We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Punakaiki Tavern

Corner Of State Highway 6 & Owen Street | Cmb 52 Punakaiki. RD 1 Runanga 7873, Punakaiki 7873, New Zealand
6464647311188
Call
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent22%
  • Very good34%
  • Average20%
  • Poor11%
  • Terrible13%
Travellers talk about
“pancake rocks” (21 reviews)
“pool table” (11 reviews)
Open Now
All hours
CUISINES
Bar
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
Corner Of State Highway 6 & Owen Street | Cmb 52 Punakaiki. RD 1 Runanga 7873, Punakaiki 7873, New Zealand
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (407)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 355 reviews

Reviewed 1 week ago

We arrived into Punakaiki late, so even our hotel's restaurant was closed. Punakaiki Tavern was the only eatery still open. It was almost empty when we walked in, and the only food they still served was their "Pub Menu". I had the Meat Pie and...More

Thank mbaumgartl
Lorraine R, Owner at Punakaiki Tavern, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you great to hear we gave you a great experience.

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We enjoyed a surprisingly good entree of NZ mussells followed by two fish dishes which were average. Service was friendly and prompt. Chips were excellent! A typical pub with dark wooden furniture.

Thank Peter M
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We were running late, looking for food when we found this tavern. We were warmly welcomed, although the main restaurant service had terminated, we were able to order off the bar snacks menu which was perfectly acceptable, and the food that arrived was good. Thank...More

1  Thank Grembo
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Awesome spot! Really friendly publican, but the food was terrible :( The fish was hard & chips undercooked. Would go there for a beer anyday but reluctant to eat there. Hopefully they will read this & up the standards as could be amazing place!More

Thank rcb95
Lorraine R, Owner at Punakaiki Tavern, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Fish and chips are fish and chips. We have a varst selection on our menu,this dish is but one, We have had very good comments on the food we provide. sorry to hear you didn't likeit maybe you could have approached us to let us...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We didn't want to eat at the Punakaiki Resort nearby so our small group had dinner at the Tavern - a decision we didn't repent. We had a good choice of mains and desserts, and everything was delicious. Good beer and wine as well. Very...More

Thank Brock53
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

In Punakaiki are only a few places to eat. We choose for the tavern and ordered smoked salmon. The salmon was really very wel smoked, stil jucy and with good vegetables. I cannot day something about the other dishes, but this was really excellent.

Thank Martin S
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We enjoyed a couple of nice Monteiths beers and then had an enjoyable snack meal. A very pleasant place to sit back and relax.

Thank Laurie and Anne A
Reviewed 5 November 2017 via mobile

We went here for dinner and drinks after visiting the Pancake rocks and enjoyed our visit. It was warm with a fire going as it was cold and rainy while we were there. Cozy! You order at the bar after seating yourself . We had...More

Thank shutter_bug1971
Reviewed 30 October 2017 via mobile

A great spot to find along the way. Lorraine and Ian have a nice place. Clean and quite rooms, great food, wonderful people. Well worth the stop.

Thank dawnski99
Lorraine R, Owner at Punakaiki Tavern, responded to this reviewResponded 1 November 2017

Thank you for your great review.

Reviewed 20 October 2017

Only go here for a drink. Our food was expensive and not good - about $18 for fish and chips and got food which was definitely just your average cheap packet frozen fish and chips from the supermarket. And not even a nice variety. It...More

1  Thank rachelbabic
Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
Jacob's Grill
56 reviews
1.34 km away
Pancake Rocks Cafe
340 reviews
1.02 km away
Wild Coast Cafe
22 reviews
1.01 km away
Nearby Attractions
Pancake Rocks and Blowholes Walk
1,744 reviews
1.08 km away
Truman Track
233 reviews
1.54 km away
Pororari River Track
51 reviews
.14 km away
Punakaiki Horse Treks
60 reviews
1.54 km away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from Punakaiki Tavern staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Posting guidelines
Submit
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$4 - US$27
Cuisine
Bar
Meals
Dinner, Brunch, Breakfast
Restaurant features
Takeout, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Free Off-Street Parking, Television, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Wine and Beer, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments, Accepts Credit Cards
Good for
Groups, Local cuisine, Bar Scene, Child-friendly, Kids
Open Hours
Sunday
7:30 AM - 10:00 PM
Monday
7:30 AM - 12:00 AM
Tuesday
7:30 AM - 12:00 AM
Wednesday
7:30 AM - 12:00 AM
Thursday
7:30 AM - 12:00 AM
Friday
7:30 AM - 12:00 AM
Saturday
7:30 AM - 12:00 AM
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Corner Of State Highway 6 & Owen Street | Cmb 52 Punakaiki. RD 1 Runanga 7873, Punakaiki 7873, New Zealand
  • Location: South Pacific  >  New Zealand  >  South Island  >  West Coast Region  >  Punakaiki
  • Phone Number: 6464647311188
  • E-mail
Description
The type of cuisine is "Bistro or "tavern" with a variety of Bar meals. Breakfast,Lunch, Dinner. + Bar Snacks.8 Am 9 pm.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing