We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Aberlour Takeaway

92 High Street, Aberlour AB38 9QA, Scotland
+44 1340 871871
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent49%
  • Very good20%
  • Average12%
  • Poor14%
  • Terrible5%
Travellers talk about
Open Now
All hours
CUISINES
Fast food, British, Scottish
PRICE
$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
92 High Street, Aberlour AB38 9QA, Scotland
Write a Review
Reviews (55)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 55 reviews

Reviewed 27 April 2017 via mobile

Passing through on business so decided to stop and give the chippy another go . Colleague and I ordered King Rib supper and a Chip Steak supper. Oh dear as soon we opened our wrapping we were perplexed at the pale batter but thought we'd...More

Thank bUbBlEgUm91919
Lorimer G, Owner at Aberlour Takeaway, responded to this reviewResponded 29 April 2017

Good evening, I thank you for putting in a review. whilst we take on board some of your comments there is however some pointers given that we would have no intention of changing as whilst obviously hasn't met your expectations re vinegar most are pleased...More

Reviewed 21 April 2017

We had the fish and chips with mushy peas! All freshly cooked with a thin batter on the fish. The portion of fish was very thin but fresh. The mushy peas were excellent and the chips were ok. Good opening hours and a handy place...More

Thank Resource_inspector
Lorimer G, Owner at Aberlour Takeaway, responded to this reviewResponded 24 April 2017

Good morning, Thank you for your review. I have noted your comment regarding the fish being thin I will advise staff to keep an eye however difficult to perhaps get it to suit everybody's taste as for me personally I don't like fish too thick...More

Reviewed 13 April 2017 via mobile

I love a good fish supper. Was delighted to find I was staying only a few doors away from the Aberlour Takeaway. Popped in tonight for a couple of fish suppers for myself and my teenage boy and were very impressed. Fish cooked fresh but...More

1  Thank Bonnyrigger
Lorimer G, Owner at Aberlour Takeaway, responded to this reviewResponded 15 April 2017

Good morning, Thank you for taking the time to put in a review. I hope you have a safe journey home.

Reviewed 18 March 2017

We visited twice recently, the first time was on Thursday 9 March, we pre ordered and four excellent fish suppers were ready for us promptly. We returned the following Wednesday (15 March) and noticed there were different staff, a man cooking, not the woman from...More

2  Thank Auntyjanet2014
Lorimer G, Owner at Aberlour Takeaway, responded to this reviewResponded 21 March 2017

Good morning, I thank you for your review and am disappointed to see your comments I was working myself that night but as regards to the order it is the girls that take it. to answer your question there has been no change in staff...More

Reviewed 15 March 2017

Have had fish and chips several times and each time have been disappointed. Chips were not freshly cooked. Staff were very friendly and attentive and kept the shop spotless.More

1  Thank eileen592
Lorimer G, Owner at Aberlour Takeaway, responded to this reviewResponded 18 March 2017

Good evening, Whilst I thank you for taking the time to put in a review, I am however disappointed that we haven't met the standards/ expectations that you would like to achieve. I have however spoken to the staff concerned with regard to this. hopefully...More

Reviewed 13 February 2017

Excellent chips! Really fresh & slightly crispy. Best chippy chips we'ev tasted for a long time. Nothing soggy about them.

Thank Louise G
Lorimer G, Owner at Aberlour Takeaway, responded to this reviewResponded 15 February 2017

Good evening, Thanks for your review, glad you enjoyed them. regards, Lorimer.

Reviewed 31 January 2017

We were in on Saturday nite 28th January and again it never fails great staff and the fish was excellent, curry sauce was spot on too.

Thank fi0naj0
Lorimer G, Owner at Aberlour Takeaway, responded to this reviewResponded 3 February 2017

Good evening, I would like to thank you for taking the time to put in a review, Glad you enjoyed it.

Reviewed 18 January 2017 via mobile

Fair enjoyed our Aberlour Takeaway the night again, lovely fish and chips. Service spot on again never had any issues and defo recommend. Weldone girls.

Thank Linda_morrison1
Reviewed 25 December 2016 via mobile

I have the Combo and Hubby has Chicken Mayland Great And Value For Money so much So That Even Got Friends to go when they Come Fishing and the Staff are so Friendly

Thank Tara M
Lorimer G, Owner at Aberlour Takeaway, responded to this reviewResponded 17 January 2017

Good morning, Glad you found it to be value for money, thanks for review.

Reviewed 30 November 2016

The pie was disgusting and overheated and the chips were not very tasty to me. The curry sauce was good though. I would rate my experience as one of the worst takeaway tastes!

1  Thank illustratedmum33
Lorimer G, Owner at Aberlour Takeaway, responded to this reviewResponded 2 December 2016

Thank you for your review. I am disappointed to see that you had an unsatisfactory visit. I have spoken to the staff to address this for the future and appreciate your feedback.

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
The Mash Tun
340 reviews
.19 km away
The Dowans Hotel
127 reviews
.72 km away
Le Petit Gourmand
141 reviews
.10 km away
The Byre Grazing
62 reviews
.23 km away
Nearby Attractions
Aberlour Distillery
314 reviews
.54 km away
Speyside Cooperage
305 reviews
2.89 km away
Speyside Tours
178 reviews
6.60 km away
Glen Grant Whisky Distillery and Garden
196 reviews
6.60 km away
Questions & AnswersAsk a question
bUbBlEgUm91919
Has the vinegar improved any ?
17 January 2017|
Answer
Response from Lorimer G | Property representative |
Good Morning, On Looking at your previous review I did in fact review this with staff at the time and I am confident that the vinegar now suits the majority of taste buds. but please feel free to ask for extra as others of... More
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Cuisine
Fast food, British, Scottish
Meals
Lunch, Dinner
Restaurant features
Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Good for
Child-friendly, Kids
Open Hours
Sunday
16:30 - 20:00
Monday
12:00 - 13:30
16:30 - 21:00
Tuesday
12:00 - 13:30
16:30 - 21:00
Wednesday
12:00 - 13:30
16:30 - 21:00
Thursday
12:00 - 13:30
16:30 - 21:00
Friday
12:00 - 13:30
16:30 - 21:00
Saturday
16:30 - 21:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 92 High Street, Aberlour AB38 9QA, Scotland
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  Scotland  >  Moray  >  Aberlour
  • Phone Number: +44 1340 871871
  • E-mail
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing