We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Ferry

$$ - $$$, British,
Sutton Road, Cookham SL6 9SN, England
+44 1628 525123
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
  • Excellent18%
  • Very good33%
  • Average19%
  • Poor16%
  • Terrible14%
Travellers talk about
“roast dinner” (13 reviews)
“pork belly” (9 reviews)
“the river” (159 reviews)
Open Now
12:00 PM - 10:00 PMAll hours
Bar, British, Pub, Gastropub, Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
$$ - $$$
Sutton Road, Cookham SL6 9SN, England
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (890)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year

1 - 10 of 885 reviews

Reviewed yesterday

Visited on a busy Sunday afternoon, 2 families (4 adults & 4 kids). We had booked for 4.30 and didn't leave until 7.30pm due to the slow service. The young waiter was very busy and tried his best, but it seems there just was not...More

Thank Anna85000
Reviewed 5 days ago

As we’re moving to the area I decided to visit The Ferry a couple of weeks ago. The food was great and the service attentive. I decided to bring my husband today to sample the delights of The Ferry. What a disappointment!! Firstly, the service...More

Thank PoppyParker
Reviewed 6 days ago via mobile

The menu and the location remain the most attractive elements. The food is good and the service is friendly, but a bit slow. The decor is getting a bit dated and needs some maintenance attention, but overall it offers good food at reasonable prices.

Thank Chris P
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Too busy with not enough servers. Drinks orders ignored or forgotten. Food sub standard especially the double cooked chips which were almost raw. Was better when it was a harvester!!!!!!

3  Thank Graham A
Reviewed 1 week ago

The Ferry used to be amazing, great food, great service however over the last year it really seems to have taken a turn for the worst. It’s now a gastro pub sorely lacking in any kind of identity. My partner and I both dined here...More

3  Thank Phil W
Reviewed 1 week ago

We went to Marlow to begin with and couldn't find a restaurant to suit all of our needs, So decided to go to the Ferry. I am so glad we did. the halloumi and chips and minted peas were delicious. The service couldn't be faulted.and...More

Thank Debbiekeith5
FerryAdmin, Manager at The Ferry, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

DebbieKeith5, Thank you very much for leaving us your feedback, It is greatly appreciated, and I am happy that you enjoyed your evening so much, It was a pleasure serving you all and we look forward to seeing you again soon, Kind Regards Jack

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We eat here regularly when dining out as a family. Today's meal deserves an extra mention because of the superb service that we got from JOHN and SAM. Both lovely, helpful lads with lovely smiles and a great attitude that contributed greatly to the enjoyment...More

Thank Mickigirl1310
FerryAdmin, Manager at The Ferry, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Mickigirl1310, Thank you very much for taking the time to leave us your review, We always welcome feedback from our guests on how their experience with us was and it is fantastic to see that you had such a great time on your last visit,...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We visited the Ferry with two friends recently for a late afternoon dinner. It was some years ago since we last went there and it has changed quite a lot. It was quiet ( a Monday ) but we were looked after well, the service...More

Thank paul s
FerryAdmin, Manager at The Ferry, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Paul s, Thank you very much for leaving us your review, We love our location and completely agree that it's a great place for lunch, It is great to see that your were impressed by our food and service and that you enjoyed your visit...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Cold...no fire burning...doors open for smokers, out of some food...poor service...sad half used pub .... this place has so much potential.....so many better pubs around. Surprise surprise the 2nd worst pub in the area is the King's arms.....same landlord/ chain!

Thank Ian B
FerryAdmin, Manager at The Ferry, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you for your feedback Ian B, It is a shame you feel so negatively about our pub, If you would like to discuss this in person please do not hesitate to get in touch on 01628525123 or pop in , Sincerely Jack Assistant Manager

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We came last night with our baby and the staff were so accommodating. Found us a cosy little corner with space for the basket (she's a very quiet little bean) and we settled in. Wine was GREAT, service was super friendly and attentive, we had...More

Thank BoBernard
FerryAdmin, Manager at The Ferry, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

BoBernard, Thank you very much for your review, It is great to see that you enjoyed yourselves so much and that our wine and food was up to the high quality we aim for, Having served you I can say it was a pleasure and...More

Nearby HotelsSee all Cookham Hotels
Moor Hall Conference Centre
128 reviews
.54 km away
Cliveden House
1,106 reviews
1.29 km away
Chequers Inn Hotel and Restaurant
132 reviews
1.88 km away
The Pines Hotel
60 reviews
3.14 km away
Nearby Restaurants
The White Oak
663 reviews
.80 km away
The Garibaldi
205 reviews
1.07 km away
Andre Garrett at Cliveden
458 reviews
1.29 km away
The Old Swan Uppers
168 reviews
.88 km away
Nearby Attractions
Stanley Spencer Gallery
131 reviews
.30 km away
National Trust Cliveden
790 reviews
1.32 km away
Keg Craft Beer
26 reviews
2.04 km away
Boulter's Lock and Ray Mill Island
257 reviews
3.22 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
17 January 2018|
AnswerShow all 7 answers
Response from leafpeeper-supreme | Reviewed this property |
Hello, No you do not need to book but there is only limited seating for people not eating, that is this time of year , in the summer ample seating for drinks only outside. Hope this helps. ---- bob
Simon C
26 August 2017|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from FerryAdmin | Property representative |
We do, Dogs are allowed in the bar area, and well behaved dogs are allowed in our downstairs Bar/Dining area. I hope this helps and we see you soon
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
  • Value
Average prices
US$8 - US$56
Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, After-hours
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi
Good for
Groups, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Business meetings, Child-friendly, View, Kids
Open Hours
12:00 PM - 9:30 PM
12:00 PM - 10:00 PM
12:00 PM - 10:00 PM
12:00 PM - 10:00 PM
12:00 PM - 10:00 PM
12:00 PM - 10:30 PM
12:00 PM - 10:30 PM
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Sutton Road, Cookham SL6 9SN, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Berkshire  >  Windsor and Maidenhead  >  Cookham
  • Phone Number: +44 1628 525123
An idyllic retreat set in beautiful country house-style surroundings, The Ferry serves a menu of gourmet European recipes. Trained in high-class cookery schools in Spain and Italy, the chefs bring a wealth of experience, and demonstrate knowledge of a breadth of classic and complex cooking techniques. Partnering with Rothschild wine merchants, guests can choose a bottle from the well-stocked cellar.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing