We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Reserve a table
2
Fri, 29/10
20:00

Ratings and reviews

RATINGS
Food
Service
Value
Atmosphere

Details

CUISINES
British, Pub
Special Diets
Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Lunch, Dinner
View all details
meals, features, about
Reviews (641)
Filter reviews
641 results
Traveller rating
144
150
114
113
120
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
Traveller rating
144
150
114
113
120
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Visiting the Willy Wicket Pub for less that two hours, 7 days after my visit I receive a Parking Charge Notice for being parked in the car park. At the bar ordering a drink member of staff did not advise or ask for registration of...car so they could alert me that unless it was given an £85.00 charge would turn up on my doorstep, I know there is signage on the door as I went back to check, but if you had the door held open for you, as this was the case, you would not see it, and as it was dark, did not see any other signage. I may be wrong, but do feel that is should be a responsibility for the staff members to alert you, and just kindly ask for your registration to assist you not getting this £85.00 charge !!!!! Really frustrated that a 1.5 hour visit for a quick drink as resulted in a glass of diet coke costing in excess of £87??? J JohnstoneMore

Date of visit: September 2021
Helpful?1  
General Manager A, Manager at The Willy Wicket Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you for leaving your feedback regarding the car park. This system has been in place since the beginning of the year. We have signs in the car park, at the entrance and on all tables an till points. I am sorry if you missed...More

Reviewed 13 September 2021

Atmosphere is good, busy. A little understaffed but attentive. the Sunday lunch was average not as good as it is promoted to be. I had the trio of roasts ( beef, turkey, pork } my daughter had the roast turkey, we independently judged it to...be 'allright', typically british understament. The menu indicated pork crackling, I got a blob of uncooked fat; there was supposed to be stuffing, it was nonexistant the vegetables were over- cooked.More

Date of visit: September 2021
Helpful?
General Manager A, Manager at The Willy Wicket Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 16 September 2021

Thank you for taking the time to leave your review. I am sorry that your meal was to the high standard that we strive for. I will speak this over with the kitchen team. I do hope you will visit again The Willy Wicket Team

Reviewed 27 July 2021 via mobile

I visited today and had some lovely food. I had the superfood salad which was really different and I added grilled halloumi, very nice. My husband had the duo of lamb which he loved. Relaxing restaurant and I loved that you can order at the...table. The service was fast, friendly and efficient.More

Date of visit: June 2021
Helpful?
Reviewed 21 July 2021 via mobile

Not too busy so felt covid safe. Service was a bit slow but friendly. Lots of options on the menu and fairly priced. Will happily return.

Date of visit: June 2021
Helpful?1  
General Manager A, Manager at The Willy Wicket Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2021

Thank you for taking the time to leave your review. We hope to see you again soon. The Willy Wicket Team

Reviewed 30 June 2021

We were a large group of over 50's, who booked four tables to accommodate us, as close together as was legally permitted due to COVID. Imagine our disappointment when we arrived. and were told that they had cancelled all but one of the tables, and...didn't bother to tell us, even though they had contact telephone numbers. In the end we had to go to the Harvester. The staff were extremely rude, and rest assured, we will NEVER set foot in Willy Wicket again. We are from a Facebook Group for the over 50's called GOLDIES, with thousands of members, all of whom will be told about this. We had eaten at the Willy Wicket twice before, but never ever again! Shocking lack of respect for it's customers. Shame on you!More

Date of visit: June 2021
Helpful?1  
General Manager A, Manager at The Willy Wicket Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2021

Thank you for getting in contact regarding your feedback. When you all initially booked it was requested for a table for 18. This could not be accommodated inside so we called and explained we could not accommodate you due to Covid restrictions but that you...More

Reviewed 14 June 2021 via mobile

Lovely food, terrible customer service….. The waitresses unfortunately were not at all welcoming, they just kept mumbling to us under their masks. They did not check to see if our meal was ok, they just plonked it on the table, no salt and pepper, no...tissues, no cutlery… then we wanted dessert but nobody came after 25 minutes so we paid the bill and left. Such a shame as this is a beautiful pub with a lovely outdoor area, it would have been a better experience to have friendlier staff as we didn’t feel wanted at all.More

Date of visit: May 2021
Helpful?
General Manager A, Manager at The Willy Wicket Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 15 June 2021

Hi 625jadeb, thank you for taking the time to let us know about your recent experience. We are disappointed to hear that you are not satisfied with your visit this time. This is not the high standard that we strive to deliver and I will...More

Reviewed 30 May 2021 via mobile

Wow what can i say,first night out for a meal tonight so nice to be greeted and felt welcome,food and service was excellent, manager even took time to come and talk to us,highly recommended

Date of visit: May 2021
Helpful?
General Manager A, Manager at The Willy Wicket Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2021

Sophierose08, we are so pleased you enjoyed your visit to The Willy Wicket! Thank you again for the great review!

Reviewed 29 May 2021

Part of Vintage Inns group whose pub near Barnstaple we have used. This one doesn't have great views of the sea like there ( just a noisy ring road ), but the service was better and a lot more friendly and cheerful and efficient. Decent...pub grub in a nice atmosphere and well kept "Doom Bar" - worth a stopoff definitely.More

Date of visit: May 2021
Helpful?
General Manager A, Manager at The Willy Wicket Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 31 May 2021

Mt48, we're happy you found our staff to be so supportive during your experience here at The Willy Wicket. Thank you again for letting our team know how we did! We look forward to helping again in the future. Take care!

Reviewed 22 May 2021

Visited here tonight and was not disappointed. Excellent food and service. Our waitress was a very friendly young lady with red hair (didn't catch her name) but she was excellent, quick to come and deliver drink orders and checking with us everything was ok. Food...was amazing from start to finish and would definitely recommend this charming place.More

Date of visit: May 2021
Helpful?
General Manager A, Manager at The Willy Wicket Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 26 May 2021

Hi Thank yo for your lovely review. We are so pleased to hear how you enjoyed your visit. I will pass on your compliments to Shannon and the chefs. We really hope to see you soon. The Willy Wicket team

Reviewed 19 May 2021

Our first visit to a pub in very nearly 7 months and it was a quick visit to, what we see as, the best pub that we can comfortably walk to, and even then it is a good 20 minutes’ walk. A general moan: it...is astonishing that here in the town of Emersons Green, in the midst of two huge residential developments approaching a total of 6,000 homes, that we only have 2 pubs (and I would add, a further 3 licensed restaurants plus 3 cafés) within the town boundaries. From where we live it takes between 5 and 25 minutes to walk to the town boundaries, so it is quite a large area (apparently 177 hectares). Sadly, we like others (judging by the lack of patronage) do not particularly care for either pub. One is a chain pub offering cheap fare, and the other is a privately owned pub generating it’s primary income from hotel accommodation and carvery lunch-meals, elsewise it’s basically a rather down-market men’s drinking hole. There are a further 6 pubs, within 20-30 minutes’ walk, on the boundaries with other towns like Mangotsfield and Downend/Bromley Heath. The Willy Wicket is a pleasant pub bordering Bromley Heath, with a tastefully furnished and spacious bar within. The pub also offers outside seating in what is a large front garden, that itself is fronted by a substantial carparking area. The bar and restaurant areas are invariably clean and service has been, in the past, mostly adequately pleasant. We scanned-in for COVID tracking and headed through the door into the bar area. There was a lectern placed about 2mtrs in front of the entrance. We do not recall whether there was instructional signage displaying “wait to be seated”, we may have missed it but it did not attract our attention. We surveyed the nearby unoccupied tables for one that offered us comfort in a preferred position, and took a step towards the one we fancied. From the rather unexpected and unnecessarily brusque address from the (I presume) female bar manager, shouted across the bar, so I guess that there must have been a sign. It was very early evening (probably about 17:00) and the bar only had 2-3 couples seated at tables, and we were made to feel a bit like trespassers. Surely our misdemeanour (if that was what it was) would have been better dealt with by a quiet word like “Sorry, but would you mind waiting and I will find you a table” and, to boot, delivered with a reassuring smile (also conspicuous by absence). Once seated we were then provided service at the table; in line with the signage outside the entrance. We ordered a large glass of Sauvignon Blanc each, in the absence of an offer of a drinks menu. It was Chilean and we believe we have had the same brand of wine during a previous visit. Again the ‘bar manager’ again found it necessary to shout from the bar (probably 3-4 metres away) rather than coming to our table to offer a bottle, at £15.50, as it represented better value than the cost of two 250ml glasses. We agreed to the order the bottle having concurred that it was good value. One wine glass had to be exchanged as it was not at all clean; bearing remnants of a lipstick/lip-gloss (COVID hazard 1). We sat in the comfortable seating, chatted and drank our wine which was pleasant; I wouldn’t say it was particularly great wine, but it was refreshing. We were glad to be in a pub and enjoying, what was, a very welcome change of scene. The pub began to fill with more clientele and I noticed that a chap in his mid-20’s, rather tall, adorned with a confusion of tattoos and dressed in paint splattered t-shirt and trousers, was walking about the bar area taking off a top layer of paint splattered clothing. Unlike everyone else he alone was not wearing a face mask: those clientele already seated (some easily within 2mtrs of this chap) were also free of face masks! Yet the chap was not challenged in any way! (COVID hazard 2). Fortunately, he didn’t come near to us, had he done so, I would have challenged him. What do people not ‘get’ about COVID infection control? We finished our wine and despite the rather industrial service we departed feeling better for the experience of being in a pub, but not particularly impressed with the service or standard of management. We would observe that the duty publican did not act like ‘mine-host’ and that is especially important in what is very much a service industry in crisis.More

Date of visit: May 2021
Helpful?1  
General Manager A, Manager at The Willy Wicket Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 26 May 2021

Thank you for taking the time to leave such a detailed review. I am sorry if our large "please wait here to be seated" sign on our easel is not large enough to be seen. We have attempted to put it in a very prominent...More

View more reviews
Best nearby
Best nearby hotelsSee all
Premier Inn Bristol East (Emersons Green) hotel
984 reviews
.99 km away
Holiday Inn Bristol - Filton, An IHG Hotel
1,559 reviews
3.30 km away
Mercure Bristol North The Grange Hotel
1,041 reviews
4.50 km away
Holiday Inn Express Bristol - Filton, an IHG hotel
984 reviews
4.57 km away
Best nearby restaurantsSee all
The Mill House
258 reviews
1.59 km away
The Folly
539 reviews
.78 km away
The Golden Heart
785 reviews
.93 km away
The Fishing Boat
31 reviews
1.54 km away
Best nearby attractionsSee all
Viaduct Animal Sanctuary
29 reviews
1.77 km away
Frenchay Village Museum
11 reviews
2.87 km away
Pirate Bay Adventure Golf
97 reviews
2.90 km away
The Rising Sun
36 reviews
3.26 km away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from The Willy Wicket Inn staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Submit
Posting guidelines
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about The Willy Wicket Inn

The Willy Wicket Inn is rated accordingly in the following categories by Tripadvisor travellers:
  • Food: 3
  • Service: 3.5
  • Value: 3
  • Atmosphere: 3.5