We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

TOPES Restaurant

60 High Street, Rochester ME1 1JY, England
+44 1634 845270
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
  • Excellent73%
  • Very good18%
  • Average5%
  • Poor3%
  • Terrible1%
Travellers talk about
“guinea fowl” (15 reviews)
“black pudding” (12 reviews)
“duck” (22 reviews)
Opens in 22 min
All hours
European, British, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
$$ - $$$
60 High Street, Rochester ME1 1JY, England
Write a Review
Reviews (630)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year

1 - 10 of 630 reviews

Reviewed 1 week ago

A birthday celebration at Topes was ruined by the waitress who seemed in charge at lunchtime Saturday 10th June. I don't know what her problem was, but if it hadn't been a birthday celebration, we would have walked straight out. No one asked how our...More

3  Thank UkATourist
JulieSmall82, Owner at TOPES Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 3 days ago

Hello - sorry you didn't enjoy your experience at Topes during the Dickens festival. No excuses if you felt we were unfriendly or rude, and we are very sorry. We really aren't unfriendly normally and certainly not on purpose. I think we must have felt...More

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We came to Topes on a very busy Sunday with our dog. We were greeted with friendly faces, when we were seated they gave our pup a bowl of water without us even having to ask! The food tasted excellent and the portions were a...More

1  Thank Angiemiranda
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Warning! Although it's difficult to spot from their website, on Fridays this restaurant no longer offers a full menu, opening only as a 'gin palace' (their description) with a tapas menu. We booked a table for dinner today but left immediately when this became apparent....More

Thank David C
JulieSmall82, Owner at TOPES Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 3 days ago

David Sorry you did not realise we have changed our menu on a Friday night. We have publicised our Gin / Tapas nights on Fridays on our web site, FB site, answerphone message and our online booking form has also been changed. Apologies you missed...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

My husband and I with our 3 month old baby, visited Topes today hoping to get a brunch. I spoke with 2 members of staff enquiring after their options, one person inside who seemed to be the manager or owner and then the waitress who...More

Thank Spangolo
JulieSmall82, Owner at TOPES Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hello - I'm so sorry you left without brunch on Saturday. We certainly wouldn't have ignored you because you had a baby, or because brunch was coming to an end - I can only think that it was due to a lack of communication between...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Came here tonight for a lovely 3 course meal,and it really was delicious.Service was ok....the guys behind the bar make this place in my opinion...The waitress is a little miserable but other than that- fantastic and I will be coming again.....

Thank Coyte86
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

The food is always of high standard, the Sunday roast is lovely. Always book in advance and enjoy the cozy place and the food.

Thank Elizabeth Z
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The quality of food and service at this restaurant is superb. It is our favourite place to go when we want something exceptional..All of the food is individually prepared, each dish is created for you alone. It is very popular so advisable to book in...More

Thank katrinagetley
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Otherwise we would have not got a table. Set mid week menu, which had been reprinted due to previous orders earlier that night. Fish and chips and a Sunday roast are not what you'd expect so avoid as not worth £25, but the rest looked...More

Thank cachacoingles
Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

Very nice and relaxed atmosphere. Food was good and service friendly. They give you plenty of time to enjoy your meal and won't rush you to leave so you can have your table for as long as you like. Very pleasant evening and will definitely...More

Thank Kentmum365
Reviewed 19 May 2017 via mobile

First visit and oh my not a disappointment called in for cake & tea. A fabulous range of fresh baked cakes on offer to go with a choice of tea & coffee in the mornings. Can not wait to try other times of the day...More

Thank Michelle K
Nearby Restaurants
Tiny Tim's Tearooms
616 reviews
.02 km away
Mamma Mia
321 reviews
.21 km away
Simply Italian
523 reviews
.01 km away
Nearby Attractions
Rochester Cathedral
744 reviews
.08 km away
Guildhall Museum
324 reviews
.14 km away
Rochester Castle
853 reviews
.16 km away
Six Poor Travellers House
102 reviews
.13 km away
Questions & AnswersAsk a question
how many can they seat for a private lunch?
23 June 2016|
Answer Show all 4 answers
Response from Cristiane M | Reviewed this property |
Not sure, better call them! Sorry!
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
  • Value
Average prices
US$20 - US$44
Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, After-hours
Restaurant features
Highchairs Available, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Reservations, Private Dining, Seating, Waitstaff
Dining Style
Casual Elegant
Good for
Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Romantic, Groups
Open Hours
12:00 - 17:00
12:00 - 00:00
12:00 - 00:00
12:00 - 00:00
12:00 - 00:00
12:00 - 00:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 60 High Street, Rochester ME1 1JY, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Kent  >  Rochester
  • Phone Number: +44 1634 845270
  • E-mail
TOPES restaurant is a modern British restaurant centrally located in Rochester High Street in Kent and has been awarded two AA rosettes. Chris Small, head chef and co-owner, has created several different menus, including a special set price lunch (L16 for 2 courses and coffee) and mid-week evening menu (3 courses for L25). In addition, there is an a la carte menu for Friday and Sunday evenings and traditional roasts on Sunday. All ingredients are bought in fresh on a daily basis from local suppliers and the menus reflect seasonal produce. The restaurant is set in a 15th, 16th and 17th Century building and many of the original features remain. However, the restaurant has a modern feel to it to reflect the modern style of dishes on offer.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing