We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Jolly Tars

154-158 Victoria Road West, Thornton Cleveleys FY5 3NE, England
+44 1253 856042
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent41%
  • Very good37%
  • Average11%
  • Poor4%
  • Terrible7%
Travellers talk about
“steak” (20 reviews)
“curry” (10 reviews)
Open Now
08:00 - 23:00All hours
CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
154-158 Victoria Road West, Thornton Cleveleys FY5 3NE, England
Write a Review
Reviews (351)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 351 reviews

A TripAdvisor Member
103
Reviewed 2 days ago via mobile

This pub is great for our large family breakfast get together Originally we all met on the Thursday night for curry but getting together has become a "bad habit" ha ha we now end up there at least 2/3 nights a week for dinner as...More

Thank A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 5 days ago

Best weathspoons in the area went he other night ordered by the app from our table so easy great service good food Alloway a good night one our party Evan come from frecleton thanks

Thank daxdog_11
Reviewed 1 week ago

came here for lunch , excellent panini with chicken , bacon and bbq sauce . fresh and airy feel to the place , much more comfortable than the nearby wethy .

Thank chris1953jr
TheJollyTars, General Manager at The Jolly Tars, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Always good to hear compliments! I will feed this back to my team on your behalf. Many thanks. Julie Rodgers

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Whilst I cannot fault this place regarding the friendliness of the staff and the decor etc. The drinks are good too... I was disappointed with the food. I had steak pudding with chips, peas and gravy. Whilst the pie was hot the chips were barely...More

1  Thank Steve R
TheJollyTars, General Manager at The Jolly Tars, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you for the feedback, we aim to reply to all comments negative and complimentary and fortunately for us most are the latter! I am not sure who dealt with you on this occasion, I do have a number of young staff who sometimes are...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

cracking value and even cheaper if you go on a Tuesday steak night---not quite up to the standard of the Trawl boat in St. Annes but still very enjoyable---Abbott ale on top form---service very good and fast.

Thank jeffhutchy
TheJollyTars, Public Relations Manager at The Jolly Tars, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank your for your comments, we are happy to hear that you enjoyed your visit and hope to see you back again very soon. Many Thanks James

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Usual large reasonably priced premises situated on Main Street. Seemed to be only place in town with large numbers and atmosphere. Give it a go.

Thank RoverMite
TheJollyTars, Public Relations Manager at The Jolly Tars, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank your for your comments, we are happy to hear that you enjoyed your visit and hope to see you back again very soon. Many Thanks James

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We have just come back from a lovely visit to the jolly Tars. We had a big table of 13 and we all ordered separately. I ordered using the new app which is superb my food and drinks came to the table so quickly even...More

Thank AmyEade86
TheJollyTars, Public Relations Manager at The Jolly Tars, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank your for your comments, we are happy to hear that you enjoyed your visit and hope to see you back again very soon. Many Thanks James

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

What a pleasant surprise,great interior,lovely exterior. smokers section .quick,and pleasant service,pay for one coffe,no charge for refill ,large portions of good fresh food,many seating tables,and lounge area,good choice of ales and wines

Thank jimbalmforh948
TheJollyTars, Public Relations Manager at The Jolly Tars, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank your for your comments, we are happy to hear that you enjoyed your visit and hope to see you back again very soon. Many Thanks James

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

table filthy had to ask someone to clean it.. Wrong tonic with Gin. Drinks sent to another table. Chicken ceaser salad tasteless thrown on dish awful garlic bread..... Well...... My digestive system would not appreciate.More

2  Thank nikkinails
TheJollyTars, General Manager at The Jolly Tars, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Sorry to hear about the visit you had, I would be interested to understand how your drinks got sent to another table and if you contact me at the pub I would be grateful and we can discuss further. Kind regards Julie Rodgers Pub Manager...More

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Ample seating, not overpriced and you order food and drink over the bar. Pub food at a reasonable price - no frills. Good.

Thank ENGLISH H
TheJollyTars, Public Relations Manager at The Jolly Tars, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank your for your comments, we are happy to hear that you enjoyed your visit and hope to see you back again very soon. Many Thanks James

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
The Gourmet Burger House
54 reviews
.04 km away
Thai Delicious
244 reviews
.07 km away
La Dolce Vita
143 reviews
.33 km away
Nearby Attractions
Cleveleys Front
422 reviews
.91 km away
Vue Cinema
96 reviews
.82 km away
Cleveleys Working Mens Club
13 reviews
.49 km away
Children’s Corner
17 reviews
.64 km away
Questions & AnswersAsk a question
Mandy R
Do you have a gluten free menu ?
10 April 2016|
Answer Show all 4 answers
Response from ChrisB60 | Reviewed this property |
The Jolly Tars caters for all types of food allergies which many places do not - I've a wheat & potato intolerance hence we go there quite often Enjoy your meal.
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Meals
Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Drinks
Restaurant features
Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Television, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi
Good for
Kids, Child-friendly, Groups, Bar Scene
Open Hours
Sunday
08:00 - 23:00
Monday
08:00 - 23:00
Tuesday
08:00 - 23:00
Wednesday
08:00 - 23:00
Thursday
08:00 - 23:00
Friday
08:00 - 23:00
Saturday
08:00 - 23:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 154-158 Victoria Road West, Thornton Cleveleys FY5 3NE, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Lancashire  >  Thornton Cleveleys
  • Phone Number: +44 1253 856042
  • E-mail
Description
The Jolly Tars is a warm and welcoming pub and is owned and operated by JDwetherspoon plc.

The current manager Julie Rodgers has extensive experience in the industry and is well known in trade and the local area.
The staff are friendly and polite and promote the ambiance reflecting from the stylish decor, it's almost like there's a corner to suit all tastes and moods. The pub is themed on the Performing group "The Jolly Tars" and contains artworks from reputable local artists.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing