We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Middle Brighton Baths Cafe

$$ - $$$
Cafe, Australian, Contemporary, Gluten Free Options, Vegetarian Friendly
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
251a Esplanade, Brighton, Bayside, Victoria 3186, Australia
+61 3 9539 7002
Website
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

170 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 170: English reviews
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
75 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We just had some afternoon tea here so we ordered a few snacks such as bread with hommus and wedges with some milkshakes. The service was good and the views were great. Wedges were pretty small though for about $10.

Helpful?
Thank dulicieux
TheBaths1, Manager at Middle Brighton Baths Cafe, responded to this review

Dear Dulicieux, Thank-you for taking the time to leave a review. We work really hard to offer the best of service and food in the best environment, so we are glad to see that reflected on your last visit. It is through feedback like yours that we can improve, where required. We hope to see you soon again. Regards, The... More 

Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2017 via mobile

OMG! Cafe was less than 1/3 full and drink orders were not processed. New waiting staff did not know the menu. Don't order the pot lamb pie, it has no lamb. Basically it is a vegetable shepherd pie with sweet potato mash. It apparently had lamb mince somewhere! $ 27 mind you, Suitable for a 5 year old or elderley... More 

Helpful?
Thank Tania K
TheBaths1, Manager at Middle Brighton Baths Cafe, responded to this review

Dear Tania K, Thank-you for taking the time to leave a review. We believe that every single person who walks through the door should have an unforgettable and an enjoyable experience with us. It is only through feedback like yours that we are able to maintain or if necessary improve on our food for our valued guests. If you come... More 

Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
97 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2017 via mobile

Booked via Dimmi app which was confirmed,but when entering restaurant were told by front of house guy there was no reservation. Wasted 5 minutes trying to convince him we had confirmation until another waiter intervened and asked us to follow her to our table. Not a good start. Food was OK,but overpriced,zucchini flowers stuffed with non descript cheese filling with... More 

Helpful?
Thank gsebire
TheBaths1, Manager at Middle Brighton Baths Cafe, responded to this review

Dear gsebire, Thank-you for taking the time to leave a review. We apologise about the confusion upon your arrival. We use the freshest and best quality ingredients and hence why the price. We are glad that you loved the views as much as we do. We hope to see you again in Summer. Regards, The Baths Management Team More 

Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
107 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 March 2017 via mobile

After a beautiful morning walk, I decided to treat myself to a quick breakfast. The location is good and views are worth a mention, but the food is very poor. I ordered the Eggs Benedict and a cappuccino. The Eggs Benedict arrived long before the coffee. The meal itself was such a disappointment- one bit of burnt, hard, inedible toast,... More 

Helpful?
Thank BaliY
TheBaths1, Manager at Middle Brighton Baths Cafe, responded to this review

Dear BaliY, Thank-you for taking the time to leave a review. We believe that every single customer who walks through the door should have an unforgettable and an enjoyable experience to accompany the views. We apologise that the food and coffee did not meet your expectations but it is only through feedback like yours that we are able to improve... More 

Level Contributor
32 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 March 2017 via mobile

Great place to look chat and relax. Caught up with family and was happily look after by great staff. Food was great drinks cold and often.

Helpful?
Thank Alastair T
TheBaths1, Manager at Middle Brighton Baths Cafe, responded to this review

Dear Aussie Traveler, Thank-you for taking the time to leave a review. We work really hard to offer the best of service and food in the best environment, so I am glad to see that reflected on your last visit. We hope to see you soon again. Regards, The Baths Management Team More 

Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2017 via mobile

Thought we would give this place a second chance, but 2 years later this place has disappointed us once again. A fabulous location with very, very average food that was highly priced for what we got. The freshly squeezed juices were small and expensive for their size. The avocado smash lacked enough avocado to cover the toast. The coconut panacotta... More 

Helpful?
Thank Michelle W
TheBaths1, Manager at Middle Brighton Baths Cafe, responded to this review

Dear Michelle W, Thank-you for taking the time to leave a review. We believe that every single person who walks through the door should have an unforgettable and an enjoyable experience with us. It is only through feedback like yours that we are able to maintain or if necessary improve on our food and drinks for our valued guests. We... More 

Brighton, Australia
Level Contributor
65 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2017

The location makes you dream but the result is disappointing. The menu is not very original, especially if you want a healthy food. The decor is lovely and the view is interesting on the bay and the port of Brighton, apart from that the restaurant is of limited interest. I recommend the bath for a drink or a coffee but... More 

Helpful?
Thank GUILLAUME D
TheBaths1, Manager at Middle Brighton Baths Cafe, responded to this review

Dear Guillaume D, Thank-you for taking the time to leave a review. We are disappointed to see that we did not meet your expectations. It is through feedback like yours that we can improve on our food for our valued customers. We do a have a selection of healthy dishes as we offer a range of different types of salads... More 

Level Contributor
54 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 February 2017 via mobile

Short trip out to Brighton from the city. The traffic was horrendous & finding a car park on a very beautiful Saturday was a challenge. Pleased to be seated in a lovely breezy area in the top storey restaurant. Service, food & prices were fair. Views out over the bay and back toward the Melbourne city skyline. A lovely spot... More 

Helpful?
Thank Elizabeth A
TheBaths1, Manager at Middle Brighton Baths Cafe, responded to this review

Dear Elizabeth A, Thank-you for taking the time to write such a lovely review. We are pleased to read that you had a great time with us. We work really hard to offer the best of service and food in the best environment, so we are glad to see that reflected on your last visit. We hope to see you... More 

2 reviews
Reviewed 11 February 2017 via mobile

Great location. Particularly friendly staff. We had a baby and were made very welcome with pram. Great afternoon tea.

Helpful?
Thank Fiona L
TheBaths1, Manager at Middle Brighton Baths Cafe, responded to this review

Dear Fiona L, Thank-you for taking the time to leave a review. We are pleased to read that you had a great time with us. We work really hard to offer the best of service and food in the best environment especially for kids, so we are glad to see that reflected on your last visit. We hope to see... More 

Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
123 reviews
83 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 February 2017 via mobile

Great location by the sea with a view over the bay to Melbourne city. Bit windy outside but that can be refreshing on a hot day but it meant pouring drinks had to be done with some care. Prawns on the seafood platter let the meal down greatly. The lemon pepper calamari was good but would have been better if... More 

Helpful?
Thank Anthony S
TheBaths1, Manager at Middle Brighton Baths Cafe, responded to this review

Dear Anthony S, Thank-you for taking the time to write a review. We work really hard to offer the best food and we apologise that it did not meet your expectations on that day. It is through feedback like yours that we are able to improve on our food for our valued customers. We hope to see you again in... More 

Travellers who viewed Middle Brighton Baths Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Middle Brighton Baths Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$16 - US$24
Cuisine
Cafe, Australian, Contemporary, Gluten Free Options, Vegetarian Friendly
Meals
Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar
Good for
Groups, View, Child-friendly
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 251a Esplanade, Brighton, Bayside, Victoria 3186, Australia
  • Location: South Pacific  >  Australia  >  Victoria  >  Greater Melbourne  >  Bayside  >  Brighton
  • Phone Number: +61 3 9539 7002

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Middle Brighton Baths Cafe staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?