We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Cheerful Chilli

East Chevin Road,, Otley LS21 3DD, England
+44 1943 466567
Website
Save
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent51%
  • Very good25%
  • Average12%
  • Poor7%
  • Terrible5%
Travellers talk about
“chilli” (32 reviews)
“cake” (33 reviews)
“chimichanga” (10 reviews)
Closed Now
Hours
CUISINES
British, Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
East Chevin Road,, Otley LS21 3DD, England
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (325)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 325 reviews

Reviewed 1 week ago

This restaurant is a little off the beaten track - hidden away on top of Otley Chevin. There is a small car park and as long as it's not too busy then there is enough space to park here. My friends and I ordered the...More

1  Thank Kitty H
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Visited in the evening with my vegetarian daughter who really enjoyed her meal. I don’t like spicy food so the only thing I could have was a pizza, which was a bit oily but quite nice. The restaurant itself was basic but pleasant and the...More

Thank heltay_17
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Called in after a lovely walk in surrounding area on Easter Sunday . Staff great and veggie meal excellent . Cappuccino coffee served hot and so good. The place is clean airy yet quirky . A gem to be found near Otley .

Thank EastMidlandsTrekker
Reviewed 11 March 2018

very efficient and friendly service. Good atmosphere. Good to be in a restaurant that sells only vegetarian or vegan food. And such very good and well cooked food at that. Only sorry I did not have room for pudding. Wine good and reasonably priced.

1  Thank terry11249
Reviewed 18 February 2018

Had a fantastic banquet for 4 people on Saturday. Lovely chilled atmosphere, friendly staff, and absolutely delicious food. Really good value for money for 4 courses. The chocolate brownie was heavenly. Will definitely return.

2  Thank lindseyfpratt
CheerfulChilli, Manager at Cheerful Chilli, responded to this reviewResponded 4 March 2018

Thank you - we’re delighted you had a great evening. Hope to see you again soon The Cheerful Chilli Team 🌶💛

Reviewed 13 February 2018

first time I have visited this cafe and didn't know that is was a vegetarian cafe, I ordered a extra shot in my coffee and it was still very weak, didnt enjoy it. I looked at the menu and this was not a place I...More

1  Thank Joan G
CheerfulChilli, Manager at Cheerful Chilli, responded to this reviewResponded 4 March 2018

Hello, we’re sorry you didn’t realise we are a vegetarian and vegan restaurant and tea room. Customers tell us our food is really tasty though and they often say they don’t miss the meat so hope you will give us a try. Best wishes The...More

Reviewed 11 February 2018 via mobile

Chose the cheerful chilli for a family meal but what a mistake. We ordered our food but after over an hour still nothing. We asked the waitress if it was going to be much longer she said she would find out and never returned. Appalling...More

2  Thank Michelle M
CheerfulChilli, Owner at Cheerful Chilli, responded to this reviewResponded 4 March 2018

We are so sorry for your bad experience. We try to make everyone’s experience as special as possible, and we have obviously failed with yourselves, and for this we can only apologise. We will look at our procedures to try to ensure this doesn’t happen...More

Reviewed 11 February 2018

We were the first table in on Saturday night - ordered a pizza with mushrooms only to be told they didn't have any!! Yet we were served a mushroom bruschetta??? But that was luke warm. Asked for caramelised onion on the pizza but it came...More

4  Thank inichol
CheerfulChilli, Owner at Cheerful Chilli, responded to this reviewResponded 4 March 2018

We are so sorry for your bad experience. We try to make everyone’s experience as special as possible, and we have obviously failed with yourselves, and for this we can only apologise. We will look at our procedures to try to ensure this doesn’t happen...More

Reviewed 11 February 2018 via mobile

Waited an hour and ten minutes from ordering to getting our food. The portions were tiny and the food bland. The service from the staff was farcical. Would strongly suggest you give this one a miss.More

3  Thank Roger H
CheerfulChilli, Owner at Cheerful Chilli, responded to this reviewResponded 4 March 2018

We are so sorry for your bad experience. We try to make everyone’s experience as special as possible, and we have obviously failed with yourselves, and for this we can only apologise. We will look at our procedures to try to ensure this doesn’t happen...More

Reviewed 23 January 2018 via mobile

We had dinner here with family on Saturday evening, we were not disappointed! Food was amazing cannot fault it at all! Service was a little slow but didn't really damage the experience. Great recommendation!

1  Thank Gurpreet S
CheerfulChilli, Manager at Cheerful Chilli, responded to this reviewResponded 4 March 2018

Thank you! and hope to see you again soon The Cheerful Chilli Team 🌶💛

Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all Otley Hotels
Chevin Country Park Hotel & Spa
1,939 reviews
.60 km away
Travelodge Leeds Bradford Airport
429 reviews
2.82 km away
Premier Inn Leeds / Bradford Airport Hotel
956 reviews
3.35 km away
Britannia Leeds Bradford Airport
1,139 reviews
3.40 km away
Nearby Restaurants
A Casa di Alessia
87 reviews
1.90 km away
Red Pepper Indian Restaurant
246 reviews
1.88 km away
The Royalty
364 reviews
1.14 km away
Maypole Fisheries
93 reviews
1.79 km away
Nearby Attractions
Wharfe Meadows Park Otley
95 reviews
2.41 km away
Yanki Doodlz
8 reviews
2.97 km away
Otley Courthouse Arts Centre
31 reviews
2.00 km away
Guiseley Well
10 reviews
3.15 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
Nicky W
2 August 2017|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from CheerfulChilli | Property representative |
Hi - we don't take bookings for the tea rooms but you can reserve a table - just call us on 01943 466567. Thanks
1
Vote
Catherine T
25 February 2016|
AnswerShow all 5 answers
Response from docabd | Reviewed this property |
Yes there is facilities for a wedding even a marquee for evening guests, no accomadation for wedding guests though there is the Chevin Country Hotel ,Premier Inn ,Travelodge,next to airport, and some nice Bed and Breakfast... More
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$15 - US$46
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, After-hours
Restaurant features
Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Highchairs Available, Serves Alcohol
Good for
Kids, Child-friendly, Groups, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining
Open Hours
Sunday
11:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Tuesday
6:30 PM - 11:00 PM
Wednesday
6:30 PM - 11:00 PM
Thursday
6:30 PM - 11:00 PM
Friday
6:30 PM - 11:00 PM
Saturday
11:00 AM - 4:00 PM
7:00 PM - 11:00 PM
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: East Chevin Road,, Otley LS21 3DD, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Yorkshire  >  West Yorkshire  >  Otley
  • Phone Number: +44 1943 466567
  • E-mail
Description
The Cheerful Chilli Restaurant brings you freshly cooked, wholesome and flavoursome food from around the world. From our popular Mezze Platters to share to favourites such as Aubergine Involtini, Kerala Curry and enchiladas. We have private dining for parties up to 30 and our 4 course Sharing Menu is particularly popular on these occasions. All our deserts and ice creams are home made. Booking is advised. Our Tea Rooms offer a selection of lunches, savouries, deserts and delicious cakes.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing