We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Ratings and reviews

RATINGS
Food
Service
Value

Details

Meals
Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Drinks
FEATURES
Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Free Wifi, Table Service, Outdoor Seating, Private Dining, Street Parking, Full Bar, Wine and Beer, Digital Payments, Accepts Credit Cards
Reviews (86)
Filter reviews
25 results
Traveller rating
5
9
2
3
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
Traveller rating
5
9
2
3
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviews veal local beer tasty food waiter terrace english lagman
Sort and selected filters
Sort FilterEnglish
Updating list...
Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

Hey there, had to wait quite long for the food, some meals came cold, the prices from the menu did not match what was in the final bill, not the best experience.

Date of visit: August 2022
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

Wasted more than 1 hour on waiting for simple dishes to come. Some menu prices differ from the ones in the bill. The service is terrible and not hospitable at all. Pass by if you want to keep the good vibes throughout the day.

Date of visit: August 2022
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 4 August 2022 via mobile

Great choice of drinks (cold and hot and also cocktails) and food. Had super nice and soft veal and lamb Shashlik and (lamb)ribs, with drafted local beer - superb! The waiters don’t speak Englisch, but the menu is written in Kyrgyzstan and English language —...and the employees try to do their best to fullfill your wishes. There are also Shishas available…More

Date of visit: August 2022
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 13 November 2021 via mobile

No big choice to eat out in Cholpon-Ata in November, so we tried this - and we were positively surprised! Meat and lagman were delicious, the service very friendly. Helpful that the menu was in english.

Date of visit: November 2021
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 4 October 2021

Firstly, I am a little surprised by the low scoring of this restaurant as I was more than satisfied, and I consider myself difficult to please. I visited this restaurant twice on my visit to Issyk Kul lake and I can say that the first...visit I thought the initial service was a little slow but once our order was taken, things got a lot better. On my second visit, the service was excellent from start to finish. All the food was well prepared and very tasty indeed from the soups to the salads and main course. A little disappointed though that there wasn't any borsch (not a show stopper though). Next time I am in Cholpan Ata, I will be visiting this restaurant again.More

Date of visit: September 2021
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 27 July 2021

I don't recommend you this restaurant, bad service, bad dishes Very unprofessional, From the first impression we were not sure, if dishes would taste good

Date of visit: June 2021
Helpful?2  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 27 July 2021

We went for dinner in the restaurant that has the same name as the excellent restaurant in Bishkek, but has nothing to do with it or comes close to this quality. First of all, I do not recommend this restaurant. The service is unprofessional and...not competent and the food is a matter of luck. We had ordered a Prosecco that the waiter couldn't open because it was the first time that he had opend such a bottle (that is not such a problem, but someone more experianced could have showed him). he even made a comment about the cork since he had no idea at all. we order salad and a steak. We wher joking about that we orderd medium, because the service was so clumsy we thought the kitchen might have the same standard. unfortunately we were right in our assumption. the steak was served on a hot stone with a gloche. the waiter dropped a gloche on the floor. the steak was boiling on the stone and covered with a dark sauce. i cut my meat and it was completely cooked. the complaint was accepted by the waiter and we ordered the same steak with the sauce separately and without a hot stone. While we were waiting for the second attempt, the waiter came to our table and asked us to order the fresh cheesecake. we told him that we don't know whether we want dessert and that we only want to decide later. He then told us that he had to pay for the first steaks himself and that we could be happy that we were getting a new steak. so it is clear that we now have to order a dessert. I have to say, I've never heard anything like it, but just had to laugh. the steak came and it wasn't bad. when we were almost done eating, employees started vacuuming and cleaning up the floor. a clear sign of non-professionalism, in other words we should now go. All in all, not a good experience and we will definitely not go there again.More

Date of visit: May 2021
Helpful?1  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 13 August 2019 via mobile

Impossible to order a shisha while all kyrgyz guys can order. Please avoid this place. 200m there is eden bar which is better

Date of visit: August 2019
Helpful?1  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 11 July 2019

Barashek is perfectly located, an eye-catcher and therefore very well visited. But probably too because it's really worth a visit. Food and beverages: I had a big Ceasar Salad and Veal Medaillons with a potato-cake. It was really delicious (perfectly flavoured) and for sure not...too less. They serve a local beer (forgot the name) that tastes wonderful. Service: Although it was really busy, the whole service-staff was still friendly, amazingly quick and seemed to be in a really good mood. My waiter was even able to speak German and did a wonderful job. Atmosphere: It's definitely a charming open-air-place with comfortable seats and nice decoration. Two singers were in charge for background music but this was never too much and didn't get annoying therefore. Probably one of the more expensive restaurants in Kyrgyzstan, but worth the money!More

Date of visit: July 2019
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 18 September 2018

We stopped here twice just because of it's location. We should have tried somewhere else the second time. The first time we sat in the outside patio area. It took forever to order and we were told that the local dishes were unavailable so we...had to stick with the European dishes. After a long wait we got our food, it was good but the wait made it OK. The second time we sat inside and told again that the local dishes were "not available" (no lagman...no kebabs...no manty) only European food. We did see another table of non-tourist get both Lagman and Manty shortly after we arrived...weird... We got a Beet Salad and Fried Dumplings. The Dumplings were super tough, thankfully the Beet Salad was good. Once again had to wait forever for the food, even though the place wasn't even 1/4 full. Overall skip this place and go to U Rybaka or try the BBQ at the Green Pub! Services is quicker and better, leaving you much happier!More

Date of visit: September 2018
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Вадим Г, Менеджер по связям с общественностью at Barashek, responded to this reviewResponded 18 April 2019
Google Translation

Здравствуйте. Приходите к нам в 2019 году. И вас приятно удивит наш сервис. Спасибо Вам за отзыв

Reviewed 11 September 2018

Nice and open air seating. Struggled a bit with communicating in English but they managed to understand what we wanted. We were sitting in the open air terrace Area. Service was very slow and the food took for ages to arrive. Finally after 30 minutes...they say my dish is not available. Urgh. So whatever arrived, it tasted average. Overall a disappointing experience. Nice venue married by shoddy service and mediocre food.More

Date of visit: September 2018
Helpful?1  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Вадим Г, Менеджер по связям с общественностью at Barashek, responded to this reviewResponded 18 April 2019
Google Translation

Очень жаль, что Вам не понравилось. Приходите теперь к нам в 2019 году, вас точно удовлетворит наш сервис. Спасибо за...More

Reviewed 8 September 2018 via mobile

We went here for dinner on a busy night but the service was very attentive. The waiter started off asking us to speak slowly as his English wasn't good but in fact he was very helpful and even called us a cab and walked us...out to point out which one it was. Tasty food -- we had the kaleidoscope beetroot walnut and apple salad, okroshka (an interesting fizzy cold soup with diced vegetables), and fish. Nice to try something different from meat and bread and rice. We went again for lunch in their terrace downstairs another day. The kebab was a little dry but very flavorful. A local told us the food here is better than at U Rybaka though the latter is more famous but we didn't get a chance to try it for ourselves.More

Date of visit: September 2018
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Вадим Г, Менеджер по связям с общественностью at Barashek, responded to this reviewResponded 18 April 2019
Google Translation

Спасибо за отзыв. Приходите в 2019 году. у нас стало еще лучше.

Reviewed 25 July 2018 via mobile

This restaurant is located in the centre of tourist area. The decoration is good, ingredients are fresh and the food is tasty but the service is very slow. You may pay a visit but make sure that you allow enough time.

Date of visit: July 2018
Helpful?1  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Вадим Г, Менеджер по связям с общественностью at Barashek, responded to this reviewResponded 19 April 2019
Google Translation

Спасибо за отзыв. Мы учтем ваше обращение.

Reviewed 3 July 2018

We grabbed lunch at Barashek last summer while in Cholpon Ata and it was a decent encounter overall. The food and service were great, the atmosphere and live music were great (music was a bit loud) and the price was pretty good for what you...got. We would return.More

Date of visit: August 2017
Helpful?1  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Вадим Г, Менеджер по связям с общественностью at Barashek, responded to this reviewResponded 19 April 2019
Google Translation

Обязательно приезжайте к нам еще. Спасибо за отзыв.

Reviewed 22 May 2018 via mobile

Good location, both local and western cuisines offered. However thethemains came before the entree for some in our group. No steak was available nor was rack of lamb.

Date of visit: May 2018
Helpful?1  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Вадим Г, Менеджер по связям с общественностью at Barashek, responded to this reviewResponded 19 April 2019
Google Translation

Спасибо за отзыв. Мы учтем Ваше пожелание.

View more reviews
Best nearby
Best nearby hotelsSee all
Goluboi Issyk Kul
41 reviews
1.39 km away
Tri Korony
68 reviews
1.62 km away
Akun Issyk-Kul
43 reviews
3.50 km away
Kapriz Hotel Resort
148 reviews
5.51 km away
Best nearby restaurantsSee all
U Rybaka
143 reviews
.70 km away
Cafe Bomond
18 reviews
.15 km away
Cafe Edem
14 reviews
.63 km away
Best nearby attractionsSee all
Ruh Ordo Cultural Center
134 reviews
.69 km away
Museum of Petroglyphs
152 reviews
2.69 km away
Historical Museum
58 reviews
.05 km away
The Equestrian Hippodrome
9 reviews
3.17 km away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from Barashek staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Submit
Posting guidelines
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing

Barashek, Cholpon Ata - Restaurant Reviews, Phone Number & Photos - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Barashek

Barashek is rated accordingly in the following categories by Tripadvisor travellers:
  • Food: 4
  • Service: 4
  • Value: 4