We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Ratings and reviews

Travellers' Choice
RATINGS
Food
Service
Value
Atmosphere

Details

CUISINES
Cafe, British
Special Diets
Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options, Vegan Options
Meals
Breakfast, Lunch, Brunch, Drinks
View all details
meals, features, about
Reviews (137)
Filter reviews
136 results
Traveller rating
87
30
12
4
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
Traveller rating
87
30
12
4
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews brunch cake sandwiches cheese scone soup afternoon tea tasty lunch nice coffee lovely staff andrew hamper delivery treats yorkshire
Selected filters
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

I visited the patisserie Malton again this weekend as I have many times previously, as always the attentive service from staff was excellent, food of high quality and it was great to see this coffee shop full of people which is always a good sign...they are getting things right. On this occasion I had a jacket potato, followed by the best carrot cake I have ever tasted, the coffee too is also delightful, you could tell from the quality everything is homemade. The bill was very reasonable indeed. It’s great to see the shop still operating Covid safety procedures despite many places no longer doing so. I would highly recommend popping into the patisserie for breakfast, light lunch or cake treat if you are ever in the area!More

Date of visit: October 2021
Helpful?
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We have visited the Patisserie on several occasions now and is our “go to” place to eat whenever we visit Malton. We are always greeted promptly by a friendly face and taken care of so well, the service is always spot on and we are...never left waiting even in the busiest of times. It clearly is a popular coffee shop as we have yet to see it quiet. The food - there is so much choice and what we love is that everything is locally sourced and fresh, we are making our way through the menu and we are never dissatisfied, delicious food and beautifully presented. (Also, they make the tastiest hot chocolate here too!). The shop always has some delightful gifts and treats on display which we just can never resist, so much so we often take advantage of the wonderful Christmas hampers the patisserie makes and all our friends and family far and wide have, at some point, been treated to delicious treats by post! We’ve even treated ourselves several times in the past and enjoyed afternoon tea, cakes and tray bakes delivered to our door. It is clear to see that much love, hard work and dedication has gone into the success of this beautiful patisserie and it is iconic to Malton itself, the food capital.More

Date of visit: October 2021
Helpful?
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We stopped for tea and cakes on a trip to Malton and I can definitely recommend the patisserie. We were pleasantly surprised by the choice in gluten free cakes and everything tasted great. The staff were welcoming and really helpful and special thanks to the...lovely young man that served us, who went out of his way to return our shopping when we accidentally left without it.More

Date of visit: October 2021
Helpful?
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We had heard so many great things about this place and had it on our list of places to visit, even checking out the menu on their website before we had even decided on when to visit, friends telling us about their SLOW food approach...and they even state on the website about using seasonal local produce. Up on walking in and having a short wait before a very friendly lady acknowledged me and offered to seat me in a lovely corner or the cafe/restaurant. The whole place is beautifully decorated and is a lovely assault on the senses with various items you can buy and props from European typos cafes/delis. There were plenty of people in with a lovely atmosphere and great to just take it all in. I was soon presented with a menu albeit a paper one and it was dirty, looked like someone had spilt some coffee or soup on it. The drinks one was fine however and I was able to order the house blend tea which was lovely with a soft drink until my other party arrived. This was soon delivered as was the bill…a little strange but hey ho. I was soon joined by my partner and we chose too use the website to order from due to the state of the paper menu and the obvious thing that has plagued us all for the last 20 months. We ordered a rarebit and ploughman’s (Yorkshire Ploughman's - A thick slice of home roasted ham, two pieces of Yorkshire cheese, pickled onions, chutney, salad and a chunk of bread). We were soon told the rabbit was off…we ordered eggs benedict royale along with a decaf coffee. The ploughmans arrived and then a little later the eggs bendict, why? Oh and the updated bill!!!! The Ploughman’s was particularly disappointing. The thick slice of home roasted ham was actually a piece of boiled gammon that looked like it had been torn off/shredded, the two pieces of Yorkshire cheese were far from this, they were a slice of tasteless Brie and a pice of Wensleydale with cranberries. Neither can of been from a Yorkshire dairy, more like Morrisons and as I say just tasteless. The pickled onions were Opies cocktail onions and as for the chunk of bread it was a slice of bread cut in half with a dark black hair on. I discreetly pointed this out to one of the ladies serving and she ushered it away, the same bread then came back as I had put some salad dressing on one. They had however been turned over. I went top pay and discovered that everything was more than listed on their website. When I was asked if everything was ok, the server didn’t know what to do when I explained the issue of the hair. She asked if I made some one aware, which I told her I did, I soon got a shrug of shoulders and the card machine was presented. With the hospitality sector taking the hit it has during lockdown, this was very disappointing, especially with the boom in tourist trade this year. One of our homes is very close to Malton, this is not the standard this beautiful market town usually offers.More

Date of visit: September 2021
Helpful?1  
Patisseriemalton, Owner at The Patisserie Malton, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Hello Firstly I would like to thank you for you kind words on our patisserie look and atmosphere also thank you for your feedback from your recent visit to our coffee shop. I can only apologise for the experience you have been given. I would...More

Reviewed 30 August 2021 via mobile

Despite being very busy service was attentive and so polite ! We had delicious breakfasts and nice atmosphere. To be recommended!!

Date of visit: August 2021
Helpful?
Reviewed 10 August 2021

After sitting in a different cafe near market being swarmed by wasps (table still not cleared after 20 mins) we got up and left and found this wonderful little gem. The tea cake was delicious and not your average bog standard cafe fayre . Apparently...they are from a bakery in Whitby. The table next to us had an amazing salad.t We will certainly return if in the area again. Would highly recommend and their Covid protocols very good.More

Date of visit: August 2021
Helpful?
Reviewed 6 August 2021 via mobile

We enjoyed a lovely lunch here today. The cafe is beautifully presented; the food delicious and good quality. The two young men serving us were extremely well mannered, helpful and efficient. Will definitely return when we go back to Malton. Also - the coleslaw was...gorgeous and definitely not cheap or shop bought.More

Date of visit: August 2021
Helpful?
Reviewed 10 July 2021

22.5.21 lovely trip to Malton. This cafe is dog friendly! brought my dog also my daughter. would come again as friendly place also homemade cakes/soup

Date of visit: May 2021
Helpful?
Reviewed 3 July 2021

In Malton yesterday, thought I’d call in for some lunch. I was offered a choice of two tables and chose one in the corner. Bad choice as it has a groove all around the wooden top which collects all kinds of unwanted food and crumbs...and avoids all contact with the cleansing department. Didn’t notice until the food arrived. Table next to me filled up and order taken. Feeling invisible, I thought I would give this five minutes and disappear un-noticed. Damn, found at four and a half minutes and ordered the ploughman’s. Read slice of home cooked ham. Reality three little bits of square shaped ham which looked and tasted like it had come out of a tin. Read chunks of bread. Reality a slice of shop bought brown bread cut into two. Cheapest coleslaw money can buy. Never asked if everything was alright whilst eating, nor when paying. I think they probably knew it wasn’t.More

Date of visit: July 2021
Helpful?1  
Patisseriemalton, Owner at The Patisserie Malton, responded to this reviewResponded 4 July 2021

Hello Thank you for your feedback from your recent visit to our coffee shop. I can only apologise for the experience you have been given. I would like to speck to you or get a little more information if possible. Are you ok to email...More

Reviewed 15 June 2021 via mobile

We called in for a take out bun and were greeted by the most miserable woman. She made us repeat and repeat our choices until we felt like just walking out. We had waited a while beforehand as she had a slightly grumpy discussion with...the man before us but just thought he might have been awkward before we arrived. The server was unwelcoming from the start and had the audacity to say "Thank you" brightly as we left. Too little too late. The buns were great ..shame about the service!More

Date of visit: June 2021
Helpful?
Patisseriemalton, Owner at The Patisserie Malton, responded to this reviewResponded 17 June 2021

Hello Thank you for your feedback from your recent visit to our coffee shop. I can only apologise for the experience you have been given. I would like to speck to you or get a little more information if possible. Are you ok to email...More

View more reviews
Best nearby
Best nearby hotelsSee all
Suddaby's Crown Hotel
30 reviews
.12 km away
The Talbot Malton
1,774 reviews
.23 km away
The Old Lodge
767 reviews
.34 km away
Burythorpe House
693 reviews
6.44 km away
Best nearby restaurantsSee all
Leoni's
259 reviews
.10 km away
Lutt & Turner
184 reviews
.14 km away
The New Malton
889 reviews
.11 km away
No.46 Bar & Restaurant
279 reviews
.06 km away
Best nearby attractionsSee all
Rare Bird Distillery
59 reviews
.22 km away
R Yates & Sons Ltd
29 reviews
.19 km away
St Mary's Priory Church
25 reviews
1.36 km away
The Milton Rooms
12 reviews
.08 km away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
Teddy1967
5 February 2019|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from gigglyalien |
Yes this is dog friendly
0
Votes
Lucie D
30 November 2017|
Answer
Response from Patisseriemalton | Property representative |
Hello Lucie Yes we can take booking you can call the shop on 01653 695392 and we can arange your booking. Kind regards Andrew
0
Votes
Nicola042
12 May 2016|
Answer
Response from Patisseriemalton | Property representative |
Hello we have a large selection of individual gluton free cake available every day from the shop cake counter. But we do not have large ones sorry. Andrew.
1
Vote
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about The Patisserie Malton

Yes, The Patisserie Malton offers takeaway services.

The Patisserie Malton is rated accordingly in the following categories by Tripadvisor travellers:
  • Food: 4.5
  • Service: 4.5
  • Value: 4.5
  • Atmosphere: 4.5