We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Red Deer

$$ - $$$
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
Joseph Locke Way, Crediton EX17 3FD, England
+44 1363 774248
Website
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

252 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 252: English reviews
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW via mobile

Unfriendly staff food very average 🙁 4/10 by far the worst pub meal of are holiday and we have been dining out all week

Helpful?
1 Thank Philip W
reddeer_crediton, General Manager at Red Deer, responded to this review

Hello Philip W, Thank you for your brief review. We serve hundreds of happy customers offering exceptional value on our 2-4-1 offer, If you would like to pop me an email; reddeer.crediton@marstons.co.uk with some more feedback about the unfriendly member of staff that looked after you. Regards - Liam Wright (General Manager) More 

1 review
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Really sorry to have to write this review ,first I would like to thank the management for letting us take away two dinners for guest that couldn't make it to the lunch due to work , I know what hard work catering is but today we had a 70th birthday lunch for my mum at Red Deer for 27 adults... More 

Helpful?
Thank Sue P
reddeer_crediton, General Manager at Red Deer, responded to this review

Hi Sue P, Thank you for your review, you are right it did take us a little while to get your food out my apologies, 27 roast dinners to be served at once can be a challenge. we do have a limited area to plate up food and do our best to send the meals in 3- 4 waves on... More 

Crediton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We arrived at The Red Deer for lunch at around 13:10. We had quite along wait to be served but as we were looking at the menus, this didn't matter much, though it was annoying that there seemed to be only one waiter available (it wasn't particularly busy but still). After ordering we had a VERY long wait for our... More 

Helpful?
Thank Tracy P
reddeer_crediton, General Manager at Red Deer, responded to this review

Hi Tracy P, Thank you for your review, my apologies for the delays you experienced. You are certainly right our dedicated fish fryer had packed in and with it being a Friday a lot of customers were ordering fish giving delays on food. Luckily we were up and running with a new fryer ready for that evening. We hope to... More 

uk
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

visited for a curry night. 2 curry's and 2 drinks for £12. can't go wrong with that? my wife wasn't happy with the meat in her curry but at that price your not going to get the best. I went for the veggie curry and chose to 'add prawns for £2extra'. the prawns came out cold in a different bowl... More 

Helpful?
Thank blackpoolnick
reddeer_crediton, General Manager at Red Deer, responded to this review

Hello blackpoolnick, Thanks you for taking the time to post a review for us. I am sorry you left disappointed this is never how we want our guests to leave. We serve thousands of happy customers who return time and time again so it's a real blow that you feel we let you down. If you had of wanted fresh... More 

Exeter
Level Contributor
72 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

My daughter booked a table at the red deer Crediton for mothers day for 6 adults and 5 children from the time we arrived it was like they wanted to get rid of us firstly we ordered the drinks they came the waitress just dumped them on the end of the table and we had to sort them out, the... More 

Helpful?
Thank Martyn H
reddeer_crediton, General Manager at Red Deer, responded to this review

Hi Martyn95, Thank you for your feedback, all our roasts are served with new potatoes as stated on our menus. Our menu development team does take customer feedback and listens, you will be pleased to hear on the new Sunday roast option we have changed back to roasted potatoes. In regards to the other issues I hope after speaking with... More 

Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 March 2017

If you like value for money in pleasant surroundings then the Red Deer is for you. We use it after our weekly shop in the nearby Tesco's. The menu is varied and quite extensive catering for all tastes, the food is good value for money and is well prepared and presented and the staff are always friendly and polite.

Helpful?
Thank Br1zzol
reddeer_crediton, General Manager at Red Deer, responded to this review

Hi Br1zzol, Thank you for your positive and honest review, we look forward to welcoming you here again soon. We have loads of new exciting offers and give away's each week on face book, follow us to keep informed. https://facebook.com/creditonmarstons Regards Liam Wright-(General Manager) More 

Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviewed 18 March 2017

This restaurant was brilliant when it first opened, excellent management was very much at the forefront this is not the case now the management and quality of the food is poor, such a shame, it's 2 for 1 which is great providing you can eat it!

Helpful?
Thank woolly2017
reddeer_crediton, General Manager at Red Deer, responded to this review

Hi Wooly2017, Thank you for your review, you have not given any detail about your experience just that you liked the old managers from a few years ago and that the quality of food is poor, we still use the same Marstons suppliers and some more information would be great. Being the new manager here in the last few weeks... More 

Yeovil, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviewed 12 March 2017

Not been for a few months as not local to us but decided to pop in while on the way to visit friends,Always seems like the place was built on a budget and the décor kept cheap and cheerful.Place was fairly empty but still played hunt the staff member.Got no greeting just do you want drinks before you order.Most of... More 

Helpful?
Thank ken v
reddeer_crediton, General Manager at Red Deer, responded to this review

Hi Ken V, Thank you for your review, you are right and as part of Marston's pub company we provides casual dining with table service at good value with an extensive menu. A lot of our produce is bought in as with all our pubs to maintain consistency through out our brand to ensure our customers receive the same standard... More 

Copplestone, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 March 2017 via mobile

Came here for a meal the waitress was kind took are order 10min later Waiter came with it doesn't know about his job puts down in front of us asking put it at the side or the middle Puts down at the middle it wasn't hot Or warm it was cold I think the waiter Needs little more training!!!!!!.

Helpful?
1 Thank Marcus H
reddeer_crediton, General Manager at Red Deer, responded to this review

Hi Marcus H, Thank you for your review, however its hard to understand what the issue was you experienced from the description you have given. We do have one new waiter who has joined the team recently, however we all do have to learn and start somewhere and im sure with which ever issue you feel you had he was... More 

Exeter, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 March 2017

We waited nearly 35 minutes for our food and other patrons who had come in later than us were being served. I had to give the waiter such a look of my frustration that he went back to collect our order. We ordered fish and chips and chicken and ham bake with 'crispy salad' and garlic bread. What a disappointment!... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank geoff3027
reddeer_crediton, General Manager at Red Deer, responded to this review

Hi Geoff3027, I pass over my apologies again that you feel the food quality was not up to standard, I did feel after we spoke, replacement meals were declined but a large discount was taken that the issue was resolved. After reading this review I can see it has not been the case. If however if you would like to... More 

Travellers who viewed Red Deer also viewed

 

Been to Red Deer? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    3 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
    3 of 5 bubbles
Cuisine
Bar, British, Pub, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Brunch, Dinner, After-hours
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi
Good for
Cheap Eats, Groups, Kids, Child-friendly
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Joseph Locke Way, Crediton EX17 3FD, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Devon  >  Crediton
  • Phone Number: +44 1363 774248
Description
Telephone: 01363 774248

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Red Deer staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?