184
53
23
9
22
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
Traveller rating
184
53
23
9
22
Show reviews that mention
All reviews pie steak pastry fish and chips sunday roast pudding bread home cooked the pub house wine specials board welcoming atmosphere great menu staff were attentive three courses cooked perfectly piping hot
Selected filters
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Last time we where here Old and run down A different place now Bright cheerful and open! Food and staff really good

Date of visit: July 2021
Helpful?
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We booked two tables for a family Sunday lunch. The outside and inside areas are fabulous - really stylish and interesting. The service was also really good and we loved the concept of having a Sunday lunch sharing platter. However the food itself was poor....The lamb and beef were completely overcooked, tough and dry. The vegetables had also been overly reheated and were also dry and tasteless. We did complain and were given one of the bottles of wine we'd consumed free - which was appreciated. It's just such a shame this place has the potential to be 5 stars!More

Date of visit: July 2021
Helpful?
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Sunday lunch was the best! Staff really helpful and food experience was novel and really really good.

Date of visit: July 2021
Helpful?
Reviewed 27 June 2021

Great setting, great food & drink, great staff & great management. What more can you say!! Definitely worth a visit!!!

Date of visit: June 2021
Helpful?
Reviewed 20 June 2021 via mobile

Sunday lunch here for the 1st time. Staff very attentive, but food took ages to come out, shame really as the quality of the food was excellent. And the portion sizes were very good too. There were lots of staff there, but I think the...amount of visitors took it's toll on the kitchen staff...maybe. The idea of the dinner served on a platter is a great idea, you can portion size your own dinner. And the cheesecake was delicious. Will return when less busy maybe. 👍More

Date of visit: June 2021
Helpful?
Reviewed 14 June 2021 via mobile

First visit since the refurbishment. Food was lovely, service was excellent. Only negative comment would be to simplify the menus in to one.

Date of visit: May 2021
Helpful?
Reviewed 10 June 2021

From the moment we pulled into the car park we were greeted with respect and an abundance of care. The staff definitely took everything we said and asked for into consideration and made it a joyous evening! Everyone was lovely and couldn't do enough. The...food was divine. A selection of smaller plates packing big flavours and then one of the best cheese cakes I've ever tried. If there was anything we weren't sure of or something not quite on the menu that we fancied they did there best and succeeded in delivering it! Top notch! Highly recommend to EVERYONE! They've created a wonderful atmosphere with the decor and ambience. I will be returning frequently.More

Date of visit: June 2021
Helpful?
Reviewed 6 June 2021 via mobile

A group of us booked a dome a while a back incase the weather wasn’t great on our night out. It turned out to be a super-hot day so we were pleasantly surprised to also have a full outdoor table and chairs set up to...use outside of the dome as well. The service, food and drinks were all great, possibly the best service I’ve received since being allowed back into pubs again! Would definitely visit again, the whole place is beautiful and very welcoming!More

Date of visit: May 2021
Helpful?
Reviewed 31 May 2021

Well what an amazing experience we had yesterday ( 30th May) at The Lancaster Arms, my partner had booked a dome so we could take his mum out for a belated Mother's Day and Birthday lunch. We were so warmly welcomed by a delightful waiter...who showed us to our dome, but as the weather was so lovely they had also set up gorgeous outside dining under a sun umbrella for our personal use also, how thoughtful. We took our dog Lucy Westie came with us and they adored her, the staff came over and fussed over which she loves. We started with a delicious gin and tonic from their gin bar menu, hit the right spot on the beautiful sunny day while looking at the starter menu. My mother in law and myself had the whitebait and my partner the mini spicy sausages. All for £4 each, what a bargain and very scrummy. Because I have very strict dietary requirements I explained that I would not be able to eat a full main course and he was totally understanding. They opted for the Sunday roast platter for two, it comes with cuts of meat, roasties, veggies, stuffing, yorkies, pots of gravy and cheese sauce if you want cauliflower cheese. It was huge and beautifully presented on a wooden board, without even asking the waiter bought me a small side plate just in case I fancied trying a wee bit. There are endless roasties, veggies and gravy if you want them free of charge. The food was absolutely delicious. The staff were wonderful, very attentive, responsive with fabulous customer service, very friendly with great personalities. This was mother in laws first meal out in over 15 months, she lives on her own and was so excited about going out. You made her day, and ours too. I cannot thank you enough for making such a wonderful experience for us. We live in Shrewsbury and she lives in Nuneaton but when we are down again, we know where we will visiting again.....The Lancaster Arms.More

Date of visit: May 2021
Helpful?
Reviewed 24 April 2021

The good the young lad Louis was wonderful as there was only one thing on the menu for vegetarians he went and asked the chef straight away which was super the garden is ama Zia’s is the terrace a wonderful ambience, the bad is the...chips I ate half was down the small bowl to find lots of chipping no chips in sight there was no decoration to the food with that or the pudding being thrown on the plate and for the price they charge it’s unacceptable, a glass of lemonade £3.50 and a white wine spritzer £5.50 so not cheap the staff were rushed off their feet with not enough of them. At the beginning u have to place your credit card in a small safe which is unnerving as your being accused really before u eat I also don’t think people realised you can only stay for a certain amount of time making other people late they should just mention this when being seated not towards the end so it doesn’t sound rude also no hand sanatizer presentMore

Date of visit: April 2021
Helpful?
View more reviews
Best nearby
Best nearby hotelsSee all
Premier Inn Leicester (Forest East) hotel
398 reviews
5.09 km away
Days Inn by Wyndham Leicester Forest East M1
592 reviews
5.36 km away
Premier Inn Leicester (Braunstone) hotel
600 reviews
6.57 km away
Travellers Inn Mallory Park Hotel Leicester
154 reviews
6.63 km away
Best nearby restaurantsSee all
The Blue Bell Inn and Lodge
163 reviews
.95 km away
Village Balti & Pizza
17 reviews
1.55 km away
The Greyhound (Botcheston)
175 reviews
.98 km away
Best nearby attractionsSee all
Tropical Birdland
1,059 reviews
.93 km away
Thornton Reservoir
102 reviews
3.44 km away
Kirby Muxloe Castle
140 reviews
3.80 km away
Mallory Park Racing Circuit
56 reviews
4.86 km away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
Gillyhasbean
I was hoping to ask Sunny070240 about his/her experience of eating at the Lancaster Arms since the new managers took over. Alas, Sunny070240 is not answering questions, which I find interesting. Sunny070240 gave five stars for everything, so I wanted to ask about his/her meal ( as no food was mentioned in the review), but it is not possible. It is interesting that the other two diners reviewing the Lancaster on TripAdvisor since the new managers took over, both complain about the portion sizes, menu and high prices. I would like to hear from the new managers about their plans for The Lancaster, as unless they change ( menu, portion sizes and prices) I am afraid the Lancaster will not be very popular. The Lancaster is not situated where it will attract business diners at lunchtime so they really need to attract the locals, especially pensioners. Looking forward to hearing from you new Managers.
27 November 2018|
Answer
Response from Jan3123 | Property representative |
Hi Gilly, just a little note from Roger and Janine, the previous landlords. I'm sure you were aware that all of our food was freshly cooked on the premises. We always liked to give a fair portion, the chefs sometimes going... More
0
Votes
Nigel T
6 June 2016|
AnswerShow all 7 answers
Response from Jan3123 | Property representative |
I am the landlady. The child was not autistic he apparently wanted to sit on the floor. The problem was the adults wanting to do the same. The customers present at the time were upset and uncomfortable seeing this strange... More
0
Votes
keljonuk
13 May 2015|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from Eileen C | Reviewed this property |
They certainly can. We recently had a party of 16 cricket umpires for dinner. They seated us on our own in the conservatory, and we were able to pre-order our meals. Ring them to book - 01455 824 265
0
Votes
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about The Lancaster Arms

Yes, The Lancaster Arms is taking precautions against COVID-19. A full list is available within the "safety precautions" section of this page.

The Lancaster Arms is rated accordingly in the following categories by Tripadvisor travellers:
  • Food: 4.5
  • Service: 4.5
  • Value: 4
  • Atmosphere: 4.5