We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Blacksmiths Arms

Certificate of Excellence
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
Main Street, Naburn, York YO19 4PN, England
+44 1904 623464
Website
Today
12:00 - 20:30
Closed now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun 12:00 - 20:00
Mon - Sat 12:00 - 20:30
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

367 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 367: English reviews
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
385 reviews
143 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Along with a friend, we cycled along the York to Selby cyclepath, through Bishopthorpe and over the river and turned off to Naburn. It was a lovely sunny afternoon and the landlord? had just finished tidying up the beer garden. We fastened our cycles to the racks provided and went into the pub. This is a typical old fashioned village... More 

Helpful?
Thank Lindagreenacre
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 week ago NEW via mobile

We booked a table for Easter Sunday, a family of 4. On arrival, we were greeted by a very friendly chap who asked if we had been before, and explained how the Carvery worked. We asked about vegetarian options, and settled on a nut roast. The food in this establishment is of exceptional quality. The chef is very generous with... More 

Helpful?
Thank Loretta14
Uk
Level Contributor
172 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 week ago

In spite of a poor visit last time and a very offensive response to my honest review we returned for Sunday lunch . This pub is close to my mothers house so that is why we decided to give it another chance. This time we went earlier in the day and the food was fresh and hot. I had the... More 

Helpful?
Thank skiersuk
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
117 reviews
94 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We stop at the Naburn lock caravan park and have been for many years...we stopped here after a full energetic walk the four of us and stopped for lunch and so glad we did...the food was excellent the beer was superb and the staff were engaging and efficient...they must be new owners because very diffetent from last year were the... More 

Helpful?
Thank TrevK437
Selby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Decided to treat ourselves so thought The Blacksmiths is always nice Got there the carvery looked uninteresting and on feeling the veg which was cold thought maybe not. We both had a starter it was OK Won't be back. Talk about gone down hill. Terrible describes our visit

Helpful?
1 Thank JuP1954
michael n, General Manager at The Blacksmiths Arms, responded to this review

It helps sometimes if you arrive when the carvery is in service , not just before its over !!! as you may have noticed the bar was full of people enjoying our daily carvery ! and if you had tried to order it you would of been refused as it was already switched off ! maybe that was the reason... More 

York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

A Mother's Day visit to Naburn was booked to have Sunday Carvery at The Blacksmith's Arms. This was a recommendation from a relative. It was very busy, friendly staff, carvery delicious and meat cooked to perfection.

Helpful?
2 Thank johnwill2015
Yorkshire
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I couldn't believe my luck. I found this pub via internet when looking for somewhere suitable to eat that could accommodate not only a hungry York student, but a dog and someone who requires a special coeliac diet. I rang the pub the day before our visit and spoke to a very helpful young man. He explained about the coeliac... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank AvGYorkshire
UK
Level Contributor
44 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 March 2017

Go here for the Sunday carvery (with all the trimmings!) but make sure to book in advance because this place gets busy. Filled with locals and the staff seem to know most guests by name. It was worth the diversion on the way back South.

Helpful?
1 Thank Olivia S
Yorkshire
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 March 2017

Arrived having made no booking but no matter, the landlord was lovely and kept an eye out for an available table for us. The bar staff are friendly and welcoming. I'm not normally a fan of carvery but this was delicious - the roast beef melted in the mouth. Dogs are allowed too! Will definitely be back soon! :-)

Helpful?
1 Thank Falloffawall
Level Contributor
59 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 March 2017 via mobile

We visited here on a Saturday evening to celebrate my wife's birthday we were a party of 9 people. This is our local pub so we knew what to expect and we weren't disapointed , as we were a large party I had given the pub our order 2 days in advance to ensure that we wouldn't be disapointed by... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Andrew B

Travellers who viewed The Blacksmiths Arms also viewed

 
Bishopthorpe, York
Bishopthorpe, York
 
York, North Yorkshire
 

Been to The Blacksmiths Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Average prices
US$6 - US$19
Cuisine
Bar, British, Pub, Gluten Free Options, Vegetarian Friendly
Meals
Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, After-hours
Restaurant features
Takeout, Parking Available, Television, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Street Parking, Free Off-Street Parking, Full Bar, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi
Good for
Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Groups, Child-friendly, Bar Scene, Kids, Cheap Eats
Open Hours
Sunday
12:00 - 20:00
Monday
12:00 - 20:30
Tuesday
12:00 - 20:30
Wednesday
12:00 - 20:30
Thursday
12:00 - 20:30
Friday
12:00 - 20:30
Saturday
12:00 - 20:30
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Main Street, Naburn, York YO19 4PN, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Yorkshire  >  North Yorkshire  >  York  >  Naburn
  • Phone Number: +44 1904 623464
Description
Traditional Pub in the pretty riverside village of Naburn.Large Beer Garden for the Summer, Log Fire for the WinterReal Ales, Real Food - classic Pub Dishes all homemade.Family's, Push Bikes, Muddy Boots & Dogs Welcome!

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The Blacksmiths Arms staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?