We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Black Swan

Lloyds Head | Jackfield, Jackfield, Ironbridge Gorge TF8 7LZ, England
+44 1952 882471
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
  • Excellent62%
  • Very good28%
  • Average6%
  • Poor2%
  • Terrible2%
Travellers talk about
“mash” (9 reviews)
“lasagne” (6 reviews)
“ribs” (7 reviews)
Restaurant Hours
Bar, British, Pub, Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
$$ - $$$
Lloyds Head | Jackfield, Jackfield, Ironbridge Gorge TF8 7LZ, England
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (284)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year

1 - 10 of 283 reviews

Reviewed 5 days ago via mobile

This lovely pub near the river was recommended by friends. The staff and locals were all very friendly. Good choice of food on the menu. Good portions. Atmosphere exceptional while watching 6 nations rugby games. Lots of good banter between locals and visitors. Will be...More

Thank Lesleyglyn
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Family get together in this pub/restaurant. Chose this place for the fact that this pub is very dog friendly and we have 3 of them. Steaks were great and cooked as ordered. Fish was really sweet and fresh. Veggie special of spinach ricotta cannelloni was...More

1  Thank harrykee
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Atmosphere in the pub was inviting the beer was well kept and enjoyable, the food was extremely good in portions as well as taste. Many of the locals were in attendance and made us extremely welcome, especially if you like dogs

1  Thank Trevor H
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

This pub is great. It does good no fuss pub grub really well. The food is home cooked, we ate three meals here and all were good. We also used this pub for drinking and was made very welcome by all the staff. We were...More

2  Thank Elaine L
Reviewed 14 February 2018 via mobile

My daughter and I popped in for a quick drink whilst on holiday and ended up booking a table for dinner the following night. The staff and locals were welcoming, the service was quick and efficient and the food came quickly, was well presented and...More

1  Thank Haydonbrown
Reviewed 11 February 2018

Really nice pub, just popped for lunch and so glad we did . Menu is great, a good variety of different foods to suit all tastes, staff where friendly and helpful . We will come back here again.

1  Thank jane p
Reviewed 19 January 2018 via mobile

Been several times before. Always had a good meal. I lovely old-fashioned homely pub at reasonably priced food. Haven’t been disappointed yet this time my husband had liver Bacon and onions I had a curry which was ample and very tasty, plenty of chicken will...More

1  Thank susan m
Reviewed 2 January 2018 via mobile

Visited this pub twice during a 3 night stay in this area, and had a good meal on both occasions. Would recommend.

1  Thank Ian L
Reviewed 30 December 2017 via mobile

Fantastic food. Lovely atmosphere. Wood burning stove. Dog friendly. Vegetarian friendly. Would highly recommend. Thank you for a lovely visit! From the Abernethys with the Labradoodles

Thank Stormpasture
Reviewed 15 December 2017 via mobile

The waiter was very enthusiastic and the Sunday lunch was generous. The problem was that the beef was cold. Also, they don’t do a children’s portion. I wouldn’t rush back.

1  Thank Caustonator
1teresaG, Manager at The Black Swan, responded to this reviewResponded 18 December 2017

Thank you your review. BUT you really should check you have the right pub before you complain about it. We DO not sell Sunday dinners. We don't have waiters.. So, if you could please deleat this review . Thank you. Have a lovely Christmas. Teresa.

Nearby HotelsSee all Jackfield Hotels
The Tontine Hotel
161 reviews
1.18 km away
Telford Hotel & Golf Resort
1,415 reviews
1.29 km away
The Swan hotel smoke and taphouse
76 reviews
1.63 km away
The Lion Hotel
25 reviews
1.64 km away
Nearby Restaurants
212 reviews
1.02 km away
Half Moon
296 reviews
.74 km away
Maws Vintage Tearoom
48 reviews
.89 km away
Nearby Attractions
Maws Craft Centre
58 reviews
.86 km away
Blists Hill Victorian Town
3,133 reviews
1.18 km away
The Iron Bridge and Tollhouse
1,377 reviews
1.18 km away
Ironbridge Gorge Museums
719 reviews
1.21 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
9 June 2016|
Response from Russell E |
I don't believe they do unfortunately. Think they open for drinks for a couple of hours but that's it.
24 May 2015|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from peter l | Reviewed this property |
Sorry no idea
9 March 2015|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from 777charlieD64 | Reviewed this property |
No i think it stops about 4pm.
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
  • Value
Average prices
Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, After-hours, Drinks
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Television, Highchairs Available, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Wheelchair Accessible, Free Wifi
Good for
Bar Scene, View, Groups, Kids, Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Lloyds Head | Jackfield, Jackfield, Ironbridge Gorge TF8 7LZ, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Shropshire  >  Ironbridge Gorge  >  Jackfield
  • Phone Number: +44 1952 882471
We are a friendly run family pub. Where a warm welcome awaits you every time. You can sit outside on the patio or sit over looking the river Severn . Enjoying a nice ice cold drink or have a meal, looking out for the kingfishers or the otters. In the winter, you can enjoy a meal inside feeling the warmth of our log burner. Or just enjoy a drink. Soaking up the friendly atmosphere. Sit at the bar and have a nice chat with our friendly locals. We are a dog friendly pub. There are water bowls outside, for our four legged friends. We also serve a variety of teas, coffees, lattes, fruit teas, hot chocolate etc. There is a special board, which is changed throughout the year. With a large selection of vegetarian options.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing