We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Ratings and reviews

Travellers' Choice
RATINGS
Food
Service
Value
Atmosphere

Details

CUISINES
Barbecue, Eastern European
Special Diets
Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, After-hours
View all details
meals, features, about
Reviews (412)
Filter reviews
194 results
Traveller rating
132
29
11
11
11
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
Traveller rating
132
29
11
11
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviews lamb bread potatoes biscuit cake cakes seafood pizza old town delicious food nice atmosphere place to eat next year garlic
Selected filters
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
Reviewed 8 September 2021

Even it was crowded, our order came fast. The food was tasty, we took some traditional dishes but also some grilled fresh fish from Black See. The prices are quite good comparing with the quality of the food and services.More

Date of visit: September 2021
Helpful?
Evgeni, Owner at Mehana Sozopol, responded to this reviewResponded 13 September 2021

Hey! Thank you for your feedback! It seems that you've enjoyed everything from our menu, service, and pricing. We're wondering why you've left us a 4/5 review. Is there anything we can improve in order to reach 5/5 stars? If you don't have any recommendations...More

Reviewed 5 September 2021

A place with delicious food and an amazing atmosphere. If you are in Sozopol you must definitely visit this place!

Date of visit: August 2021
Helpful?
Evgeni, Owner at Mehana Sozopol, responded to this reviewResponded 6 September 2021

Thanks for your feedback! We're so happy to hear that we've truly met your expectations! We hope that we've made your stay in Sozopol just a tad better and we'll see each other soon again! 🤗🤗🤗

Reviewed 26 August 2021

During our 3 visits at different times - lunch, brunch and dinner - I fell in love with this amazing place. The staff was really kind and helpful despite the crowds on the town holiday St Marina; food - freshly prepared and delicious, large portions,...excellent cleanliness! Traditional Bulgarian ambiance doesn`t reach kitsch levels like most restaurants this style. Highly recommend this restaurant!More

Date of visit: July 2021
Helpful?
Evgeni, Owner at Mehana Sozopol, responded to this reviewResponded 30 August 2021

Thanks for your feedback! We're so happy to hear that we've truly met your expectations! We hope that we've made your stay in Sozopol just a tad better and we'll see each other soon again! 🤗🤗🤗

Reviewed 24 August 2021 via mobile

Usually we don't eat but this time we wanted to taste local cuisine. We had some Bulgarian starters (baked brrad with different types of veggie pasta) and Lamb Satch (hot pot with delicious meat and vegetables). It was extremely tasty, meat was delicate and brittle....The atmosphere is kind of rural and etno. We enjoyed the dinner!More

Date of visit: August 2021
Helpful?1  
Evgeni, Owner at Mehana Sozopol, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2021

Thanks for your honest feedback! It makes us very happy to hear that you've enjoyed the vibe here! We hope we see each other again! 🤗


Reviewed 23 August 2021

Awesome romantic place, with delicious food! We saw a lot of nice places and the best is this where staff are very kindly. So you can meet awesome service.

Date of visit: August 2021
Helpful?
Evgeni, Owner at Mehana Sozopol, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2021

Thanks for your honest feedback! It makes us very happy to hear that you've enjoyed the vibe here! We hope we see each other again! 🤗


Reviewed 16 August 2021 via mobile

The restaurant is located on the Old Town in Sozopol. Such a lovely traditional atmosphere with amazing food. The staff is so nice and helpful, we had one of the best service ever. I truly recommend it!

Date of visit: August 2021
Helpful?1  
Evgeni, Owner at Mehana Sozopol, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2021

Thanks for your honest feedback! It makes us very happy to hear that you've enjoyed the vibe here! We hope we see each other again! 🤗


Reviewed 7 August 2021 via mobile

Very good food! Very friendly atmosphere and service at the highest level. I recommend it to anyone who wants to try regional specialties. I look forward to my next visit. Well done!!!

Date of visit: August 2021
Helpful?1  
Evgeni, Owner at Mehana Sozopol, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2021

Hey Pawel! Thanks for your feedback! We're so happy to hear that you've enjoyed the vibe and food here! We're looking forward to seeing you again!

Reviewed 22 July 2021

The staff are amazing and so is the food, live music and overall atmosphere. Family friendly and well presented dishes I recommend the vegetable sach and zucchini Chips, chicken guvech and also try house red. We have been twice now. Best time to visit is...at dusk/evening 8pm - 10.30pm. I hope you enjoy this as much as my family and I.More

Date of visit: July 2021
Helpful?
Evgeni, Owner at Mehana Sozopol, responded to this reviewResponded 2 August 2021

Thanks for your feedback! We're so happy to hear that we've truly met your expectations! We hope that we've made your stay in Sozopol just a tad better and we'll see each other soon again! 🤗🤗🤗

Reviewed 22 July 2021 via mobile

We visited this place 2 nights ago. Tables were way too crowded- we barely managed to sit properly. Waiter was not rude, but wasn’t attentive either. Main problem is food- it’s borderline bad. Do not recommend!More

Date of visit: June 2021
Helpful?
Evgeni, Owner at Mehana Sozopol, responded to this reviewResponded 2 August 2021

Hey Ralinka! We're sorry to hear about your experience! The place does get crowded up during peak hours, but we do make sure to not cram the tables one next to another. Which meals did you order? Please let us know. We always strive to...More

Reviewed 18 July 2021

Well, we had a mixed experience in Mehana Sozopol. We visited as a family of three and we had one excellent dish (mussels), one really good but nothing special (roasted lamb) and one really not up to standard (shrimps risotto - a modification upon our...request of seafood risotto which is in the menu). The risotto was not only tasteless, but also shrimps were overcooked and hard as a result. Service was ok but I don't think we saw a smile on the face of the young gentelman who waited on our table. Given the price level I would expect a better experience.More

Date of visit: July 2021
Helpful?
Evgeni, Owner at Mehana Sozopol, responded to this reviewResponded 2 August 2021

Hey Artur! We're sorry to hear that you didn't enjoy some of the meals we're offering. The roasted lamb is a very traditional Bulgarian meal and sometimes tourists don't really enjoy it. Thank you for your honest review and if you have a problem with...More

View more reviews
Best nearby
Best nearby hotelsSee all
Hotel Casa del Mare
52 reviews
.07 km away
Diamanti Hotel
88 reviews
.30 km away
Garden Beach Hotel
11 reviews
.39 km away
Blu Bay Hotel Sozopol
57 reviews
.41 km away
Best nearby restaurantsSee all
La Veranda
479 reviews
.13 km away
Tangra-Restaurant
551 reviews
.22 km away
Urania Bistro
319 reviews
.14 km away
Best nearby attractionsSee all
Southern Walls of Sozopol
241 reviews
.16 km away
Sozopol Old Town
1,202 reviews
.27 km away
Kavatsite Beach
245 reviews
.36 km away
Church of Saints Cyril and Methodius
87 reviews
.31 km away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from Mehana Sozopol staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Submit
Posting guidelines
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Mehana Sozopol

Yes, Mehana Sozopol offers takeaway services.

Mehana Sozopol is rated accordingly in the following categories by Tripadvisor travellers:
  • Food: 4
  • Service: 4.5
  • Value: 4
  • Atmosphere: 4