We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices


Certificate of Excellence
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
145 Ardmore Street, Wanaka 9305, New Zealand
+64 3-443 1188
12:00 - 22:00
Open now
All hours
Sun - Sat 12:00 - 22:00
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

213 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
  • More
Showing 199: English reviews
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed yesterday NEW via mobile

My partner and I ate here last night and was very impressed by the service by the young guy behind the bar... I have allergy which would have been incredibly tricky at this Asian fusion restaurant. .. he went out of his way to find out what was suitable on the menu and to insure there would be no problem...... More 

Thank allergic2
2 reviews
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 days ago NEW via mobile

Hours say open until 10:00. I walked in at 8:30 for dinner, and was told they were closed, "cause it's kinda slow". I understand closing on a slow night, but 8:30? There's apparently a reason the other restaurants around them are WAY more popular. Thought I was giving an underrated place a chance, apparently they don't want it. Their days... More 

Thank buck252
Glenda T, Owner at Alivate, responded to this review

Hi there, At this time of the year our closing hours fluctuate due to a diminished demand and it is uneconomic for us to stay open in such circumstances. Your comment with regard to the sustainability of our business is completely unjustified and we can only hope that you are treated in a similar fashion with people you have to... More 

Dunedin, New Zealand
2 reviews
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

We dined at this restaurant last Friday and were terribly disappointed with the whole experience. The food was below average. To begin with our prawns were overcooked bordering burnt, we did not receive the duck Gyoza that we ordered instead were given the duck crepes which were exceptionally bland. We also ordered cocktails and were unable to drink them. Clearly... More 

Thank Maree240
Glenda T, Owner at Alivate, responded to this review

Hi there, We are disappointed you didn't enjoy your drinks, but they were taken off your bill and you didn't pay for them. In regards to your comments on the food, you made no mention of there being any problem when you paid for your meals, in fact when you were asked you said all the meals were fine! We... More 

Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago

Nicely set up restaurant with beautiful views of Lake Wanaka and the mountain range. Service was efficient and seemed friendly. We weren't sure what to make of the menu, as some items had carbs (burger / steamed buns / lamb baguette) and some needed a side order of rice / noodles / bread. We ordered - Lamb Shank Yellow Curry... More 

Thank Mingloid
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We visited on a Friday night and it was pretty dead. Staff were friendly but didn't ask us how our food was until the end. Most of the beers on the menu were not available - staff member divulged that 'the business is for sale and the current one hasn't paid his bills so we can't get more beer'. We... More 

Thank Sophie H
Glenda T, Owner at Alivate, responded to this review

Contrary to your comment that the restaurant was quiet last Friday night, this is incorrect as we had a busy night. You chose a quiet corner booth at the back of the restaurant away from the customers on the balcony, which was full most of the evening. We are currently changing our menu for the summer period and some of... More 

Lelystad, Flevoland, Netherlands
Level Contributor
560 reviews
309 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We had a nice dinner here. The food was very good, I liked the duck the most. Friendly service and some good local beers.

Thank IvoDeRooij
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 October 2016 via mobile

My wife and I had a late lunch on october 19th. We ordered duck dumpling, rice and steamed bun for $30. We were surprised by how bad the food is. Having spent 6 days in queenstown with lovely food, we were extremely disappointed with the quality of the food in Alivate. My wife couldn't eat the bun skin. I couldnt... More 

Thank Sandy S
Jerrabomberra, Australia
Level Contributor
213 reviews
150 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 October 2016

Went on a Monday night so very quiet. The English gent on duty was very pleasant and explained the dishes are all designed for sharing...OK so far. We ordered duck gyozas and chicken kaarage to start and then coriander chilli monkfish, thai lamb shank curry and stir fried greens. Not good I'm afraid and minuscule servings. We love chicken kaarage... More 

Thank Jerraquaffers
Dunedin, New Zealand
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 October 2016 via mobile

I had one of the best meals of my entire life here recently - short ribs with pumpkin puree. It was to die for! I was with a group of 8 people and everyone thoroughly enjoyed their meals. Highly recommended.

Thank Linda D
South Island, New Zealand
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 October 2016

Great staff fantastic food nice views. I was a bit unsure weather the fusion was a goer in Lil old Wanaka but its always good to be surprised. I love Asian meals/foods and enjoy the small portions of varied flavors styles and types that you can purchase at roadside stalls in Asia The nice sized portions of many dishes available... More 

Thank Greetch

Travellers who viewed Alivate also viewed

Wanaka, Otago Region
Wanaka, Otago Region
Wanaka, Otago Region

Been to Alivate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    4 of 5 bubbles
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
    4 of 5 bubbles
Average prices
US$8 - US$20
Fusion, Gluten Free Options
Dinner, Lunch, Drinks
Restaurant features
Seating, Waitstaff, Highchairs Available, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments, Free Wifi, Reservations, Outdoor Seating
Good for
Local cuisine, View, Child-friendly, Bar Scene, Business meetings, Special Occasion Dining, Romantic, Groups
Open Hours
12:00 - 22:00
12:00 - 22:00
12:00 - 22:00
12:00 - 22:00
12:00 - 22:00
12:00 - 22:00
12:00 - 22:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 145 Ardmore Street, Wanaka 9305, New Zealand
  • Location: South Pacific  >  New Zealand  >  South Island  >  Otago Region  >  Wanaka
  • Phone Number: +64 3-443 1188
We aim to deliver top quality local produce fused with delicious Asian flavours, creating a share plate menu that is not only authentic, but memorable. We are open seven days from 12pm till late. Extensive cocktail menu and craft beers, Asahi, Jabberwocky Pale Ale and Brewski on tap and Central Otago wines.

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Alivate staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?