We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Shaky Bridge Wines & Bistro

$$ - $$$
European, Wine Bar, Gastropub, Gluten Free Options
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
65 Graveyard Gully Road, Alexandra 9320, New Zealand
+64 3-448 5111
Website
Monday
Closed
Hours:
Sun 12:00 - 17:00
Wed - Sat 12:00 - 21:00
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

96 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 93: English reviews
Auckland, New Zealand
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed yesterday NEW

My parents took my Sister and I out to dinner at the Shaky Bridge Wines & Bistro. Absolutely wonderful authentic French Cuisine and great friendly service. Highly recommend considering them as an option for Dinner.

Helpful?
Thank Pigroot
Level Contributor
94 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 days ago NEW via mobile

We definitely enjoyed this restaurant and inside is like a little museum which is great. The setting and atmosphere are great but the menu has a lot of meat and only one fish and one vegetarian option. The food was very good and service was very friendly, also enjoyed the local wines (but unfortunately can't do tastings as the bistro... More 

Helpful?
Thank Andrea v
Ely M, General Manager at Shaky Bridge Wines & Bistro, responded to this review

Hi Andrea, thank you for your review. We are happy that you enjoyed your dinner with us. About the menu, it is true that we have only one fish on the menu, however, we have 7 different vegetarian options such as the mushroom risotto, vegetarian bruschetta, roquefort tagliatelle or the goat cheese salad... We are sorry you didn't find exactly... More 

Level Contributor
33 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 days ago NEW via mobile

Good meal - genuine French cooking. We had the mushroom risotto and duck and both were lovely. Good service and reasonable prices. Worth crossing the Shaky Bridge. Closed Mons and Tues (website needs amending btw)

Helpful?
Thank olddht
Dunedin, New Zealand
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago

We met two of the staff at the Cromwell Sunday Market selling glorious french cheeses. We heard they were now operating from the Shaky Bridge Restaurant which we had been to many years ago. We booked lunch and seated ourselves at an outside table under the trees. The menu did not disappoint, typical french lunch options, we chose platters one... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank piripiballard
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
18 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Take some time out to cross the Shaky Bridge and have lunch here. Good variety, reasonable prices, nice outlook.

Helpful?
Thank waiheke10
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
93 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We had booked and were greeted like old friends. Great service throughout the evening. Lovely French atmosphere. Food superb. I had duck and my husband pork. Both delicious as was the Caprese Salad. We plan to go again soon.

Helpful?
Thank AntipodeanFrankie
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Venue is a bit shabby and so was the service. Our waitress delivered drinks order to another table that arrived well after us. She also did not offer us a food menu despite them clearly serving food. Oh and every other table was served chilled water but we weren't. Our unlucky day?

Helpful?
Thank MikeCurtis69
Level Contributor
170 reviews
125 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 January 2017

Pros Lovely outdoor setting for lunch. Excellent platters - honeycomb and cheese was delicious Good chance to try their wines. Friendly efficient service. Cons Insects on the legs were rampant during lunch so bring the repellent.

Helpful?
Thank Terry K
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 January 2017

We ate here for dinner and lunch because it was so good. th efood was simple but fresh and delicious. The waiting staff were lovely. A perfect place to go after a long day on a bike trail.

Helpful?
Thank mlevankan
Winton, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 January 2017

Absolutely beautiful views. Service was extremely quick, helpful and very accommodating. Wines were awesome and so was the food. Had platters to share and gave the kids something off the children's menu (which they also loved). Would definitely recommend.

Helpful?
Thank beg98

Travellers who viewed Shaky Bridge Wines & Bistro also viewed

 
Alexandra, Central Otago
Alexandra, Central Otago
 

Been to Shaky Bridge Wines & Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    4 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Average prices
US$11 - US$21
Cuisine
European, Wine Bar, Gastropub, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Drinks, Lunch, Dinner, Brunch
Restaurant features
Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Free Off-Street Parking, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Wine and Beer, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments, Free Wifi, Reservations, Highchairs Available
Good for
Romantic, Child-friendly, Local cuisine
Open Hours
Sunday
12:00 - 17:00
Wednesday
12:00 - 21:00
Thursday
12:00 - 21:00
Friday
12:00 - 21:00
Saturday
12:00 - 21:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 65 Graveyard Gully Road, Alexandra 9320, New Zealand
  • Location: South Pacific  >  New Zealand  >  South Island  >  Otago Region  >  Central Otago  >  Alexandra
  • Phone Number: +64 3-448 5111
Description
Situated over the Shaky Bridge that crosses the Manuherikia River, Shaky Bridge Wines & Bistro is a relaxing 10 minute walk from the Alexandra I-Site and the central part of town. Follow the river track or walk along Tarbert St until you see the signs for the Shaky Bridge. If driving, follow Tarbert St to Little Valley Road where you will see our sign. Shaky Bridge Wines & Bistro is the Cellar Door and tasting room for our Alexandra based winery, as well as offering exceptional coffee and a variety of food options. Enjoy a platter of cheese and other local products as you taste through several Shaky Bridge wines, from Pinot Noir, Pinot Gris, Rose, Gewürztraminer, Riesling and Chardonnay. Our Bistro style menu offers high quality food options and exceptional service. Visit our Cellar Door retail store to take your favourite wines home with you. Located directly under Alexandra's infamous 'Clock on the hill', Shaky Bridge Wines & Bistro is easy to find and well worth your walk!

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of Shaky Bridge Wines & Bistro and other visitors
1 question
Ask a question
Wanaka, New Zealand

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Shaky Bridge Wines & Bistro staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?