We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Fresh! on Spey

$$ - $$$
British, Scottish, Cafe
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
121 High Street, Aberlour AB38 9PB, Scotland
+44 1340 871333
Website
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

96 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 93: English reviews
Moray
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 September 2016

This café used to be the best one in Aberlour, however the quality of food has dropped and I find that sad. I was there the day of the Aberlour Highland Games so things where a touch busy, but basics like the butter for the scone was of low quality. Such a shame for a place that would be my... More 

Helpful?
Thank philip_maylam
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 February 2016

The food is nice but the staff need to cheer up a bit, makes us feel quit sad. It's not very big so book if you go, certainly at the weekend.

Helpful?
Thank FionaSuds
Leeble72, Public Relations Manager at Fresh! on Spey, responded to this review

Hello, Thank you for your review. 'Fresh on Spey' closed at the end of January 2016 becuase it was sold to new owners who reopened it as 'The Byre' in Feburary 2016. We wish great success to the new owners at 'The Byre' - 121 High Street Aberlour. More 

Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
50 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 February 2016

Great little cafe in Aberlour. If you are craving a coffee when passing through Speyside, or you happen to have just finished up a good walk down the trails along The River Spey, this would be the perfect place to stop in for a coffee. We stopped in twice during our short visit to the area... once before a long... More 

Helpful?
Thank Weinmann11
Aberlour, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
124 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 January 2016

We visited for lunch and opted or the Cullen Skink with brown bread at £4.95 each! We both loved the soup and the service was professional and came with a smile.

Helpful?
Thank Bill M
Elgin in Moray
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 January 2016

Lovely, friendly staff. good food reasonably priced. Easy to find. Eat there and you will certainly want to return!

Helpful?
1 Thank Victoria31
Tranent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 December 2015

Popped in here for coffee and a scone. Staff were young and pleasant. Only cheese scones available, but they were very good.

Helpful?
Thank Annmchristie
Elgin, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 October 2015 via mobile

Stopped in here for lunch and had the Cullen Skink. Creamy, flavoursome Cullen Skink to be proud of with oodles of fish. Lovely lunchtime stop.

Helpful?
1 Thank Eriskay17
Leeble72, Public Relations Manager at Fresh! on Spey, responded to this review

Thank you for stopping by Fresh on your way through Aberlour and we are glad you enjoyed the Cullen Skink! More 

Aberlour, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
124 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 October 2015

We live in Aberlour and often visit Fresh on Spey for the excellent real leaf tea.We tried the Cullen Skink recently for lunch and were greatly impressed.Great flavour where quality is of the essence.

Helpful?
Thank Bill M
Leeble72, Public Relations Manager at Fresh! on Spey, responded to this review

Thank you for your positive feedback we are glad you like our loose leaf tea and Cullen Skink and thank you for coming to Fresh while the village struggles with awful longterm roadworks - it is much appreciated! More 

Aberlour
Level Contributor
120 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 October 2015

This is usually a good wee coffee shop that I usually visit when in Aberlour but I was really disappointed with the coffee served this time around. It seems that many tearooms and coffee shops are getting it wrong with the quality of coffee being served. Much of it being weak and having to pay for an extra shot to... More 

Helpful?
Thank Speysider58
Leeble72, Public Relations Manager at Fresh! on Spey, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your feedback and positive comments. However, we are terribly sorry you did not enjoy the coffee this time round. We do not charge for an extra shot, so please do not hesitate the next time you are in to ask for an extra shot. We hope to welcome you back again soon. More 

Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 October 2015

We had a meal on a Sunday and it was maybe a weekend staffing/planning issue but some meals looked and had the texture of food that had been reheated or microwaved for too long - sweaty, frazzled and overly chewy to varying degrees. The quality of ingredients seemed good, as did the taste. We were a happy party so didn't... More 

Helpful?
Thank Beachdrum
Leeble72, Public Relations Manager at Fresh! on Spey, responded to this review

Very sorry that you didn't enjoy your meal and thank you for your comments and feedback. We do beleive this was a blip on this occasion and hope you will visit us again soon. We appeal to all of our customers to please feel free while in our establishment to ask for something to be corrected if it is not... More 

Travellers who viewed Fresh! on Spey also viewed

 
Craigellachie, Moray
 

Been to Fresh! on Spey? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    4 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
    4 of 5 bubbles
Cuisine
British, Scottish, Cafe
Meals
Breakfast, Dinner
Restaurant features
Seating, Reservations, Waitstaff, Serves Alcohol
Good for
Child-friendly
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 121 High Street, Aberlour AB38 9PB, Scotland
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  Scotland  >  Moray  >  Aberlour
  • Phone Number: +44 1340 871333

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Fresh! on Spey staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?