We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The White Hart

) #24 of 62 Restaurants in Otley $$ - $$$ , British,
Main Street | Poole in Wharfedale, Otley LS21 1LH, England
+44 113 203 7862
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent32%
  • Very good29%
  • Average20%
  • Poor11%
  • Terrible8%
Travellers talk about
“steak” (28 reviews)
“pudding” (29 reviews)
“sunday roast” (16 reviews)
Closed Now
All hours
CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub, Gastropub, Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
Main Street | Poole in Wharfedale, Otley LS21 1LH, England
All Details
Write a Review
Reviews (612)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 610 reviews

Reviewed 4 days ago via mobile

We booked for a family lunch on Sunday. Arriving at 3.30 it took nearly 25 mins for drinks to arrive and the bad attitude of the staff really shocked me. We asked for a brandy and ginger ale. No ginger ale in stock. We then...More

Thank Alan S
Reviewed 1 week ago

We visited for my husband's birthday. It was a warm day and most people were sat outside. The food was all nice. The waitress who served us was very friendly and efficient.More

Thank JC00000
TheWhiteHartMgr, Manager at The White Hart, responded to this reviewResponded 6 days ago

JC00000, I'm glad you enjoyed your husbands birthday here at The White Hart. Please pass on our best wishes to him. Did you know that if you sign up to our birthday club you get a complementary bottle of prosecco when you dine with us....More

Reviewed 1 week ago

Dropped in for lunch and pleased we did so. My wife is coeliac and dairy intolerant - this was no problem in selecting from the menu with the help of the chef. Also gluten free beer and gluten free Peroni served. The meal was first...More

Thank Andrew M
TheWhiteHartMgr, Manager at The White Hart, responded to this reviewResponded 6 days ago

Thank you Andrew for leaving us this review. Our aim is to cater for each individual and I'm pleased that you were happy with the range of drinks available. I will pass your comments on to the team. Once again Thank you

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Well, what can I say? As always we were greeted by a friendly team, seated promptly and told of all the specials and different menus available. We were not hurried in our choices however didn't have the awkward wait of having to catch a servers...More

Thank Lifeisgoodwithadrink
TheWhiteHartMgr, Manager at The White Hart, responded to this reviewResponded 6 days ago

Thank you Lifeisgoodwithadrink for spending your time to leave us such a fabulous review. Mel loves getting feedback like this and she will be over the moon once she is told. We hope to see you soon. Once again Thank you

Reviewed 1 week ago

We enjoyed our evening but unfortunately 1 of the main courses was incorrect and hence that person effectively ate by themselves. The good part was that without being asked the manager offered a reasonable discount. The servers are friendly but we do not know where...More

Thank Alan M
TheWhiteHartMgr, Manager at The White Hart, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Hi Alan M, Thank you for your review. I'm pleased to read that you enjoyed your evening with us. I'm very sorry that we made a mistake with one of the meals, however I'm glad we were able to resolve this issue to your satisfaction....More

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Lovely place, let down badly by terrible service and poor quality food, was given refund on two meals. Had to ask again for several items i.e. ice cream for two lively children. Wouldn't recommend this place at all. Sorry!More

Thank mozzy41
TheWhiteHartMgr, Manager at The White Hart, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Hi mozzy41, Thank you for taking the time to review the White Hart. I'm so sorry that we let you down so much. We would greatly like an opportunity to make this up to you and as such, I would apprreciate if you could contact...More

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We booked a table for 1 pm, it was quite busy when we arrived. There appeared to be only two staff and it was some time before we were shown to our table. Even longer before we ordered and ages before our wine arrived. We...More

Thank Sue W
TheWhiteHartMgr, Manager at The White Hart, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Hi Sue W Thank you for your review of the White Hart, my apologies you suffered slow service at the beginning of your meal. We really should have staffed to requirement and I'm sorry this wasn't the case. I was pleased you read that you...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We visited for lunch on a Sunday. Sat on terrace which was nice. Ordered a sharing platter. Waited 30 minutes for our meal to arrive. Dirty plates and glasses from previous guests left on our table even though several waiters walked past! Meal arrived which...More

Thank Pamela C
TheWhiteHartMgr, Guest Relations Manager at The White Hart, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Good Evening Pamela C, Thank you for taking the time to leave us feedback here at The White Hart. We take all comments on board and share with the team in order to understand what went well and what did not. I can only apologise...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We had pre booked a table for 8. Jammed into the busiest part of the restaurant when there was lots of room soon after on other areas. The staff shift seemed to change halfway through the meal. Nobody said anything to us, we were left...More

Thank Robinvip5
TheWhiteHartMgr, Manager at The White Hart, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Hello Robin Thank you for visiting us and having a meal with us. The team do change round a little in order to accommodate breaks but this should not affect the service as a handover is done between servers. Hope to see you again

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We came a fews weeks ago for dinner as we were passing and I was pleasantly surprised and excited to see that they had re-vamped the place with new decor and seats, compliments all round, it does look lovely. We went to the bar, got...More

Thank Siobhan_Ridley
TheWhiteHartMgr, Manager at The White Hart, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Hello Siobhan Thank you for your comments and will be passed onto the team to ensure we are improving our service

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
The Wharfedale Inn and Restaurant
76 reviews
1.28 km away
Fox & Hounds
106 reviews
1.84 km away
The Hunters Inn
23 reviews
3.79 km away
Bloomfield Square
45 reviews
4.16 km away
Nearby Attractions
Wharfe Meadows Park Otley
85 reviews
4.29 km away
None Go Bye Farm
24 reviews
3.04 km away
Otley Courthouse Arts Centre
32 reviews
4.25 km away
Kirkgate Arcade Shopping Centre
37 reviews
4.42 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
Captain M M
30 May 2017|
Answer Show all 7 answers
Response from MGeering | Reviewed this property |
Yes, fully open.
1
Vote
Chloe M
5 November 2015|
Answer Show all 7 answers
Response from John H | Reviewed this property |
The Dining Room was packed when we visited - but we did not see any dogs Best telephone them I guess. Hope this helps. Rgds, John
1
Vote
estateagent47
8 January 2015|
Answer Show all 9 answers
Response from Jim O | Reviewed this property |
Not sure who you want this to go to but I live near Leicester. I think you should send this to the White Hart!
2
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$40
Meals
Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, After-hours
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Validated Parking, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi
Good for
Child-friendly, Kids, Local cuisine, Groups, Special Occasion Dining
Open Hours
Sunday
11:00 - 22:30
Monday
11:00 - 23:00
Tuesday
11:00 - 23:00
Wednesday
11:00 - 23:00
Thursday
11:00 - 23:00
Friday
11:00 - 00:00
Saturday
11:00 - 00:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Main Street | Poole in Wharfedale, Otley LS21 1LH, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Yorkshire  >  West Yorkshire  >  Otley
  • Phone Number: +44 113 203 7862
  • E-mail
Description
A beautiful building with 200 years of history as a public house. Open fires, beams, stone floors, fantastic outside seating, exceptional quality fresh food, great selection of dishes and drinks. Professional, friendly and welcoming team.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing