We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Heron Inn

$$ - $$$
Bar, British, Pub
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
Trenhaile Terrace, Malpas, Truro TR1 1SL, England
+44 1872 272773
Website
Today
10:00 - 23:00
Closed now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun 10:00 - 22:30
Mon - Sat 10:00 - 23:00
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

256 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 252: English reviews
cornwall uk
Level Contributor
21 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 days ago NEW via mobile

After a disappointing visit several years ago I returned for a coffee with my partner on the start of a long hike . Just a coffee, ''twas a gorgeous morning with not a sole around. A lovely bar maid / barrister served us a delicious coffee- it stood head and shoulders above the vast majority... seriously!! It stepped up my... More 

Helpful?
Thank trurotravellers
St Austell, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago

Last minute decision to go for lunch with friends. Happily after phoning they were able to offer us a table and we walked from Malpas Road Park. Lovely warm welcome, excellent roast and a good selection of deserts. Unhurried service meant we did not have to rush and we had a really nice time. We will be back!

Helpful?
Thank Phil S
Truro, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
199 reviews
93 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I hadn't been to The Heron for a long time and was interested to see how it had changed. My friend and I received a very warm welcome, drinks were discussed and the Specials board was indicated. The menu has something for almost everyone and we were spoilt for choice. As it was lunch my friend had pate and I... More 

Helpful?
Thank akay07
Level Contributor
18 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We visited this eatery a number of Months ago and thoroughly enjoyed our visit and meal. On returning, we knew it had changed hands, but wow, what a great place to still have a meal. The ambience, roaring log fires, decor and service were all flawless. There were three of us, two had belly pork, and I had fish pie,... More 

Helpful?
Thank Toffski
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 weeks ago

A very good menu, lots of choice and with friendly staff. Car parking is limited, but adequate. Views over the estuary are most attractive.

Helpful?
Thank wembury406
Truro, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 weeks ago

The Heron is one of my favourite pubs for location in Cornwall a pub that i have kno wn all my life so when i booked a table there i wanted so much for the food to be good. O dear what a mistake the staff were very good and helpfull but most of the menu seemed to be sold... More 

Helpful?
Thank TruraBoy
ahemming2015, Owner at Heron Inn, responded to this review

I am saddened to read your review, we have had a few problems over the weekend, and I'm very sorry if you have been 'caught up' in this. These problems have now been completely rectified, and our full menu is available all day every day, with our usual excellent high standards. If you could please contact me direct on 01872... More 

Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 January 2017 via mobile

My partner unfortunately suffers from dairy intolerance and coeliac disease, to the extent that he has a reaction if for example something isn't washed up correctly. We came to the heron as both his side and my side of the family had been raving about it and we can see why. Front of house are very warming and accommodating. The... More 

Helpful?
Thank Beth G
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 January 2017 via mobile

As a coeliac it is very hard to find a place to eat that has broad options of gluten free food which is reasonably priced, of good variety, excellent serving size and reaction free. When seeing Fish and Chips on the menu I was sold, only to be overwhelmed by the quality of the dish. Full credits to the kitchen... More 

Helpful?
Thank Lewis B
2 reviews
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 January 2017

Many items on the menu were unavailable, long wait, some of the food was cold when it came out, not value for money

Helpful?
Thank mark a
ahemming2015, Owner at Heron Inn, responded to this review

I am very sorry to hear of the problems you encountered, I would like to discuss this with you in more detail. Please contact me on 01872 272773. Thank you. More 

Portreath
Level Contributor
169 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 January 2017

I've written many reviews on Trip Advisor, this will be the worst. If I could give the Heron a zero or minus rating then I would. We booked a table here as a group of four friends around 10 days previous. We arrived in plenty of time and after a drink went to our table to order some food. After... More 

Helpful?
Thank M00sej00se
ahemming2015, Owner at Heron Inn, responded to this review

I'd like to be brutally honest, and respond in the only way I feel I can. Reviews like these and the experience you had are both extremely upsetting for all involved. Unfortunately due to a number of reasons, Saturday night service was filled with problems, a long line of which I'm sure you don't wish to hear about. Problems do... More 

Travellers who viewed Heron Inn also viewed

 

Been to Heron Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    4 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
    4 of 5 bubbles
Average prices
US$6 - US$22
Cuisine
Bar, British, Pub
Meals
Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner
Restaurant features
Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Street Parking, Free Off-Street Parking, Highchairs Available, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Wine and Beer, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Reservations
Good for
Local cuisine, Romantic, Special Occasion Dining, Groups, View, Bar Scene, Child-friendly, Kids
Open Hours
Sunday
10:00 - 22:30
Monday
10:00 - 23:00
Tuesday
10:00 - 23:00
Wednesday
10:00 - 23:00
Thursday
10:00 - 23:00
Friday
10:00 - 23:00
Saturday
10:00 - 23:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Trenhaile Terrace, Malpas, Truro TR1 1SL, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Cornwall  >  Truro  >  Malpas
  • Phone Number: +44 1872 272773
Description
The Heron Inn is a beautiful waterside pub, with stunning views over the river Fal. We are open all day, every day from 10am, serving freshly prepared homemade meals, ranging from a light lunch to hearty meals, and an excellent range of daily specials. Booking is adviseable but not always necessary.

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Heron Inn staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?