We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Bective

$$ - $$$Irish, European,
Bective Square | Meath, Kells, Ireland
+353 46 924 7780
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
  • Excellent73%
  • Very good20%
  • Average4%
  • Poor2%
  • Terrible1%
Travellers talk about
“steak” (19 reviews)
“seafood” (4 reviews)
“chicken wings” (11 reviews)
Closed Now
All hours
Irish, European, Contemporary, Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
$$ - $$$
Bective Square | Meath, Kells, Ireland
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (280)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year

1 - 10 of 274 reviews

A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Have been to this fantastic establishment many times with family, friends and for business and always have a fantastic time. New to this reviewing so it's long overdue but well deserved. Food is always top class- flavoursome, fresh and varied with excellent presentation and a...More

4  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Fantastic service, food and atmosphere with three small kiddies. Thank u. We will be back! Steak excellent as was pizza and Pasta

3  Thank Kate S
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Food is absolutely lovely and fantastic, the atmosphere is really nice and romantic too. But the service should improve more as the waitresses seem very impatient and keep talking themselves.

Thank happyblacky5999
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

lovely quality food warm and peaceful place,few friends some pints,always fresh fish.would recommend to anyone.

4  Thank Gombos T
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

A lovely meal of good value for money. There were six in the party and we had a variety of dishes and all well presented. We were well looked after and enjoyed the good food and comfort.

Review collected in partnership with this restaurant
5  Thank Pamls13
Reviewed 5 November 2017 via mobile

Don’t like this place tbh, food is overpriced and staff aren’t that nice - never interacted and couldn’t have a laugh with usMore

Thank nancywheeler
YvonneFlanagan, Manager at The Bective, responded to this reviewResponded 5 weeks ago

Nancywheeler, Thank You Disappointed you felt this way, and didn't bring it to our attention on the day in question! We NEVER have issues with our friendly, hardworking, helpful and utterly professional staff, so i would be interested to hear how they didn't interact with...More

Reviewed 5 November 2017 via mobile

Absolutely lovely food, so stuffed leaving I don’t have to eat for another week! Staff could be a little more engaging although I do understand that this is not alway easy 😌

4  Thank annonymusreviewr
YvonneFlanagan, Manager at The Bective, responded to this reviewResponded 5 weeks ago

Thanks annonymusreviewr, Thank you for you positive feedback. Yvonne

Reviewed 5 November 2017 via mobile

Dined here recently with a large group for the first time. Everyone was really impressed with food and in particular the dishes on the specials board. Superb chefs and staff. Nothing too much trouble. Can t wait to go back.

4  Thank Judy V
YvonneFlanagan, Manager at The Bective, responded to this reviewResponded 5 weeks ago

Thanks Judy v for the lovely comments. Glad you enjoyed your first visit, hope we see you again soon. Yvonne

A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 29 October 2017 via mobile

Had a delicious meal in The Bective last night. The staff couldn't do enough for us. Special mention of the Cod special accompanied by the best risotto I've had. Fab non alcoholic cocktails to be tried! We will be back..

5  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
YvonneFlanagan, Manager at The Bective, responded to this reviewResponded 5 weeks ago

Thank You..! Yes, fab risotto and thank you for the lovely feedback. We really appreciate it and will pass on your compliments. Yvonne

Reviewed 22 October 2017 via mobile

Thanks yet again to Yvonne, all the staff and chefs at the Bective for a gorgeous dinner. The food never disappoints and the staff are always friendly obliging and lovely. We have always had a fab meal. Love this restaurant try it !!

4  Thank john w
YvonneFlanagan, Owner at The Bective, responded to this reviewResponded 5 weeks ago

John w, Thank you for the lovely feedback on our food and staff. Yvonne

Nearby Restaurants
vanilla pod
241 reviews
.48 km away
Butterfly Garden Cafe
119 reviews
.11 km away
Khyber Garden
19 reviews
.35 km away
Nearby Attractions
Grove Gardens
6 reviews
6.50 km away
Causey Farm
246 reviews
7.02 km away
Headfort Golf Club
45 reviews
2.85 km away
Spire of Lloyd
54 reviews
2.89 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
Simon F
24 July 2017|
Response from KJ1910 | Reviewed this property |
Simon, We're a friendly, fun bunch and we don't hold grudges, and you are entitled to your opinion. It's just we were all a little hurt by the poor review as we always go the extra mile as we did on your brothers 18th, to... More
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
  • Value
Lunch, Dinner, After-hours
Restaurant features
Free Wifi, Takeout, Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Street Parking, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar
Good for
Romantic, Groups, Kids, Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining, Business meetings, Local cuisine
Open Hours
3:00 PM - 9:00 PM
5:00 PM - 10:00 PM
5:00 PM - 10:00 PM
5:00 PM - 10:00 PM
5:00 PM - 10:00 PM
5:00 PM - 10:00 PM
5:00 PM - 10:00 PM
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Bective Square | Meath, Kells, Ireland
  • Location: Europe  >  Ireland  >  Province of Leinster  >  County Meath  >  Kells
  • Phone Number: +353 46 924 7780
  • E-mail
We run a full restaurant service and all of the items on our A La Carte menu are also available to take away - simply phone in your order and collect it (this service is not available during very busy nights). We also have a lovely dining room/bar available upstairs to hire for private functions of any kind (seats 50 people). It has a private terrace, its own bar and bathroom facilities. Contact us for details of our party platters and finger food menus. We take bookings, but walk-ins are also welcome. We cater for groups and private parties and we are family-friendly, with a children's menu and outdoor play area available. General manager Joan Donegan (Head Chef) & Yvonne Flanagan Johnson (Restaurant Manager) look forward to welcoming you to The Bective. We are open from 5pm to late from Wednesdays to Saturdays and from 3pm to 9pm on Sundays (and bank holidays) and there is ample street parking available outside the restaurant.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing