We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Plough Inn - Country Pub & Dining Room

Certificate of Excellence
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
Main Road, Galgate LA2 0LQ, England
+44 1524 751337
Website
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

314 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 313: English reviews
Rhyl, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Pleasant stop for lunch with friendly and helpful staff. Pub had a comfortable busy atmosphere with a menu biased to larger meals with baggetts the only sandwich choice. A ploughman's was enough for us to share with excellent fresh ingredients. There was a fishcakes with salad on the specials board which we will try next time.

Helpful?
Thank Hugh M
The Plough G, Supervisor at The Plough Inn - Country Pub & Dining Room, responded to this review

Glad to hear that you had a pleasant visit. Hope to see you again soon. More 

Lancaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Received an invite for a free main course for my birthday - always thought the plough too small but was very pleasantly pleased- more space than expected, lovely gardens, lovely staff and gorgeous tasty food. Just about to go and they surprised me with a birthday desert with a candle - lovely

Helpful?
Thank Judith B
The Plough G, Supervisor at The Plough Inn - Country Pub & Dining Room, responded to this review

I am happy to hear that you had such a pleasurable time on your special day. Hope to see you again. More 

Level Contributor
98 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We used to come to the plough regularly, and we loved it. But recently we have noticed that the quality of food has really been quite poor, and the newest members of staff seem disinterested and quite rude. The food all tastes dry, and there is a clear lack of effort put into meals during the week, and the sides... More 

Helpful?
Thank Conneseuir1
The Plough G, Supervisor at The Plough Inn - Country Pub & Dining Room, responded to this review

I am sorry to hear about your experience with us at The Plough. If you would like to discuss this further please email me at carol@fayreinns.co.uk More 

Lancaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Always reliable, good quality and good portion sizes. The fish and chips, in particular, is a very generous portion (in fact there was too much mushy peas). I would like it if they varied the menu a little more though.

Helpful?
Thank Tony N
The Plough G, Supervisor at The Plough Inn - Country Pub & Dining Room, responded to this review

I'm glad to hear that you enjoyed our famous fish and chips. Hope to see you again. More 

Lancaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
60 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 March 2017

Went for a Sunday roast but they had sold out which is a great sign of course. Went for the veggie Falafel burger. Really a bit plain.Just 2 falafel burgers inside a bun with some melted goats cheese.Was it home made? Tiny bit of lettuce underneath it. Did feel it lacked a bit of TLC and a side salad would... More 

Helpful?
Thank ManyJB
The Plough G, Supervisor at The Plough Inn - Country Pub & Dining Room, responded to this review

I am sorry to hear that you left our venue disappointed. Please think about us next time you are dinning out for us to provide you with some better memories of us. More 

Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
89 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 March 2017

We have a daughter at the university and try to eat here if we can when we visit as it is very conveniently located for visiting parents :). Always welcoming service. Always good food. Really naughty puds! AND well behaved dogs are made very welcome in the back room of the dining area. Very difficult to pick fault unless you... More 

Helpful?
Thank Gill M
The Plough G, Supervisor at The Plough Inn - Country Pub & Dining Room, responded to this review

We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your visit. We always love a four legged friend paying us a visit. See you again next time More 

Level Contributor
36 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 March 2017 via mobile

We called in for a mid week lunch and all our meals were lovely. Very big portions to satisfy the largest of appetites and keep any dogs at home happy. Nice wood burner and good beer. Would definitely come back again. It also has a very pretty beer garden for the summer months.

Helpful?
Thank Charlotte V
The Plough G, Supervisor at The Plough Inn - Country Pub & Dining Room, responded to this review

Thank your for your kind words. Hope to see you in the beer garden soon. More 

Kendal, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 March 2017

Visited for the first time at lunchtime on Sunday. It was a good thing we booked in advance as it was very busy. When I booked I was asked if we had any special requirements- 5 stars for asking (as it happened we didn't but it was great to be asked) We both ordered the Sunday roast which was huge.... More 

Helpful?
Thank Christine C
The Plough G, Supervisor at The Plough Inn - Country Pub & Dining Room, responded to this review

Can't wait to be serving you our famous roast beef again sometime soon. More 

Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2017

Called in for lunch. Nice traditional pub with open fire and good beer. Great selection of home cooked dishes, and all four ordered were enjoyed. Friendly, efficient staff. Hat-tip to John the barman.

Helpful?
1 Thank Douglas L
The Plough G, Supervisor at The Plough Inn - Country Pub & Dining Room, responded to this review

Glad to hear that you enjoyed your visit. Hope to see you again sometime. More 

Derby, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 March 2017

After visiting the university we were looking for somewhere to get a meal and used Tripadvisor. The Plough came up in our search and it was in the area we wanted and so, off we went. This is a traditional, cosy, country pub. The food was delicious and staff helpful and courteous. My husband had the gammon steak along with... More 

Helpful?
Thank Adele-H65
The Plough G, Supervisor at The Plough Inn - Country Pub & Dining Room, responded to this review

So glad to hear that you had such an enjoyable evening. See you again next time. More 

Travellers who viewed The Plough Inn - Country Pub & Dining Room also viewed

 
Forton, Lancashire
 

Been to The Plough Inn - Country Pub & Dining Room? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    4 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Average prices
US$37
Cuisine
Bar, British, Pub, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Brunch
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Television
Good for
Cheap Eats, Bar Scene, Groups, Local cuisine, Child-friendly, Kids
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Main Road, Galgate LA2 0LQ, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Lancashire  >  Galgate
  • Phone Number: +44 1524 751337

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of The Plough Inn - Country Pub & Dining Room and other visitors
2 questions
Ask a question
Preston, United Kingdom
10 months ago
2 months ago

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from The Plough Inn - Country Pub & Dining Room staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?