We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Bayside Bistro

Certificate of Excellence
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
Keel | Co. Mayo, Keel, Achill Island co. Mayo, Ireland
+353 98 43798
Website
Today
17:00 - 21:00
Closed now
All hours
Hours:
Thu - Sun 17:00 - 21:00
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

192 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 168: English reviews
Claremorris, Ireland
Level Contributor
40 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 October 2016

the food here is very good, I do advise you to book as it does get booked very quickly at week ends the price's are very reasonable and the quality first class

Helpful?
Thank satincape
Midleton, Ireland
Level Contributor
74 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 October 2016

Booked Out table for eight meal was fine service was slow and staff weren't the best. Once our main course was done table cleared, no dessert menu or coffees were offered . We couldn't seem to get anyone's attention to take our order. Had to go to till to pay and asked why no dessert menus were offered host was... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Abina1
Level Contributor
3 reviews
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 October 2016

After our main course, we were abandoned in favour or a large group that arrived after us and offered nothing else. When I complained, the lady threw her eyes up to the ceiling. Disgraceful way to treat someone putting €50 someone's hand (and more, if the service had been forthcoming)... She tried to blame my gf for being a slow... More 

Helpful?
Thank Dave O
Lisbon, Portugal
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 September 2016 via mobile

We had dinner here. The staff was friendly but the food was mediocre at best. The fish chowder had fake rubbery fish in it. My husband had the mussels and they were good. The prices are high for what you get. The restaurant was empty and now we know why.

Helpful?
1 Thank roocher
Joanna F, Owner at Bayside Bistro, responded to this review

Dear Reviewer, Since we do not have a chowder on our menu it would be very hard for us to put "fake rubbery fish" in it. We do not keep fake fish in the restaurant as a rule, and definitely not the rubbery kind- that would take up too much space reserved for the fresh fish that we use in... More 

Navan
Level Contributor
60 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 September 2016 via mobile

Really nice menu with good choice and also specials board. Very decent portions, had 2 courses varying from Fish&Chips, Chicken&Chorizo Pasta & Vegetarian Risotto and not forgetting the delicious homemade brown bread, unfort hadn't room for desserts.. Another time for sure! Staff nice and helpful.

Helpful?
Thank Carol A O
Ratoath, Meath, Ireland
Level Contributor
29 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2016

Lovely clean quite. Food was of a very high standard very impressed, I have eat in a lot of places in Achill and felt the standard could have been better but not the case here. Quick glances at the other tables you could see beautifully presented plates. It is a bit on the pricey end but the quality is far... More 

Helpful?
Thank Niall T
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 August 2016 via mobile

2 adults,3 kids. Tasty food just minutes from keem beach. 8oz steaks and pizza and chicken goujons for the kids. Not an extensive menu for kids tbh,w just fish & chicken goujons an small pizza. Desserts were excellent though!

Helpful?
Thank Mtnflyer1972
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2016 via mobile

I have visited Bayside Bistro few times before- mostly with friends and food was always impressive. This time was no different! Menu has changed but food remained fresh, very well cooked and the homemade bread is to die for. Desert requires a special mention too- the chocolate mousse is probably the best I have ever had. Staff is well organised... More 

Helpful?
Thank Kot_27
Level Contributor
37 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2016 via mobile

Was here for a meal with the family but found the children menu very minimal and if your not into fish there's not much here. Good wine menu but prices are a bit high. If you want a beer they only do craft beers. Desserts are lovely and staff are very helpful and friendly.

Helpful?
Thank Niall D
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2016 via mobile

Beautifully cooked meals. Lovely friendly environment. Unpretentious fresh food with excellent service.

Helpful?
Thank fiddytwofiddy

Travellers who viewed Bayside Bistro also viewed

Keel, Achill Island
Keel, Achill Island
 
Dugort, Achill Island
Dugort, Achill Island
 

Been to Bayside Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    4 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Average prices
US$15 - US$34
Cuisine
Irish, Seafood, European, International
Meals
Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, After-hours
Restaurant features
Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Serves Alcohol, Outdoor Seating, Wheelchair Accessible, Free Wifi
Good for
Groups, View, Kids, Special Occasion Dining, Child-friendly, Local cuisine, Business meetings
Open Hours
Sunday
17:00 - 21:00
Thursday
17:00 - 21:00
Friday
17:00 - 21:00
Saturday
17:00 - 21:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Keel | Co. Mayo, Keel, Achill Island co. Mayo, Ireland
  • Location: Europe  >  Ireland  >  Western Ireland  >  Province of Connacht  >  County Mayo  >  Achill Island  >  Keel
  • Phone Number: +353 98 43798
Description
Sea food restaurant with scenic views in the heart of village of Keel, Achill Island.

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of Bayside Bistro and other visitors
2 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Bayside Bistro staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?