We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Pack Horse Inn Bed and Breakfast Pub

) #1 of 1 Restaurants in Chathill $$ - $$$ , British,
Chathill, Alnwick, England
+44 1665 589292
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent67%
  • Very good23%
  • Average6%
  • Poor1%
  • Terrible3%
Travellers talk about
“beef” (6 reviews)
“pudding” (4 reviews)
“sea bass” (3 reviews)
Restaurant Hours
CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
Chathill, Alnwick, England
Write a Review
Reviews (80)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 80 reviews

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Had lunch today in this secluded country pub.. The food was excellent. I had steak and ale pie with vegetables and chips , pastry was light and the steak was phenomenal. My husband had an amazing burger with onion rings and chips all home made....More

Thank Val023_10
Belinda S, Manager at The Pack Horse Inn Bed and Breakfast Pub, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thanks for your lovely review. We serve lunch from 12-2pm and are always happy to see customers for the first time. We look forward to welcoming you again.

Reviewed 16 May 2017 via mobile

After a bracing walk on Bamburgh beach the family descended on the Pack Horse Inn for Sunday lunch and it did not disappointment Although we didn't have starters we were served complimentary warm herb bread to nibble on while we waited for our roast dinner...More

Thank DawnieMcC
Belinda S, Manager at The Pack Horse Inn Bed and Breakfast Pub, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thanks for your lovely review. We do try to meet everyone's needs, whatever they may be. We look forward to welcoming you again.

Reviewed 25 April 2017

Had a wonderful lunch here. The food was excellent, as was the service. Add cosy surroundings in a delightful setting, it could not be improved.

Thank silprops
Belinda S, Manager at The Pack Horse Inn Bed and Breakfast Pub, responded to this reviewResponded 4 May 2017

Thanks for your lovely review. We always try to offer a wide ranging menu. We change our evening menu daily, and we always have daily specials on our lunch menu. We look forward to welcoming you again.

Reviewed 10 April 2017

The entrance up a back stair to our bedroom was dirty and the carpet stained, it also passed the kitchen which was noisy and none to clean. The bedroom itself was poorly equipped, sheets clean but unironed. The shower room and toilet should have been...More

2  Thank Pauline T
Reviewed 6 April 2017

We had the most splendid Sunday Lunch here - 3 roast beef and 1 chicken.The portions were more than generous and accompanied with an excellent selection of vegetables including cauliflower. Cheese, orange and purple carrots and cabbage. It was wonderful, such a great find!

Thank Jill H
Belinda S, Manager at The Pack Horse Inn Bed and Breakfast Pub, responded to this reviewResponded 8 April 2017

Thanks for your lovely review. We always try to exceed expectations, and our Sunday lunches are always popular. We look forward to welcoming you again.

Reviewed 1 April 2017

Had a lovely Sunday lunch with family having been at a family wedding at Ellingham Hall the previous day (we were staying in the beautiful Ellingham cottages). We booked on the same morning so were pleased to be acccommodated at short notice. Absolutely fantastic food...More

Thank WorldWandererUK
Belinda S, Manager at The Pack Horse Inn Bed and Breakfast Pub, responded to this reviewResponded 8 April 2017

Thanks for your lovely review. Our Sunday lunches are highly popular and we are usually booked out but we always try to accommodate you if we can. We look forward to welcoming you again.

Reviewed 20 March 2017 via mobile

Visited the Pack Horse for the first time in many years today. We received a warm, friendly welcome and nothing was too much trouble. The food was excellent as was the wine. The Pack Horse was the perfect place for our lunch and it won't...More

Thank christinearmstrong13
Belinda S, Manager at The Pack Horse Inn Bed and Breakfast Pub, responded to this reviewResponded 22 March 2017

Thank you for your lovely review. We try to make sure that we provide everything you need. We look forward to welcoming you again.

Reviewed 4 March 2017

Popped in here for a quick snack whilst spending the weekend away for a birthday treat, forgetting it was a Sunday!! Ended up with a roast beef baguette for the husband and I plumped for a half portion roast chicken dinner, as it sounded like...More

Thank Won2ong
Belinda S, Manager at The Pack Horse Inn Bed and Breakfast Pub, responded to this reviewResponded 5 March 2017

Thank you for your lovely review. Our Sunday lunches are very popular with locals and visitors alike. We enjoy giving you a range of treats to go with your roasts. We look forward to welcoming you again.

Reviewed 31 January 2017

Came across this Fabulous little place with a roaring fire lovely staff and a menu to die for a must place to visit. We are coming back in the summer to stay in the bed and breakfast a little hideaway of lushness

Thank vrichards0n
Belinda S, Manager at The Pack Horse Inn Bed and Breakfast Pub, responded to this reviewResponded 28 February 2017

Thanks for your lovely review. We offer a great welcome and look forward to seeing you in the summer. Our B&B is always popular so don't forget to book.

Reviewed 27 November 2016 via mobile

We went to have Sunday lunch here by default, as I'd phoned another pub in the area, and twice they asked me to call back to make a lunch reservation. We then found The Pack Horse online, and how glad we were to change our...More

1  Thank Willatt
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from The Pack Horse Inn Bed and Breakfast Pub staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Posting guidelines
Submit
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Cuisine
Bar, British, Pub
Meals
Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Highchairs Available, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar
Good for
Groups, Bar Scene, Business meetings, Child-friendly
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Chathill, Alnwick, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Northumberland  >  Alnwick  >  Chathill
  • Phone Number: +44 1665 589292
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing