We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Ratings and reviews

Travellers' Choice
RATINGS
Food
Service
Value
Atmosphere

Details

PRICE RANGE
US$3 - US$8
CUISINES
Cafe, International, South American, Ecuadorean
Special Diets
Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
View all details
meals, features, about
Reviews (222)
Filter reviews
120 results
Traveller rating
77
30
9
1
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
Traveller rating
77
30
9
1
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews nice atmosphere local information foreigners rafting jungle
Selected filters
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
Reviewed 6 September 2021

Great and only place I actually liked having breakfast. Great service and food! Panninis are my absolute fav and now they have coffee varieties cold and hot! I do recommend this place

Date of visit: March 2021
Helpful?
Reviewed 8 July 2021 via mobile

Yummy! This is a great place for a meal! I had the vegetarian burger with salad and it was really good! The salad was fresh and tasty! The staff is super friendly. Atmosphere is great oh.

Date of visit: July 2021
Helpful?
Reviewed 1 July 2021

Wonderful food prepared with lots of love and care. Andres was great, fully bilingual in both English and Spanish and very fun to talk to. The food was amazing, especially the drinks. Overall I highly recommend this restauront to anyone looking for good food and...laid back atmosphere in Tena.More

Date of visit: July 2021
Helpful?
Reviewed 7 May 2021

I visited Tena for a week. I visited cafe tortuga and loved it. I came back every other day. The service is great, the atmosphere amazing for chilling or working. I tried almost all the menu and was delighted every time. Cafe Tortuga is a...MUST if you come to Tena! ThanksMore

Date of visit: May 2021
Helpful?
Cafe Tortuga, Owner at Cafe Tortuga, responded to this reviewResponded 9 May 2021

Hola jOehw ! We appreciate your honest review. Our team works really hard to make sure every custumer is satisfied ! Hope you had a great time in Tena, we sure had a great time everytime you visited ! Cheers !

Reviewed 7 May 2021

No credit card not bank transfer accepted. And atm around doesn't work. Isn't this supposed to be the best place in town? I don't think so. So frustrating 😤More

Date of visit: May 2021
Helpful?
Cafe Tortuga, Owner at Cafe Tortuga, responded to this reviewResponded 9 May 2021

Dear Juan Diego, thank you for your comment. We understand your frustration. Too bad the ATMs didn't work for you, and you were out of cash. Your comment seems very unfair to me, since we ACCEPTED your transfer, so what you manifest in your review...More

Reviewed 19 February 2021

The vegetarian food was absolutely delicious the two times I visited (the chocolate brownie is a must also). The staff were really friendly and accommodated me when I had to take a meeting in the middle of the day by turning the music down and...allowing me to use their charger ports. They go out of their way to make sure you are well fed, comfortable and ready for the journey ahead.More

Date of visit: February 2021
Helpful?1  
Cafe Tortuga, Owner at Cafe Tortuga, responded to this reviewResponded 4 March 2021

Hola Matthew ! Thanks for your support and for your review. The #tortulovers TEAM is delighted you found that Café Tortuga was the right decision and you had such a good time. We trust you will enjoy the rest of your travels here just as...More

Reviewed 16 September 2020

This place seems to have shut down because of COVID. Not sure if they will open back up. I personally never really liked the food here too much. It seemed like a place for foreigners and a little overpriced for Tena.More

Date of visit: September 2020
Helpful?
Cafetortugatena, Propietario at Cafe Tortuga, responded to this reviewResponded 23 September 2020

Hola Jonathan K. Café Tortuga was closed for the last 6 months due to the COVID 19 pandemic. During this time, there was a change of administration. We are really honored to have Cafe Tortuga, an icon of Tena, under our management. We have spent...More

Reviewed 20 December 2019

thats the place to be for having more western type food with a jungle twist. and is next to the rafting shop, s best spot for breaky before hitting the waters.

Date of visit: April 2019
Helpful?
Reviewed 14 November 2019 via mobile

Nice atmosphere and great freshly prepared food. The soups are delicious. The cafe also has local information.

Date of visit: November 2019
Helpful?
Reviewed 17 October 2019

I had many breakfasts here while I was staying in Tena. If you are craving more Western-style food then look no further (the owner and some of her staff also speak English). All of the food is fresh and using local ingredients where possible. Even...the ice-cream and jam is handmade. I can highly recommend 'Josh's Ginger Float'. Not only is the food delicious but its a great place to chill out beside the river. They have lots of travel resources to browse through and fast WIFI. I will miss these breakfasts!More

Date of visit: October 2019
Helpful?
View more reviews
Best nearby
Best nearby hotelsSee all
Hotel Los Yutzos
67 reviews
.21 km away
Christian Palace
5 reviews
.30 km away
Palmar del Rio Premium Hotel
10 reviews
8.77 km away
La Casa Del Suizo
502 reviews
30.78 km away
Best nearby restaurantsSee all
Guayusa Lounge
75 reviews
.28 km away
El Vagabundo
40 reviews
.15 km away
The Marquis
66 reviews
.27 km away
Best nearby attractionsSee all
Centro Ecoturismo Comunitario Kamak Maki
21 reviews
.36 km away
AquaXtreme Tours
79 reviews
.03 km away
Tena Adventure River
27 reviews
.04 km away
Raft Amazonia
184 reviews
.17 km away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from Cafe Tortuga staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Submit
Posting guidelines
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Cafe Tortuga

Yes, Cafe Tortuga offers takeaway services.

Cafe Tortuga is rated accordingly in the following categories by Tripadvisor travellers:
  • Food: 4.5
  • Service: 4.5
  • Value: 4
  • Atmosphere: 4.5