We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

the robin hood

$$ - $$$
Bar, British, Pub
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
Buxton Road, Congleton CW12 3PE, England
+44 1260 295241
Website
Today
12:00 - 23:00
Closed now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun - Sat 12:00 - 23:00
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

131 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 130: English reviews
Kirkham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We visited here one Friday evening, and had booked a table, Upon arrival we were very warmly greeted by the very friendly staff, they told us where are table was but also added we could sit anywhere else if we chose too, we decided to sit in the bar area. We could not fault the food at all, it was... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank MDunkley
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 weeks ago

walking the Gritstone trail mid february- small detour brought to the robin hood . Warm and friendly with real fire and comfortable place to rest awhile . Great Landlord and his wife who made us feel welcome and produce a brilliant game pie - lots flavor enhanced with real ale which was very well kept . A wonderful place to... More 

Helpful?
Thank Frank H
Karl H, Manager at the robin hood, responded to this review

Hi frank thank you for your review we are really happy you enjoyed your visit We look forward to seeing you again soon More 

1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 January 2017 via mobile

Very poor, no coffee limited wine choice steaks poor quality. Robin Hood was empty by 9.55. Only 3 members of staff. Will not be going again.

Helpful?
Thank Caroline G
Karl H, Manager at the robin hood, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback unfortunately on Saturday the coffee machine broke, we tried our best to fix it but was unsuccessful! I'm sorry to hear you didn't enjoy your steak, if you had mentioned this on the night we could have rectified the problem as we normally get very good feedback on our steaks. We hope you change your... More 

1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 January 2017 via mobile

Often take a visit to The Robin Hood and we are always welcomed by the lovely staff. The Sunday lunches are superb, a full plate of delicious food, as well as the full normal menu and specials also being on offer, which is a bonus! I've previously had the chicken breast and the beef and both have been excellent and... More 

Helpful?
Thank Shannon O
Karl H, Manager at the robin hood, responded to this review

Thank you for the review we're glad you enjoyed your Sunday lunch look forward to seeing you again soon More 

Stockport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 January 2017 via mobile

It was recommended to us and they didn't disappoint staff were lovely food was great we had steak, cauliflower tart and curry and the starter was black pudding stack mmmmmm would definitely recommend

Helpful?
Thank lorrainewh8
Karl H, Manager at the robin hood, responded to this review

Thank you for taking your time to review us we look forward to seeing you again soon More 

Congleton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2017 via mobile

Called in Monday 2nd January on way back from Macclesfield shopping for a drink with a view to eating. But! When we sat down with our drinks and noticed how dusty & dirty this place was we decided not to eat. Looked around and noticed window sills were dire in dust you could write your name in it. Throughout the... More 

Helpful?
Thank Kapjm
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 November 2016 via mobile

This came as recommendation on our canal boat holiday as it was a very short walk from bridge 61 and it did not disappoint. We arrived slightly cold after our day on the water and we're made very welcome. The staff were very helpful and friendly. The food was quick, hot and good. Would recommend to anyone passing by.

Helpful?
Thank Mark J
Congleton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 November 2016 via mobile

Visited this pub a few times and it's great every time! We visited this Sunday to try the new menu and were not disappointed! There was lots to choose from and the meals we had were very tasty and really good portions! They had the fires on in the pub when we arrived and was very warm and cosy! We... More 

Helpful?
Thank BigKev94
Hitchin, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 November 2016

Visited on Monday 31/10/2016. I was on a two day break to walk the length of the Macclesfield canal, and this was my planned lunch stop on day 1. I had just walked about 9 miles from the start of the canal at Kidsgrove, so was looking forward to a rest and a hot meal. I arrived a few minutes... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank dazza238
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 October 2016 via mobile

Visited this weekend for lunch with family. Food was served within 20 mins- always a good start! All the food was well presented and tasty. Puddings were to die for. Staff really friendly.

Helpful?
Thank Les A

Travellers who viewed the robin hood also viewed

 
Congleton, Cheshire
Congleton, Cheshire
 
Great Sankey, Warrington
Congleton, Cheshire
 

Been to the robin hood? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Cuisine
Bar, British, Pub
Meals
Drinks, Lunch, Dinner
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Free Off-Street Parking, Television, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi
Good for
Cheap Eats, View, Groups, Kids, Child-friendly, Bar Scene
Open Hours
Sunday
12:00 - 23:00
Monday
12:00 - 23:00
Tuesday
12:00 - 23:00
Wednesday
12:00 - 23:00
Thursday
12:00 - 23:00
Friday
12:00 - 23:00
Saturday
12:00 - 23:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Buxton Road, Congleton CW12 3PE, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Cheshire  >  Congleton
  • Phone Number: +44 1260 295241

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of the robin hood and other visitors
3 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from the robin hood staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?