We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Tudor Chippy

West End, Marazion TR17 0EF, England
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent48%
  • Very good26%
  • Average11%
  • Poor7%
  • Terrible8%
Travellers talk about
“chip shop” (10 reviews)
Restaurant Hours
CUISINES
British
PRICE
$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
West End, Marazion TR17 0EF, England
All Details
Write a Review
Reviews (157)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 155 reviews

Reviewed yesterday

For many years we got our fish 'n chips from a chippie in Hayle. When the owners retired we tried various places (?) to find the same quality and enjoyed the search. We never had any reason to complain about the food we had from...More

Thank MichaelWilliam1903
Reviewed yesterday

We were staying in Marazion for the week and decided to get a takeaway of Fish and Chips. I had the haddock option, which was reminiscent of a takeaway near my house up north. A lot of tourists like to come here because of the...More

Thank Ted C
Reviewed 5 days ago

Had lovely fish and chips here one wet and windy Wednesday. The batter was lovely as were the chips, the service was also great.

Thank Bethan T
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We always call here for tea when we are in Cornwall, the fish and chips are so nice, the batter is light and crispy and they are so tasty. We had Cod and chips and also a Haddock and chips and both were really nice....More

Thank J G
Margaret T, Owner at The Tudor Chippy, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Hi, Thank you for taking the time, and leaving us such a lovely review, it's always nice to be appreciated. We are very pleased you enjoyed your meal and look forward to seeing you again next time you are in Cornwall. Kind regards.

Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

We all enjoyed fish and chips from here, eaten on the beach with a lovely view of St Michael's Mount (where we had spent a day). Would recommend.

Thank Pleasure2holiday
Margaret T, Owner at The Tudor Chippy, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you for your kind review, we aim to please, do call again.

Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

Rather anaemic chips without a lot of flavour or quantity. Sausages weren't a lot better. Be better if they stuck to just selling ice cream

4  Thank HungryhippoCornwall
Margaret T, Owner at The Tudor Chippy, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you for your unpleasant review, as you APPEAR to be local! Face to face complaint would have been more satisfactory and constructive, sorry can't please everyone (mostly we do) but there is no pleasing some people!!!

Reviewed 16 August 2017

Love this place - great food and lovely staff ! we coming down mid Sept to 20 Oct- when are you closing for season?

Thank clare190277
Margaret T, Owner at The Tudor Chippy, responded to this reviewResponded 17 August 2017

Hi, Thank you for your kind reviews & support, we will be open September, and maybe into October, do hope you will call again.

Reviewed 15 August 2017

had piping hot chips sausage and 2 pineapple fritters they were perfect top fish and chip shop which was very very busy

Thank christopher p
Margaret T, Owner at The Tudor Chippy, responded to this reviewResponded 17 August 2017

Hi, Thank you for your kind review, and yes very busy at the moment which is great, do hope you will call again , we do our best to please.

Reviewed 13 August 2017 via mobile

Being northern we know good fish n chips. This was by far the best fish n chips we've tasted outside of Grimsby! And reasonable prices too.

Thank teammumford
Margaret T, Owner at The Tudor Chippy, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2017

Thank you for your kind review, always appreciated please call again.

Reviewed 4 August 2017

Compared with other fish and shipshape we have visited this was distinctly average. I take the owner's point they like customers to point out at the time if they are unhappy with the food but when you have taken it away it is only later...More

3  Thank SUSSEX020
Margaret T, Owner at The Tudor Chippy, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2017

Hi, We are sorry you were disappointed with your purchase but the paleness of on chips is due to just having refilled new with oil, if left to darken further they would have been dry rather than crisp! We consider and have been told our...More

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
Ben's Cornish Kitchen
946 reviews
.21 km away
The Kings Arms
649 reviews
.30 km away
Godolphin Arms Restaurant
1,813 reviews
.22 km away
Philps Famous Pasties
229 reviews
.30 km away
Nearby Attractions
St. Michael's Mount
3,629 reviews
.94 km away
Out of the Blue Gallery
34 reviews
.26 km away
Marazion Marsh
50 reviews
.07 km away
All Saints' Church Marazion
25 reviews
.50 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
KarCoop
14 September 2016|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from 0ANGELA0 | Reviewed this property |
Last year it closed for the season the last week in September (the exact day depends upon what food stocks they have left)
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Cuisine
Meals
Lunch, Dinner
Restaurant features
Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible, Accepts Visa, Cash Only
Good for
Groups, Kids, Child-friendly
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: West End, Marazion TR17 0EF, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Cornwall  >  Marazion
Description
Take Away only
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing