We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Cobb & Co.

$$ - $$$
Bar, New Zealand, Gluten Free Options
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
79 The Strand, Whakatane, New Zealand
+64 7-308 9560
Website
Today
12:00 - 21:00
Closed now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun - Sat 12:00 - 21:00
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

177 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 172: English reviews
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW via mobile

Love the Ribs and curly fries and buffalo wings. Desert was lovely too we tried mud cake and sticky date pudding. Good for family set down or take away

Helpful?
Thank Lisa M
1 review
Reviewed 1 week ago

We booked a table of 6 adults and 3 children for 7pm, showed up at 6.55pm to be told our table had been given to someone else, so we had to wait for them to sort another table (this was not a problem). We were seated about 7.10pm and then by 7.30pm the waitress had still not been to our... More 

Helpful?
Thank Danielle B
CobbWhakatane, Public Relations Manager at Cobb & Co., responded to this review

Hi Danielle B. We're really dissapointed to hear of your experience. There's no excuse for slow service and extended wait times. We're extremely sorry you experienced this. It's great to hear that after the poor beginning, you went on to have a lovely evening. We hope our errors did not stop you from enjoying your evening elsewhere. We really encourage... More 

2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

This was the worst experience I have ever encountered at a restaurant. We had a table booked in advance for 12 people so there was some warning to expect a big booking, the restaurant wasn't even full up. From the moment we ordered our entree it was a disaster, someone received their entree only for it to be removed as... More 

Helpful?
7 Thank Kristine F
CobbWhakatane, Public Relations Manager at Cobb & Co., responded to this review

Hi Kristine F We are extremely dissapointed to hear of your expereince. There's no excuse for food that is not cooked to perfection. We're glad these meals were given free of charge and you received a free round of drinks. We immediately heard of the incident concerning one of our valued staff members. It is completely unacceptable behaviour and please... More 

Sevenoaks, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
673 reviews
402 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 279 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

We ordered the cobb loaf with three dips which was ok. Then I ordered the rib eye steak which unfortunately was overdone and not medium rare. The steak and ribs were good and the steak was perfectly cooked. Very reasonable prices for what you get. A little slow on service as looked liked they were short staffed.

Helpful?
Thank Moosie57
CobbWhakatane, Public Relations Manager at Cobb & Co., responded to this review

Hi Moosie57. Thanks for dining with us! We're really dissapointed to hear your steak was tough. It's great to hear your next steak and ribs were cooked to perfection! We hope the service did not get in the way of you enjoying your meals. We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit. More 

Kawerau, New Zealand
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2017 via mobile

I will be returning...lovely friendly service, tasty food, short wait for food. Toblerone cocktail delicious. My husband said the chicken breast was a little dry 7/10 but breast is usually like that. I cant wait to return

Helpful?
Thank riria16
CobbWhakatane, Public Relations Manager at Cobb & Co., responded to this review

Thank you for the feedback, riria16! We're so glad you had an amazing visit and everything was perfect. We'll work on making our chicken breast more tender for your next visit. We can't wait to welcome you back! More 

Havelock
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 March 2017

Looked forward to a pork roast meal, only to find the vegetables dry & tasteless as if they had previously been cooked and just reheated. Pork admittedly tender, but again tasteless. Staff were the best part of our dining experience as they were very attentive and friendly.

Helpful?
Thank jacquelinem251
CobbWhakatane, Public Relations Manager at Cobb & Co., responded to this review

Hi jacquelinem251. It's great to hear you loved our staff! We are very proud of them. We're really dissapointed to hear you found your roast to be less that amazing. Our roast is an extremely popular dish, loved by many. There's no excuse for it to be anything less than delicious. We apologise you did not find it to be... More 

Level Contributor
150 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 March 2017 via mobile

Cobb and co was an iconic kiwi brand in the 80's. For old times sake we went back for the first time in 30 years. The prawn cocktail and the the seafood chowder were very good and worth having. The service was very good.

Helpful?
Thank Praxmeyer
CobbWhakatane, Public Relations Manager at Cobb & Co., responded to this review

Thanks for the review, Praxmeyer. It's great to have you back after all these years. We're glad our seafood hit the spot for you. We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit (hopefully sooner than 30 years!) More 

Launceston, Australia
Level Contributor
474 reviews
324 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 March 2017

Spotlessly clean property and we loved how the sour cream for the jacket potato was served in a little dish on the side. Lasagne was hot and very tasty.

Helpful?
2 Thank Ranipuss
CobbWhakatane, Public Relations Manager at Cobb & Co., responded to this review

Hi Ranipuss. Great to hear you loved our lasagne. We're also proud you noticed how clean we keep the restaurant. We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit. More 

Auckland, Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2017

We have been based in Whakatane for work, and have been here once for dinner. The service was extremely slow. They wanted to take our drink order as soon as we sat down, so we asked for five more minutes. They didn't return to take that order for at least 15 minutes. The "thickshakes" we ordered were not thick -... More 

Helpful?
Thank TRidsdale
CobbWhakatane, Public Relations Manager at Cobb & Co., responded to this review

Hi TRidsdale. We're dissapointed to hear your evening wasn't up to the standard we're proud to offer. There's no excuse for service that isn't prompt. It's great to hear you might be willing to give us another chance. We would love a second opportunity to give you the dining expereince you deserve. More 

New Brighton North, New Zealand
2 reviews
Reviewed 25 February 2017 via mobile

Apon discovering a Cobb & Co in town, I immediately wanted to revisit my childhood nostalgia of Cobb Crunchies, so my family and I booked a table. When we got there, there was already a bowl of Cobb Crunchies on the table - "Oh boy! Fast service! This is gonna be good I thought!". Boy was I wrong. I could... More 

Helpful?
Thank coffeeandyums
CobbWhakatane, Public Relations Manager at Cobb & Co., responded to this review

Hi coffeeandyums. We're very dissapointed to hear of your experience. There is no excuse for extended wait times. It's great to hear the bartender was friendly and polite. It's unfortunate that he didn't have the support to give you the dining expereince you deserve. It's a huge pity to hear you will not be dining with us again. We'd love... More 

Travellers who viewed Cobb & Co. also viewed

Whakatane, Bay of Plenty Region
Whakatane, Bay of Plenty Region
 
Whakatane, Bay of Plenty Region
Whakatane, Bay of Plenty Region
 

Been to Cobb & Co.? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Average prices
US$14 - US$25
Cuisine
Bar, New Zealand, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Brunch, Lunch, Dinner
Restaurant features
Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Outdoor Seating, Free Wifi
Good for
Kids, Cheap Eats, Groups, Bar Scene, Child-friendly
Open Hours
Sunday
12:00 - 21:00
Monday
12:00 - 21:00
Tuesday
12:00 - 21:00
Wednesday
12:00 - 21:00
Thursday
12:00 - 21:00
Friday
12:00 - 21:00
Saturday
12:00 - 21:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 79 The Strand, Whakatane, New Zealand
  • Location: South Pacific  >  New Zealand  >  North Island  >  Bay of Plenty Region  >  Whakatane
  • Phone Number: +64 7-308 9560

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Cobb & Co. staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?