We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Ford Inn

Greenfield Road, Holmfirth HD9 2LS, England
+44 1484 854741
Call
Website
Save
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent65%
  • Very good24%
  • Average4%
  • Poor4%
  • Terrible3%
Travellers talk about
“chicken kiev” (10 reviews)
“steamed veg” (4 reviews)
Restaurant Hours
CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub, Vegetarian Friendly
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
Greenfield Road, Holmfirth HD9 2LS, England
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (359)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 358 reviews

Reviewed 4 days ago via mobile

All the five star ratings on this app were right !!!!we’ll definitely come back for more ..:-)))...the food and the friendly hosts were great.Its good to feel that people actually want you to be there as customers!!!!

Thank dean m
Reviewed 5 days ago

Called for Dinner with Friends, Most if not all the tables were booked. Led to our tables & our drinks were brought to us, Nice choice of beers, Food was served pretty promptly & was very very good. Staff seemed a tad fraught after a...More

Thank desperatedan222
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

With a 4 hour journey home ahead of us we happened to stumble across the ford inn... it was peak time and we had not booked but we found a seat, the landlady brought our drinks, offered us the WiFi key. We saw the pie,...More

Thank Ricksarah
A TripAdvisor Member
5
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We took a walk up to the Ford for Sunday lunch we had not booked but the landlord soon had us sat down in an excellent seat we had scampi and a Beef roast all absolutely superb well worth the walk from Holmfirth village thanks

Thank A TripAdvisor Member
helen e, Owner at The Ford Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Glad we could accommodate you and that you enjoyed your experience and food with us. Looking forward to seeing you again soon.

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Recently visited for the first time since i were a kid to this favoured pub. New owners can be forgiven, but what i consider rudeness can't! Arrived and seated, no service so had to order drinks at the bar, returned to table to look over...More

Thank Nathan J
helen e, Owner at The Ford Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Dear Nathan Firstly I can only apologise for what you believed to be poor service. We pride ourselves on customer service and appreciate constructive feedback to assist us in ensuring consistent customer satisfaction. As I cant put a face to your comments I can only...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

My wife and I stopped for tea. We were made very welcome as we came in and they came straight to the table to take our drinks orders. The food was freshly cooked and very tasty with ample portions. Shame we were passing through as...More

Thank John C
helen e, Owner at The Ford Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Be a pleasure to see you both again. Many thanks for taking the time to review us

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We had a lovely meal here. It's very reasonably priced.The manager and staff were very friendly. The steak pie was great.

Thank Ann N
helen e, Owner at The Ford Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Many thanks for your great review.

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We had been to this restaurant in the past and were bitterly disappointed. Please give this place a try, the new owners are great. Superb menue choices. Very good value for money. The Hunters chicken is wonderful, but if you have a smaller appetite, just...More

1  Thank johnstephenson10
helen e, Owner at The Ford Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

The Chef had a good laugh at your 6 chips request as dd we, both looking forward to seeing you again.

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We called in for an evening meal and I was pleasantly surprised at the warm welcome and helpful service. The food was good quality & the waitress was friendly and attentive. We have not been for sometime but the pub is now run by new...More

1  Thank Janet A
helen e, Owner at The Ford Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

The Inn is going from strength to strength and we are overwhelmed by the support and positive responses we are getting from both locals and passing trade. Many thanks for your kind words.

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Just had a lovely meal here with my family. Service great and food absolutely wonderful. Will definitely be going back and recommending it to my friends.

Thank Storm V
helen e, Owner at The Ford Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Looking forward to seeing you again. Many thanks for your great review.

PreviousNext
12345636
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all Holmfirth Hotels
Durker Roods Hotel
645 reviews
2.37 km away
Old Bridge Inn
942 reviews
2.83 km away
Titanic Spa Apartments
343 reviews
6.53 km away
The Olive Branch Inn
148 reviews
6.70 km away
Nearby Restaurants
The Bridge
200 reviews
1.72 km away
Quirky II & Tapas
326 reviews
2.68 km away
Catch Seafood Restaurant
351 reviews
2.19 km away
The Fox Hole
114 reviews
2.66 km away
Nearby Attractions
Woodlands Play Gym
36 reviews
2.30 km away
Summer Wine Brewery Tap
19 reviews
4.58 km away
The Carding Shed / Oil Can Cafe
757 reviews
5.13 km away
Summer Wine Exhibition
151 reviews
2.66 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
Rob C
10 April 2017|
Answer
Response from salmorugby | Reviewed this property |
rob I gave it a 5 star rating not 2
0
Votes
David W
11 September 2016|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from Expl0rer007 | Reviewed this property |
You'll need to ask the pub directly. I am not associated with them at all.
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Cuisine
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, After-hours
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi, Validated Parking
Good for
Special Occasion Dining, Child-friendly, Local cuisine, Kids, View, Groups
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Greenfield Road, Holmfirth HD9 2LS, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Yorkshire  >  West Yorkshire  >  Holmfirth
  • Phone Number: +44 1484 854741
  • E-mail
Description
Home cooked food at its best all freshly prepared in house using only the finest ingredients from local suppliers.Menus to suit everyones tastebuds from a la carte,light bites,bar snacks,daily changing specials board and home cooked childrens menu.On sundays we offer all of these choices alongside our freshly hand carved roast dinners always offering atleast two choices of meat for the perfect sunday dinner.We have four roaring log burning fireplaces to keep you warm during the cold winter months and outside seating areas for those rare sunny days,great for enjoying a drink and taking in the stunning views of the West yorkshire countryside.we now have pie night every wednesday night from 5pm until 9pm with a choice of atleast five homemade pies all including a drink(selected pint of lager/bitter,glass of house wine or soft drinks) for only £11.95 per person.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing