We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Shaad - CLOSED

West Heath Shopping Centre | Sandbach Road, Congleton, England
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent42%
  • Very good32%
  • Average11%
  • Poor5%
  • Terrible10%
4 Aug 2014
“Great night out.”
28 Jun 2014
“Closed! ”
Restaurant Hours Closed
CUISINES
Indian, Asian, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options, Vegan Options
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
West Heath Shopping Centre | Sandbach Road, Congleton, England
All Details
Reviews (79)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 79 reviews

Reviewed 5 August 2014 via mobile

So sad to hear The Shaad had closed. As it was excellent when I went there nearly two years ago with my family for my birthday. Me and my brother's dad had suddenly died. So the family were all together , all six of us....More

Thank Blooming1974
Reviewed 28 June 2014 via mobile

The writing was on the wall. If it reopens then it needs to improve and put beef back on the menu. It started out brilliantly and then started doing cheap meals - when that happens you know there's a problem.

2  Thank Leigh W
Reviewed 6 June 2014

We have been regular but not frequent visitors to the Shaad since it opened in Congleton. It's always been a reliable and friendly place, and as we haven't been in the last couple of months I can't comment on falling standards mentioned in recent reviews....More

2  Thank CheshireFee
Reviewed 12 May 2014

Birthday party for 12 which was great. Plenty of room for all guests - so you can easily get up and move around to chat to your friends. Food is excellent and even on the party menu which was £12.95 per head, there is still...More

Thank KateJenn
Reviewed 16 April 2014 via mobile

A great place to go for an Indian Lovely variety on the menu. We try something different each time, never disappointed.

Thank HBR24
Reviewed 11 April 2014

I used to come to shad when under previous management. Sing the change quality, service and price all have suffered. We were served food with no hot plates, when we complained we were told that they had been taken away due to change of owner....More

3  Thank Leigh W
Reviewed 6 April 2014 via mobile

I am astonished that the response to jburrow above was so inaccurate. As a member of that party we all arrived at once yet were still waiting for a table for 15 minutes. Yes it was a big party and I appreciate that the kitchen...More

Thank Liz J
Reviewed 30 March 2014

The Shaad was our favourite restaurant of this type in the area, however there has been changes in recent months which means the front of house staff have all changed. I don't now what has occurred but since then the service has dropped off dramatically....More

2  Thank Tinytours
Dilip G, Manager at Shaad, responded to this reviewResponded 4 April 2014

Dear Tinytours, Thank you for your feedback. Unfortunately, you have not provided sufficient amount of information for me to be able to look into the issues you had at the Shaad. However, in some cases I will have to go off my assumptions based on...More

Reviewed 30 March 2014 via mobile

We booked a table for 8.30. When we arrived we saw our table was ready but we were asked to wait. After 15min we were seated. By 9.30 and after asking twice our order was taken. At 10:00 our food arrived. We then had to...More

Thank jburrow
Dilip G, Manager at Shaad, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2014

Dear J Burrow, Firstly, thank you for your review; however, after investigating the matter, I believe you have omitted some vital information which would prove to be more informative for users of TripAdvisor. You called at 7pm on that Saturday night and asked me whether...More

Reviewed 24 March 2014

My wife and I (occasionally with family) have been both eating in and having take outs since it opened. We have never had a bad meal here and I would reccommend it to anyone. From the moment you enter till the time you leave you...More

Thank gwynfa m
Dilip G, Manager at Shaad, responded to this reviewResponded 28 March 2014

Dear gwynfa, Thank you for taking the time to write your review. We are constantly trying to improve our services by taking on board your feedback and by reflecting on errors made in the past. Thank you once again for your custom and feedback. Regards,

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
Amans
112 reviews
1.11 km away
Happy Garden
124 reviews
1.11 km away
Heath Farm
197 reviews
.49 km away
Cheshire Tavern - newly refurbished and OPEN
165 reviews
1.60 km away
Nearby Attractions
Little Moreton Hall
946 reviews
4.18 km away
Brereton Heath Local Nature Reserve
155 reviews
4.61 km away
Astbury Mere Country Park
133 reviews
1.14 km away
Glebe Farm Astbury
262 reviews
1.95 km away
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Open Hours
Sunday
4:00 PM - 10:00 PM
Monday
5:00 PM - 11:00 PM
Tuesday
5:00 PM - 11:00 PM
Wednesday
5:00 PM - 11:00 PM
Thursday
5:00 PM - 11:00 PM
Friday
5:00 PM - 11:00 PM
Saturday
5:00 PM - 11:00 PM
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: West Heath Shopping Centre | Sandbach Road, Congleton, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Cheshire  >  Congleton
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing