We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Black Bull Inn

) #1 of 2 Restaurants in Lowick $$ - $$$ , British,
Black Bull Inn, Main street, Lowick, Berwick-upon-Tweed, Northumberland, TD15 2UA, England, Lowick TD15 2UA, England
+44 1289 388375
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent72%
  • Very good19%
  • Average9%
  • Poor0%
  • Terrible0%
Travellers talk about
Restaurant Hours
CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub, Vegetarian Friendly
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
LOCATION
Black Bull Inn, Main street, Lowick, Berwick-upon-Tweed, Northumberland, TD15 2UA, England, Lowick TD15 2UA, England
All Details
Write a Review
Reviews (41)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 41 reviews

Reviewed 3 days ago

Went for evening meal , nice smart pub restaurant , service excellent. Good food medium price range. I had 10oz sirloin steak , which was fairly good. My partner a vegetable tart with salad and chips , which she really enjoyed. Can recommend this pub...More

Thank Noel R
Reviewed 4 days ago via mobile

Extremely nice food, exceptional wine, very pleasant staff, and a very comfortable setting!! Well done guys, keep up the good work!! Thanks to Jennifer & Will!!

Thank Castle I
Reviewed 1 week ago

My husband & called in at The Black Bull today for lunch and were extremely impressed. The recent refurbishment has provided a lovely environment in which to enjoy a meal or even just a few drinks. The staff were all really friendly and the service...More

Thank Jill A
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

First visit here but will definitely be coming back, the food was fantastic extremely tasty and good value for money. I had the fish and chips and it was more like whale and chips !!. There was 9 of us eating and we were easily...More

Thank Millergirl_13
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We spent two nights at the Black Bull Inn, and chose to eat there both evenings. Both meals were excellent with interesting selections on the menu. There was a good choice for vegetarians as well. The quality and presentation of the meals were very good...More

Thank Marilyn716
BlackBull1817, Owner at The Black Bull Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Dear Guest, Thank you for choosing to stay with us and for taking the time to post this lovely review. Our team are really pleased to receive your comments about the service that they provide as too was our chef about the food. Thank you,...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

My partner and I recently spent a week in Northumberland. We visited the black bull on a number of occasions however as we had 2 dogs we weren't able to go inside. The cakes are lovely and we enjoyed a few drinks outside however felt...More

Thank SedsJo
BlackBull1817, Owner at The Black Bull Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Dear Guest, Thank you for your custom during your break we do appreciate it. We are pleased that you enjoyed your cakes and drinks and we are grateful for your kind comments about our team. We have a selection of relatively small dining rooms and...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

During our stay at a nearby holiday cottage we had two tasty meals here - I particularly enjoyed the fish. The inside of The Black Bull Inn has been beautifully finished, modern but still comfortable and relaxing. The staff were very friendly and very good...More

Thank Seaney71
BlackBull1817, Owner at The Black Bull Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to share your review. We are really pleased that you enjoyed your food and appreciate you choosing to dine with us whilst you were on your holiday. We hope to be able to welcome you again on...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We did eat at the Black Bull three years ago before the refurbishment, which was then an excellent meal. We just returned this week with being on holiday in Northumberland to find it has been refurbished and now has accomodation. The meals are fantastic, we...More

Thank merseyal
BlackBull1817, Manager at The Black Bull Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear Guest, Thank you very much for posting this glowing review. The kitchen team were thrilled to receive your praise and our guest services team(in particular Rebecca) were really grateful to receive your appreciative comments. It has been a long "labour of love" to bring...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We went for a family Sunday lunch. The starters were fine however the main course was poor - the vegetables appeared to be several days old and looked awful. The potatoes were roasted in garlic and had a horrible after taste. Two of us had...More

Thank MollyMorpeth
BlackBull1817, Owner at The Black Bull Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to post your review. We always use good quality and fresh ingredients but understand that the potatoes may not have been to your taste. We would always ask that issues are brought to our attention on the...More

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Stayed at a nearby holiday park and walked to the pub from there which took about half an hour. Nice proper old pub where you are made to feel welcome by the locals. The food we had was amazing on both evenings and reasonably priced....More

Thank Angiem265
BlackBull1817, Owner at The Black Bull Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you for taking the time to post your review. We (pub and locals) are delighted that enjoyed your experience with us and look forward to welcoming you again on your next visit to Northumberland

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
The Black Bull Inn
69 reviews
.38 km away
The Barn at Beal
844 reviews
6.33 km away
Cafe @ Marshalls
84 reviews
7.41 km away
Nearby Attractions
The White Swan Inn
14 reviews
.33 km away
Haggerston Riding Stables
37 reviews
4.92 km away
Andy Howeys Birds of Prey Centre
283 reviews
5.19 km away
Heatherslaw Light Railway
164 reviews
7.91 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
shelivan
16 April 2017|
Answer
Response from Norman Robert R | Reviewed this property |
Unfortunately not ... we had to leave ours in the car and keep popping out. Still worth it mind :)
1
Vote
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
Average prices
US$6 - US$45
Cuisine
Meals
Breakfast, Lunch, Drinks, Dinner, Brunch
Restaurant features
Waitstaff, Parking Available, Reservations, Free Off-Street Parking, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Wine and Beer, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments, Free Wifi, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Wheelchair Accessible
Good for
Groups, Romantic
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Black Bull Inn, Main street, Lowick, Berwick-upon-Tweed, Northumberland, TD15 2UA, England, Lowick TD15 2UA, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Northumberland  >  Lowick
  • Phone Number: +44 1289 388375
  • E-mail
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing