We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Turangi Bridge Bar & Restaurant

Certificate of Excellence
$$ - $$$
Bar, European, New Zealand, Gluten Free Options
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
4600 State Highway 1, Turangi 3334, New Zealand
+64 7-386 8804
Website
Today
07:30 - 09:30
17:00 - 21:00
Closed now
All hours
Hours:
Sun - Sat 07:30 - 09:30
17:00 - 21:00
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

119 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 114: English reviews
Waitara, New Zealand
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Great food awesome locals couldnt think of ne where better to go amazing services and staff dinner was delish

Helpful?
Thank Stacey T
TurangiBridge, Owner at Turangi Bridge Bar & Restaurant, responded to this review

That's great to hear. We'll be sure to pass on your comments to all the staff. More 

Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 weeks ago

we had both dinner and breakfast here. both gerat pub food and great service. there was a beauty spa available and the river is so close

Helpful?
Thank John V
TurangiBridge, Owner at Turangi Bridge Bar & Restaurant, responded to this review

Thanks for your comments. We agree it's a pretty great location and we're glad you enjoyed the food & service. More 

Opotiki, New Zealand
Level Contributor
32 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 October 2016

very good food, service and ambiance, Has a great lodge feel without paying thousands, been going here for years and it never fails to please.

Helpful?
Thank TROPICANGLER
TurangiBridge, Owner at Turangi Bridge Bar & Restaurant, responded to this review

Thanks for your return custom. We're pleased to see returning guests as it is the best compliment we receive. More 

Silver Spring, Maryland
Level Contributor
172 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 October 2016 via mobile

The best part about our dinner the amazing service in the restaurant. The food was the worst we had since starting to travel in NZ. Portions were big but the food meh. We tried it fist night we stayed but for the price it was not worth. Head to Taupo instead and go to the Bistro.

Helpful?
Thank Heike Y
TurangiBridge, Owner at Turangi Bridge Bar & Restaurant, responded to this review

Our staff will be happy to hear you enjoyed their service but would have preferred that you let them know you were not happy with your meals as they would have had an opportunity to put it right. Without knowing what the issue was we are unable to address it and as most of the feedback we get is entirely... More 

Long Beach, California
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 October 2016

We had a lovely meal at the Bridge Bar & Restaurant. It seemed to be local produce and fish, very well prepared. We arrived 5 minutes before the restaurant opened for dinner, but the manager graciously offered us seating. We would recommend without hesitation.

Helpful?
Thank leannzunich
TurangiBridge, Owner at Turangi Bridge Bar & Restaurant, responded to this review

Thanks for your comments. We are pleased you enjoyed your meal. The produce isn't quite local but it's from not too far away. Mostly just up State Highway 1 in the Auckland area. Good Kiwi greens though for sure!! More 

Napier, New Zealand
Level Contributor
61 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 October 2016

We went there in a party of eight people, the waiting staff were pleasant and friendly. Three servings of garlic bread were ordered as a starter and as the entrees arrived we had to remind them about the bread. I had for a main sausages and mash with vegetables which were distinctly average with a very glutenous onion gravy. Three... More 

Helpful?
Thank Nickademus64
TurangiBridge, Owner at Turangi Bridge Bar & Restaurant, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback. While you assume that our chef was a man, she is in fact not and when someone complains that pork belly is too fatty it's a bit like complaining that ice cream is too cold. While it is true that in our business we do get a wide range of guests, the unpleasant ones are... More 

Gloucester
Level Contributor
89 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 October 2016

This is a fairly typical pub/restaurant set up that serves very good food.The surroundings are well laid out and the staff are first class.Prices are slightly towards the expensive side but perhaps that is the price to pay for better quality.

Helpful?
Thank calspickman
TurangiBridge, Owner at Turangi Bridge Bar & Restaurant, responded to this review

Thanks for the feedback. We try hard to offer very good value for money and to keep a good wide ranging price selection on our menu with mains ranging from $24 to $33. More 

Vancouver
Level Contributor
196 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 October 2016 via mobile

We would definitely recommend eating here. We were given the option of a quieter section of the restaurant. The food was a little slow but worth the wait. We had lamb shank and orange roughy.

Helpful?
Thank justravel
TurangiBridge, Owner at Turangi Bridge Bar & Restaurant, responded to this review

Thanks for your feedback and we're pleased you enjoyed your meals. More 

Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 September 2016 via mobile

Got in late tonight from waitomo. Was going to eat at the taven however got recommended from the motel to go to the bridge. While the signage doesn't do the place justice the meal was great at the bar area just like a fishing lodge. Would recommend giving it a go.

Helpful?
Thank Tony M
TurangiBridge, Owner at Turangi Bridge Bar & Restaurant, responded to this review

Thanks for the comments and yes you're quite right, visibility from the road is an issue we're looking into and we're currently navigating the many regulations around signage along a State Highway, More 

Anchorage, Alaska
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 September 2016

We arrived tired and not wanting a heavy meal. We ordered the Seared Venison salad and the Morocccan Chicken salads. They were beautiful and delicious. A marvelous meal. We also had pate as a starter was very nice.

Helpful?
Thank Susan b
TurangiBridge, Owner at Turangi Bridge Bar & Restaurant, responded to this review

Nice to hear you enjoyed your meals. Thanks for taking the time to comment. More 

Travellers who viewed Turangi Bridge Bar & Restaurant also viewed

Turangi, Taupo District
 
Turangi, Taupo District
 

Been to Turangi Bridge Bar & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
    4 of 5 bubbles
Cuisine
Bar, European, New Zealand, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Free Off-Street Parking, Television, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi
Good for
Local cuisine, Groups, Child-friendly, Kids
Open Hours
Sunday
07:30 - 09:30
17:00 - 21:00
Monday
07:30 - 09:30
17:00 - 21:00
Tuesday
07:30 - 09:30
17:00 - 21:00
Wednesday
07:30 - 09:30
17:00 - 21:00
Thursday
07:30 - 09:30
17:00 - 21:00
Friday
07:30 - 09:30
17:00 - 21:00
Saturday
07:30 - 09:30
17:00 - 21:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 4600 State Highway 1, Turangi 3334, New Zealand
  • Location: South Pacific  >  New Zealand  >  North Island  >  Waikato Region  >  Taupo District  >  Turangi
  • Phone Number: +64 7-386 8804
Description
The Turangi Bridge Bar and Restaurant offers a stylish and welcoming atmosphere for sampling mouth-watering New Zealand cuisine. A Turangi icon since 1931, our restaurant has a genuine history and ambience unlike anywhere else. The large open fire makes it the perfect spot for a cosy, lodge-style winter dinner. Or in summer, you can sit on the deck to enjoy a glass of wine and a view of the Tongariro river and New Zealand landscape. The restaurant is also available for hire as your New Zealand wedding venue, conference venue or function room. We can cater to groups of different sizes with our buffet or a la carte options - please talk to us about what you need and we'll make sure you and your guests have a memorable evening. Please take a look at our seasonal menu - we have something to suit everyone's needs or budget.

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Turangi Bridge Bar & Restaurant staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?