We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

The Queens Head - Restaurant

Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
Townfoot, Rothbury, Northumberland National Park NE65 7SR, England
+44 1669 620470
Website
Today
11:55 - 21:30
Open now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun - Sat 11:55 - 21:30
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

293 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 292: English reviews
Newcastle
Level Contributor
35 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed yesterday NEW via mobile

Stopped here for some lunch while hiking around the rothbury area, i had the fish and chips which was a huge portion and definitely worth the price, my boyfriend had the large carvery which he enjoyed and said was good quality although had to agree with some other reviews that the price difference between a regular and large carvery is... More 

Helpful?
Thank Alix W
Hexham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

I chose this restaurant on the basis of Tripadvisor reviews. Lunch with friends there was not an enjoyable experience. The bar where food was served was spoilt by a distracting TV, the service was bizarre and the food overall left a lot to be desired. A disappointment I'm afraid. But Rothbury is as beautiful as ever.

Helpful?
Thank geoff427
missytiger, Owner at The Queens Head - Restaurant, responded to this review

Hello Geoff, I have messaged you on here, please contact me. Thanks Teresa More 

Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Popped around for a meal last night (Monday) but only had a main due to large, filling portions! We ordered the vegetable lasagne (with garlic bread and salad) and fish & chips. Both were delicious ! Nicely decorated restaurant and pub, and the lady who served us was very friendly. The dessert looked scrumptious but we were definitely too full!

Helpful?
Thank Amber B
missytiger, Owner at The Queens Head - Restaurant, responded to this review

Hi Amber, Thanks for leaving us a review, its very much appreciated, the vegetarian Lasagne is very good, especially with the garlic bread. Thanks again Teresa More 

Thropton, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 days ago NEW via mobile

This Sunday I visited Rothbury, me and my hubby went to have lunch, a Carvery the staff were pleasant and very happy the food was great! I enjoyed my visit and the young blonde girl who served us was so polite thank you we will be back!

Helpful?
Thank khudston
missytiger, Owner at The Queens Head - Restaurant, responded to this review

Hello, So pleased you took the time to leave us a review, I hope to see you again soon. Teresa More 

Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Sunday lunch ok, I had half Carvery hubby had full Carvery (not worth £3 extra) but enjoyed anyway, tasty veg. The thing that bugged me was the price of a slimline Tonic, we actually queried the bill, could not believe it £3-20 yep £3-20 for 1 slimline tonic,

Helpful?
Thank lw10son
missytiger, Owner at The Queens Head - Restaurant, responded to this review

Hello, I am not surprised you were astounded, the fever tree tonic water is £2.30 for a large bottle not £3.20, I have messaged you privately regarding this. with apologies Teresa More 

Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Booked a table for the Saturday night, was told by the waiting staff that there was not a full menu that night because the menus were being changed so I had to choose something else, I did but that was not available either. Ended up with fish and chips which was a little disappointing, my husband however had the chicken... More 

Helpful?
Thank Mandy F
missytiger, Owner at The Queens Head - Restaurant, responded to this review

Hello Mandy, Thank you for your review. I assume you must have been sitting in the bar on Saturday night to eat as we had a private dinner in the ground floor restaurant and set up the breakfast room on the first floor and that is where the specials board was. The waiting staff should have made you aware of... More 

2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago

We loved it here, such a wonderful lady behind the bar serving us. Nothing was to much trouble. Set us a tab and waited on us hand and foot. Food was hearty, delicious and genourous is size. Couldn't fault this place if I tried. Prices were surprisingly good too. Just wonderful

Helpful?
Thank Amelia S
missytiger, Owner at The Queens Head - Restaurant, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your lovely review, nice to hear we have got it right, will pass on your comments to the staff. Thanks again Teresa More 

Derbyshire
Level Contributor
314 reviews
205 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago

We called here for Sunday lunch while walking in the area. The turkey was O.K., beef, tough. Plenty of vegetables and reasonable prices.

Helpful?
Thank DerbyshireCook
missytiger, Owner at The Queens Head - Restaurant, responded to this review

Hi, Thanks for leaving us a review, sorry your piece of beef was tough and such a shame you did not mention it as we would have replaced your lunch. I have the beef every week for lunch and to be honest I have never found it to be tough although sometimes its very rare which I find difficult to... More 

Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago

The food is good quality but on average each meal is about £15 which is more than its worth. If you get the horseshoe gammon steak you have a choice between egg or pineapple with it, and a £1 charge if you want both which is bad enough when you are paying £10.75 for the meal in the first place.... More 

Helpful?
Thank Emma S
missytiger, Owner at The Queens Head - Restaurant, responded to this review

Hello Emma, Thank you for saying the food is lovely, we do appreciate it. I have to disagree about the comment you made about us being greedy. The only thing we have on our menu anywhere near £15.00 is an extra mature 8 oz Sirloin steak at £18.95 and I think you will find that is a bargain in any... More 

Scunthorpe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
111 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago

My wife and I ate here on the first night of a two night break in the town. The food was excellent as was the service. The bar area is traditional, warm, welcoming and friendly. We spent a very pleasant evening in the company of the friendly locals and would highly recommend visiting this bar even if you are not... More 

Helpful?
Thank Steve B
missytiger, Owner at The Queens Head - Restaurant, responded to this review

Hello Steve, Thank you so much for leaving such a lovely review, its really appreciated, if you plan on coming back to Rothbury you must try our rooms next time, also very reasonable and cosy. Hope to see you again soon Teresa More 

Travellers who viewed The Queens Head - Restaurant also viewed

Rothbury, Northumberland National Park
Rothbury, Northumberland National Park
 
Rothbury, Northumberland National Park
Rothbury, Northumberland National Park
 
Rothbury, Northumberland National Park
Rothbury, Northumberland National Park
 

Been to The Queens Head - Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    4 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Average prices
US$10 - US$25
Cuisine
Bar, European, British, Pub, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner
Restaurant features
Takeout, Outdoor Seating, Television, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available
Good for
Kids, Groups, Child-friendly, Cheap Eats, Bar Scene, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining
Open Hours
Sunday
11:55 - 21:30
Monday
11:55 - 21:30
Tuesday
11:55 - 21:30
Wednesday
11:55 - 21:30
Thursday
11:55 - 21:30
Friday
11:55 - 21:30
Saturday
11:55 - 21:30
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Townfoot, Rothbury, Northumberland National Park NE65 7SR, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Northumberland  >  Northumberland National Park  >  Rothbury
  • Phone Number: +44 1669 620470
Description
We are a family run traditionally English friendly Inn. Situated in the beautiful village setting of Rothbury in the Coquet Valley. We have letting rooms a cosy bar and a separate restaurant. You can choose to eat in the Bar (dogs allowed) or in the restaurant, same menu and very reasonable pricing. We make our own sausages, black pudding and burgers and bake our own bread, Come and visit soon.

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of The Queens Head - Restaurant and other visitors
2 questions
Ask a question
5 months ago
Seahouses, Northumberland, United Kingdom

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from The Queens Head - Restaurant staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?