We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Governors Bay Hotel

Certificate of Excellence
$$ - $$$
Pub, Gastropub, Bar, European, New Zealand, International, Contemporary, Gluten Free Options
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
52 Main Road | Lyttelton, Lyttelton 8971, New Zealand
+64 3-329 9433
Website
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

154 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 153: English reviews
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago

This would be my first bad experience out ever. We had to decided to meet up with friends for lunch on what was a beautiful Sunday 4 adults 2 children. Setting perfect.We all ordered in before the lunch rush. All was going well until the meals arrived 3 missing mine and the childrens. The table next to got their meal... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Karen L
Jeremy D, Owner at Governors Bay Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Karen, I am sorry that this is your first bad experience ever. Can I ask did you book, did you actually order your meals together at the same time? This may account as to why some of you got your meals before others. Anyway, thank you for your insightful review, we'll promise to work on our service but only... More 

Level Contributor
24 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Great staff. Wonderful service. The views are lovely. Highly recommend Had the paella. Wow!!! Daughter had the burger and said it was fantabulous.

Helpful?
Thank Deb C
Jeremy D, Owner at Governors Bay Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Deb, Thank you so much, we do have great staff as we shot all the others after an earlier reviewer said they were an unsmiling bunch so we're very glad you enjoyed our new crew (just kidding now). Thank you for enjoying our wee hotel over the Bay and we'd love to see you again. Kind regards, Jeremy More 

Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
111 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago

I love coming here. It's destination dine from Christchurch as you find your way over the Summit Road. It used to be called The Smugglers Arms, which was a much more promising name, but it's still a great outing. There's a lovely garden with great views down the harbor and a very friendly atmosphere. The food is usually pretty good... More 

Helpful?
Thank milliesmum2016
Jeremy D, Owner at Governors Bay Hotel, responded to this review

Dear MumofMillie, Thank you for popping over and your kind review. Yes, we're quite keen on the Smugglers Arms but the name change was before our time and we're not exactly in Poldark territory either so maybe we'll stick to Gov's (I've got the numberplate already!) We'll be very happy to host you again, cheers. Kind regards, Jeremy More 

Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Went here for dinner twice on our short stay! Had the pork belly special on the first night, which was absolutely amazing! And had the chicken ballottine the second time which was also incredible, safe to say I had nothing left on my plate!

Helpful?
Thank Laura F
Jeremy D, Owner at Governors Bay Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Laura, Thank you so much for your kind review. I must confess the Chicken Ballotine is a favourite of mine too, in fact I had it tonight and it's still pretty darned good. It's really nice that you got to evaluate us twice and both came up trumps. Kind regards and many happy travels, Jeremy More 

Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
31 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 January 2017

Menu was interesting The food was delicious. No one wanted to leave but had to move on to do other things

Helpful?
Thank Gramimis
Jeremy D, Owner at Governors Bay Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Gramimis, Delicious food is what we love to hear and we're so glad you went away contented. Hopefully next time you visit you have more time to chill, relax and imbibe. Kind regards and happy travels, Jeremy More 

Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
40 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2017 via mobile

Governors Bay Hotel is really good place for relaxing after a day of sightseeing - cold drink in hand and sitting outside and chatting. They do put out some really good meals and staff are helpful at pointing out some additional local great places to visit. Always quite busy but no need to book a table.

Helpful?
Thank travelsavvy2016
Jeremy D, Owner at Governors Bay Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Travelsassy, Cheers very much, although we'd always recommend booking to get a really nice table with a great view over the harbour. Thank you for your review and we'd like to think we are a great place to bring the kids and visitors. Kind regards and happy travels, Jeremy More 

Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 January 2017 via mobile

Hubby and I had been over to the peninsula on our scooter, and as not a lot of places open we thought we'd risk trying the Governors Bay Pub for tea. Yeah it was open and busy. Found a seat outside on the veranda, put our order in , I chose the Mussels dish (gf)and hubby had the pasta. We... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Donkeylass
Jeremy D, Owner at Governors Bay Hotel, responded to this review

DearDonkeylass, So glad you risked us on New Years Day and we're very glad you enjoyed your meals with us. As controversial as it is, the public holiday surcharge is here to stay I'm afraid. We believe in paying our staff well to sacrifice their public holidays so operationally, it is a very expensive day to open, as witnessed by... More 

Wigan, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
79 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 December 2016 via mobile

We called here for a meal there was a decent menu we had fish and chips, it arrived in good time, the meal was nice and fresh we really enjoyed it. Not overly priced. The staff were friendly there is a pool table,football tsble and pinball for the kids to have a play. Well worth a visit.

Helpful?
Thank jamesbell1
Jeremy D, Owner at Governors Bay Hotel, responded to this review

Dear James, Thank you for taking the time to contribute to this forum. We certainly appreciate your comments and we're very glad you came. Kind regards and happy travels, Jeremy More 

1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 December 2016 via mobile

Yes it was a public holiday and extremely busy but being so rude because you are short staffed is not the patrons fault! All 3 women behind the bar were unfriendly and rude when serving. 30 minute wait for a bowl of fries and paying an extra $2.50 for Aoli is ridiculous! And several tables around us were also complaining... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Tracey T
Jeremy D, Owner at Governors Bay Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Tracy, You'd be pleased to know all of our rude staff were shot at dawn the day after you review and we have injected all of our other staff with "joker serum", so we all have permanent smiles now. Kind regards, Jeremy More 

Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 December 2016 via mobile

Very limited pub menu with inflated prices, however we chose to stay as the resturant across the road was closed and no other close options were available ( we try to aviod these situations). The young lady behind the bar was polite and welcoming...unfortunately thats when the good things ended. We ordered small meals as fish and chips or hamburgers... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Norm M
Jeremy D, Owner at Governors Bay Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Norm, Surely if you left Hungary you were dining somewhere in Eastern Europe and not with us? Seriously however, I'm not so sure Giles Coren and Jay Rayner started their illustrious reviewing careers thumbing through the menus and choosing the cheapest items each time they dined out. Nor, I would suggest, did they discuss the size of their anatomy... More 

Travellers who viewed Governors Bay Hotel also viewed

Lyttelton, Canterbury Region
Lyttelton, Canterbury Region
 
Lyttelton, Canterbury Region
Lyttelton, Canterbury Region
 

Been to Governors Bay Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    4 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Average prices
US$8 - US$20
Cuisine
Pub, Gastropub, Bar, European, New Zealand, International, Contemporary, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Brunch, After-hours
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Highchairs Available, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Delivery, Wheelchair Accessible
Good for
Groups, View, Bar Scene, Kids, Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 52 Main Road | Lyttelton, Lyttelton 8971, New Zealand
  • Location: South Pacific  >  New Zealand  >  South Island  >  Canterbury Region  >  Lyttelton
  • Phone Number: +64 3-329 9433
Description
Governors Bay Hotel is an historic 1870s hotel with stunning views over Lyttelton Harbour. Located just 20 minutes drive from central Christchurch via Dyers Pass Road. Gastro-pub fare at reasonable prices from the garden, bar or restaurant. Recommended in the Lonely Planet and 2012/13/14 winner in the Beef and Lamb Excellence Awards. Juke box, pin ball and pool table but definitely no pokies. Stay the night from $119.00 Per couple.

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Governors Bay Hotel staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?