We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Red Deer

$$ - $$$, British,
Joseph Locke Way, Crediton EX17 3FD, England
+44 1363 774248
Call
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent29%
  • Very good20%
  • Average16%
  • Poor14%
  • Terrible21%
Travellers talk about
“specials board” (12 reviews)
“family meal” (4 reviews)
Closes in 2 min
12:00 PM - 10:00 PMAll hours
CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
Joseph Locke Way, Crediton EX17 3FD, England
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (307)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 307 reviews

Reviewed yesterday

As we have a big family with many having different diet eg ceolica diabetic all birthdays are at red deer we are usual 20 its my birthday 27 the this Saturday so we will be there nothing to much trouble 10 out 10 Muriel crudge

Thank Muriel C
Reviewed 2 days ago via mobile

After having such a lovely meal here with our parents/in laws only a week ago we decided to come back however, the portions of the chips on the mega smothered chicken (£14 something) was minimal compared to last time. My partner had the same size...More

Thank Dekini
Reviewed 6 days ago via mobile

So I come here very often with family - especially over the years and never thought to trip advise until now. The meals are very good value for money. I come here most fathers days as it isn't usually that busy - compared to Exeter....More

Thank ShannonPrangnell
Becky A, Manager at Red Deer, responded to this reviewResponded 3 days ago

Hi there Shannon thank you for your fantastic review, we glad you enjoy your times with us and we hope to see you again soon!!

Reviewed 9 December 2017

OH DEER. A place to avoid menu looks good but OMG very very disapointing food. A definite NO, I wasted my hard earned cash in this place....

Thank Ellis M
Becky A, Manager at Red Deer, responded to this reviewResponded 15 December 2017

Hi there Ellis M we are sorry you did not enjoy your time here with us, we always appreciate the feedback so we can work towards a better service thank you

Reviewed 24 November 2017

We all meet some friends at the Red Deer today, the food was generally ok, however the general standard of service and staff was poor. Examples are ... service at the table un professional, dress standard of our waitress was below standard, personal hygiene needed...More

Thank Paddocks100
Becky A, Manager at Red Deer, responded to this reviewResponded 2 December 2017

To Paddocks100 thank you on your feedback we are sorry you did not enjoy your time here with us we are working hard on our customer service and food and use our feedback to improve on that Thank you from the Red Deer Team

Reviewed 16 November 2017

Been to the Red Deer today with 8 friends. Was advised by some people in the group that the food tends to be 'hit and miss'. 3 of us ordered fish and chips and 2 of us found the fish absolutely awful, dry, rubbery, overcooked....More

Thank annlightwood1
Becky A, Manager at Red Deer, responded to this reviewResponded 17 November 2017

To annlightwood1 Thank you for your feedback We apologise again for your bad experience, however at the time of your visit you were table checked and commented nothing about the fish only after your plates were cleared. An apology was made by the waitress and...More

Reviewed 15 November 2017 via mobile

Went into red deer ordered cottage pie there was a bit of a mix up with orders but it was soon put right the food was piping hot and tasty and 241 can’t be bad good selection of drinks as well the manager seems a...More

Thank Sheilaandateve
Becky A, Manager at Red Deer, responded to this reviewResponded 17 November 2017

Thank you for taking your time to review us, we are glad you enjoyed your time here with us and hope you will be returning soon!

Reviewed 12 November 2017 via mobile

Visited again after a horrible meal. Well what can I say, superb food beautifully cooked, service was swift and smooth. Had 3 courses as it was so nice. Definitely improved in quality. Well done. I've got my local back. See you soon.

Thank Mark S
Becky A, Manager at Red Deer, responded to this reviewResponded 17 November 2017

Mark S thank you very much for your good feedback, we are so pleased that you will be returning to us! We can’t wait to see you again soon

Reviewed 10 November 2017

The staff are very friendly and always available to serve you in a professional manner and the food excellent portions and well presented

Thank Angela I
Becky A, Manager at Red Deer, responded to this reviewResponded 12 November 2017

Hello Angela and thank you for your lovely feedback and we hope you will return to us soon

Reviewed 7 November 2017 via mobile

We often stop in here for a quick bite to eat before shopping in Tesco next door. The food is nice, nothing spectacular but mostly tasty. Portions vary in size, sometimes you get lots and other times not so much. Good selection of different things...More

Thank Deanna M
Becky A, Manager at Red Deer, responded to this reviewResponded 8 November 2017

Thank you for your time to review us, we thank you for your positive feedback and we hope you visit again soon!

Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all Crediton Hotels
Fingle Glen Golf Hotel
247 reviews
6.15 km away
Great Western Hotel
347 reviews
9.10 km away
Premier Inn Exeter Central St Davids Hotel
1,189 reviews
9.19 km away
Park View
134 reviews
9.45 km away
Nearby Restaurants
Baobab Cafe
46 reviews
1.49 km away
Nessie's Bistro and Delicatessen
36 reviews
1.47 km away
The Three Little Pigs
152 reviews
1.52 km away
Ashton's Coffee Lounge
106 reviews
1.50 km away
Nearby Attractions
Crediton Parish Church
21 reviews
1.27 km away
Planet Play
17 reviews
.85 km away
Quicke's Farm
41 reviews
3.09 km away
The Crediton Inn
15 reviews
.97 km away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from Red Deer staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Posting guidelines
Submit
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, After-hours
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Validated Parking, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi
Good for
Groups, Child-friendly, Kids
Open Hours
Sunday
12:00 PM - 9:30 PM
Monday
12:00 PM - 10:00 PM
Tuesday
12:00 PM - 10:00 PM
Wednesday
12:00 PM - 10:00 PM
Thursday
12:00 PM - 10:00 PM
Friday
12:00 PM - 11:00 PM
Saturday
12:00 PM - 11:00 PM
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Joseph Locke Way, Crediton EX17 3FD, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Devon  >  Crediton
  • Phone Number: +44 1363 774248
  • E-mail
Description
Telephone: 01363 774248
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing