We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Brewers Fayre Castlewood

) #10 of 12 Restaurants in South Normanton $$ - $$$ , British,
Carter Lane East, South Normanton DE55 2EH, England
+44 1773 862899
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent25%
  • Very good30%
  • Average20%
  • Poor11%
  • Terrible14%
Travellers talk about
“beans” (7 reviews)
“pudding” (13 reviews)
“soup” (5 reviews)
Closed Now
All hours
CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub, Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
Carter Lane East, South Normanton DE55 2EH, England
All Details
Write a Review
Reviews (473)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 473 reviews

Reviewed today

Not many guests so expecting minimum wait, however nearly 40 mins later still no food & when it did arrive quite bland & they forgot the peppercorn sauce which took almost 20 mins to get, by that time the meal was cold, staff seem friendly...More

Thank Pete C
Reviewed today via mobile

Evening meal for four people. Good food, ordered at the bar. Very well priced. Staff helpful and knowledgeable.

Thank hootiejohn
Reviewed 4 days ago

You order at the desk, take your drinks to the table and wait to be served. It took 30 minutes for a steak and salad which I find a little long. Food was good, price OK.More

Thank Marco B
jonathon b, Manager at Brewers Fayre Castlewood, responded to this reviewResponded 2 days ago

Thank you for taking the time to review your last visit to The Castlewood. Its always great to hear that our guests have enjoyed their visits to us. We always aim to serve up great memories for all our guests and I’m glad you feel...More

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

I met friends for a meal here. Service was appalling. Queued up for sometime - got to the front of the queue to be abruptly redirected by the young girl on the till to another queue - she then went off to chat to a...More

Thank Carolannchilvers
jonathon b, Manager at Brewers Fayre Castlewood, responded to this reviewResponded 2 days ago

Thank you for taking the time to review on your experience at The Castlewood. It is our aim to ensure all of our guests enjoy our restaurant and we are sincerely sorry to hear of your disappointment around your experience. Could you please contact one...More

Reviewed 1 week ago

We needed a break for lunch on a motorway journey. Not impressed, service was slow, food was bland and tasteless. The only point in it's favour was the fact it was cheap.More

Thank Paul W
jonathon b, Manager at Brewers Fayre Castlewood, responded to this reviewResponded 2 days ago

Thank you for taking the time to review on your experience at The Castlewood. It is our aim to ensure all of our guests enjoy our restaurant and we are sincerely sorry to hear of your disappointment around your experience. Could you please contact one...More

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

I actually think I could of located a chicken in the current area, caught it, killed it, plucked it and cooked it! In the time it has taken to make a the dinner. I have actually grown a beard since I ordered my food to...More

Thank Jamie H
jonathon b, Manager at Brewers Fayre Castlewood, responded to this reviewResponded 2 days ago

Thank you for taking the time to review on your experience at The Castlewood. It is our aim to ensure all of our guests enjoy our restaurant and we are sincerely sorry to hear of your disappointment around your experience. Could you please contact one...More

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We popped in for an evening meal one Thursday after work and had a good time. There were lots to choose from on the menus and there is a theme for most nights if the week, for example when we visited it was curry night....More

Thank filthurlow
jonathon b, Manager at Brewers Fayre Castlewood, responded to this reviewResponded 2 days ago

Thank you for taking the time to review your last visit to The Castlewood. Its always great to hear that our guests have enjoyed their visits to us. We always aim to serve up great memories for all our guests and I’m glad you feel...More

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We had the misfortune of coming here for breakfast on two consecutive days. Both days were equally dreadful. We were staying in the hotel attached to the restaurant or there wouldn't have been a return visit. While here the plates ran out, the glasses and...More

Thank Clare D
jonathon b, Manager at Brewers Fayre Castlewood, responded to this reviewResponded 2 days ago

Thank you for taking the time to review on your experience at The Castlewood. It is our aim to ensure all of our guests enjoy our restaurant and we are sincerely sorry to hear of your disappointment around your experience. Could you please contact one...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Rubbish!! We Had To Wait For 15minutes To Order Still No One Paid Attention. Such A Bad Service. If We Have To Order Twice That Means We Would have To Spend An Hour. I Would Never Visit This Again.!!More

Thank Amrik S
jonathon b, Manager at Brewers Fayre Castlewood, responded to this reviewResponded 2 days ago

Thank you for taking the time to review on your experience at The Castlewood. It is our aim to ensure all of our guests enjoy our restaurant and we are sincerely sorry to hear of your disappointment around your experience. Could you please contact one...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Stayed at this Premier Inn next door last week and had dinner here. Absolutely minging food. Horrible. Other people around were experiencing the same problem as well. Give this place a swerve on food - it really is bad !! I am afraid I have...More

Thank SimonbU3207LE
jonathon b, Manager at Brewers Fayre Castlewood, responded to this reviewResponded 2 days ago

Thank you for taking the time to review on your experience at The Castlewood. It is our aim to ensure all of our guests enjoy our restaurant and we are sincerely sorry to hear of your disappointment around your experience. Could you please contact one...More

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
The School House Restaurant
238 reviews
1.24 km away
Devonshire Arms
40 reviews
1.43 km away
Spice Village
56 reviews
1.43 km away
Costa Coffee
24 reviews
.80 km away
Nearby Attractions
East Midlands Designer Outlet
456 reviews
.76 km away
The Dandy Cock
16 reviews
4.07 km away
The Boundary
17 reviews
1.45 km away
Brierly Forest Park Ashfield
31 reviews
3.24 km away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from Brewers Fayre Castlewood staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Posting guidelines
Submit
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$3 - US$21
Meals
Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, After-hours
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Buffet, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Validated Parking, Television, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi
Good for
Groups, Child-friendly, Kids
Open Hours
Sunday
07:00 - 22:30
Monday
06:30 - 23:00
Tuesday
06:30 - 23:00
Wednesday
06:30 - 23:00
Thursday
06:30 - 23:00
Friday
06:30 - 23:00
Saturday
07:00 - 23:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Carter Lane East, South Normanton DE55 2EH, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Derbyshire  >  South Normanton
  • Phone Number: +44 1773 862899
  • E-mail
Description
The Castlewood brewers fayre is a pub style resturaunt with fantastic facilities for children, a nice bar area with a television that shows BT sport for you guests who would just like a drink, external seating front and back of the building and a brilliant restaurant area where they serve quality and good value meals Along with a breakfast menu for you early risers
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing