We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Prince of Wales

$$ - $$$, British,
48 West End Lane, Esher KT10 8LA, England
+44 1372 465483
Website
Save
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent22%
  • Very good20%
  • Average16%
  • Poor17%
  • Terrible25%
Travellers talk about
“roast dinner” (6 reviews)
“sea bass” (6 reviews)
“chain pub” (6 reviews)
Closed Now
Hours
CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub, Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
48 West End Lane, Esher KT10 8LA, England
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (592)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 591 reviews

Reviewed yesterday

We visited the pub for a birthday dinner on Tuesday 24th April 2018. There was 2 tables of families and another couple seated in the dining area. There was only 1 other set of customers in bar. We were served by a great waitress who...More

Thank Rosie W
Roy G, General Manager at Prince of Wales, responded to this reviewResponded yesterday

Hello There, Thanks for taking time to provide your feedback, sorry to hear about your poor experience. Glad to hear you were looked after by Maria and that you enjoyed the food, but like I did on the day I can only apologise about the...More

Reviewed 5 days ago via mobile

Poor service, food wasn't what we ordered, staff rude when we told them items were missing. Would not eat here again. Nice area and near Garsons Farm which is lovely. Pub has a nice look inside and is well laid out, just run very badly...More

Thank Steve C
Roy G, General Manager at Prince of Wales, responded to this reviewResponded yesterday

Hello There, Sorry to hear about your poor experience, whilst we have had some service and food issues, staff friendliness generally isn't one we get here, so please contact me on 6221@greeneking.co.uk with your contact details and I will give you a call to obtain...More

Reviewed 5 days ago

Arrived at the Prince of Wales around 7.15pm to meet a party booked for 7.30pm. The pub was not busy at all, only 5 or so other small tables. Once seated, we had to wait about 20 minutes for someone to come and take our...More

Thank V3338TNamy
Roy G, General Manager at Prince of Wales, responded to this reviewResponded yesterday

Hello There, As discussed on the night we can only apologise for your poor experience on the night and we did try our best and significantly reduced the bill for you, with an offer to revisit for your auntie. Should you wish to rebook for...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Visited we'd 11 April. Extremely poor service, lack of staff, only 3 available and they were all traineesMore

Review collected in partnership with Greene King
Thank shelleylbaxter
Roy G, General Manager at Prince of Wales, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hello shelleylbaxter, Please accept our sincere apologies that you had such a poor experience on Wednesday night. It was the only night I tried to get a few hours off this week, with one of the chefs standing in for me, and whilst we have...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Being here a number of times, popped in for a quick bite to eat and drink with friends. Food as always delivered very quickly, great quality and friendly service. Super relaxed, laid back and friendly evening.More

Thank Bridgetcooke
Roy G, General Manager at Prince of Wales, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hello! Thanks for taking the time to leave a nice review, we are very pleased to hear you enjoy the food quality, service and speed here! Make sure you take full advantage of our Fizz Friday promotion, it's £10 Prosecco every Friday, and on the...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Very good gastro pub. Charming service. Adequate choice of food and good portions. Well worth a visitMore

Review collected in partnership with Greene King
Thank Anthony C
Roy G, General Manager at Prince of Wales, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hello There, Thanks for taking the time to provide your feedback, I am glad you enjoy the service and food here! Be sure to check out our new menu, which starts on the 19th April, and has some very exciting new dishes. We look forward...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

For a brewery owned pub/restaurant the real ale is variable - sometimes OK but often disappointing and seldom excellent. Staff very pleasant but inattentive and give the impression that they need firmer leadership and better training. Bar is often unattended and staff can ignore you...More

Thank nigelembry
Roy G, General Manager at Prince of Wales, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hello There! Thanks for taking the time to provide your feedback. I am relatively new here and am keen to obtain further details about your experiences, if you can spare a few minutes, can you please drop me an e-mail on 6221@greeneking.co.uk with some contact...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Real Ale ok but thats it. Food Ribbish 12 quid for a steak and ale pie with stone cold veg and congealed gravy This pub is well worth AVOIDING Manager ok as refunded without hassle, but I guess he is used to it given the...More

Thank JackieandBernie W
Roy G, General Manager at Prince of Wales, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Hello, Thanks for your comments and please accept our apologies that you did not enjoy your meal. Whilst your feedback is a pretty accurate reflection of how our Good Friday shift went, I've only been here 7 weeks and refunding is a pretty rare practice...More

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The title sums it up the place is a dump virtually always empty and I know a family who had pork for lunch and were vomiting for hours afterwards. Sad as Great location.

Thank ljp19812016
Roy G, General Manager at Prince of Wales, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Hello, Thanks for your feedback. I have noted your vague comments and will utilise them to help us improve. Kind Regards, Roy Gourlay General Manager

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Found the Prince of Whales pub when visiting Garsons Farm nearby & popped in for lunch. We received a friendly welcome & was seated straight away. staff were really friendly & helpful especially our waitress Lucy who was great.The restaurant was busy, clean & had...More

Thank Angiep0ps
Roy G, General Manager at Prince of Wales, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Hello! Thanks for taking the time to leave your review, I am pleased to hear you enjoyed your experience and were look after by Lucy, I'll be sure to pass on your comments! We look forward to welcoming you back soon next time your in...More

Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all Esher Hotels
Travelodge Walton-On-Thames
191 reviews
2.72 km away
Premier Inn Cobham Hotel
507 reviews
2.86 km away
Ashley Park Inn Keepers Lodge
14 reviews
2.98 km away
Holiday Inn London-Shepperton
752 reviews
4.47 km away
Nearby Restaurants
Sherpa Kitchen Nepalese Restaurant
264 reviews
.97 km away
Cote Brasserie - Esher
415 reviews
1.06 km away
Zizzi - Esher
268 reviews
1.26 km away
Giggling Squid Esher
370 reviews
1.24 km away
Nearby Attractions
Daytona Sandown Park
140 reviews
1.45 km away
Safari Adventure Golf
26 reviews
1.51 km away
Claremont Landscape Garden
262 reviews
.79 km away
Hersham Golf Club
7 reviews
1.51 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
Lou B
29 January 2016|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from Roy G | Property representative |
Hi Lou B We definitely allow dogs at the Prince of Wales in the bar area and outside. A great area to walk the dogs and pop in for a wine afterwards. Look forward to meeting you!
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Drinks
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Validated Parking, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi
Good for
Child-friendly, Kids, Groups
Open Hours
Sunday
12:00 PM - 10:30 PM
Monday
12:00 PM - 11:00 PM
Tuesday
12:00 PM - 11:00 PM
Wednesday
12:00 PM - 11:00 PM
Thursday
12:00 PM - 11:00 PM
Friday
12:00 PM - 11:00 PM
Saturday
12:00 PM - 11:00 PM
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 48 West End Lane, Esher KT10 8LA, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Surrey  >  Esher
  • Phone Number: +44 1372 465483
Description
Phone number 01372 465483
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing