We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Horse and Farrier

) #2 of 2 Restaurants in Threlkeld $$ - $$$ , British,
Main Street, Threlkeld, Keswick, England
+44 17687 79688
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent53%
  • Very good24%
  • Average13%
  • Poor4%
  • Terrible6%
Travellers talk about
Restaurant Hours
CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
Main Street, Threlkeld, Keswick, England
All Details
Write a Review
Reviews (249)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 248 reviews

Reviewed yesterday via mobile

Two of us visited this pub with our dog. All made to feel welcome. I booked online in the morning as the weather was horrible and we felt eating would be more enjoyable than walking. I had braised lamb with chive mash and vegetables, my...More

Thank SarahWB2013
Reviewed 3 days ago

Our visit to the Horse and Farrier was very enjoyable. Camping nearby, and running late due to a road closure, the staff were both very professional, welcoming and accomodating - taking an order for a large group of seven people just as the kitchen was...More

Thank ColinLiptrot
Reviewed 1 week ago

on 15 7 17 my wife and I called at the h+f we had good choice of cask ale and wine while we looked at the menu quite a choice we settled for the brazed shoulder of lamb when it came to us it looked...More

Thank easthamphillip
Reviewed 1 week ago

We met some friends here for lunch. they had their dog and we had our two so we thought we would eat in the garden. Only to be told in the firmest of terms that we could not have a tab if we were sitting...More

Thank Simon E
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Myself and 2 friends decided to have a meal out and this pub was recommended. When we got there we were given a table next to the bar which would have been very busy. I refused and was immediately given another table further into the...More

Thank Doreen8
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Knowing we wanted comfortable surroundings and a good meal, there was no hesitation to pull off the A66 Penrith - Keswick road into Threlkeld, walk to the bar of The Horse and Farrier. The welcome was warm as expected and the table booked. The rest...More

Thank Norman W
Reviewed 13 June 2017

Now 5.30 booked for 6.30 , just to be told they cannot take us tonight for dinner . Even though we have eaten there before on Saturday and Sunday lunch . Appreciate that we have 5 golden retrievers ,but they were told that upon booking...More

4  Thank tailspinHalesowen
Reviewed 12 June 2017

I visited this lovely old hostelry with my son in May and stayed for 3 nights . The rooms and en suites are on the small side but perfectly adequate. The pub is the heart of this lovely Cumbrian Village and ideally located for Blencathra...More

Thank Graham D
Reviewed 11 June 2017 via mobile

Like the title says, outstanding in every respect. Located just outside Keswick at the foot of the mighty Blencathra as a stunning backdrop for this fantastic pub serving outstanding quality food that is very well presented and not skimping on portion size. An excellent price,...More

Thank Jim_Oxford
Reviewed 9 June 2017

Lovely old pub with a very welcoming atmosphere. The meal and service was excellent. I had belly pork with white and black pudding and mash, the meal was delicious. My husband had haddock, mushy peas and chips and it was also delicious. Unfortunately we were...More

1  Thank ChristinaRoseW
Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
Threlkeld Coffee Shop
146 reviews
.26 km away
White Horse Inn
189 reviews
2.56 km away
Horse & Farrier Inn
421 reviews
.02 km away
Nearby Attractions
St John's in the Vale
5 reviews
.45 km away
Castlerigg
98 reviews
3.58 km away
Derwentwater
2,104 reviews
5.84 km away
Castlerigg Stone Circle
905 reviews
3.58 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
scowy68
22 February 2017|
AnswerShow all 4 answers
Response from Jonathan R | Reviewed this property |
Wouldn't walk it after dark, great walk in the summer months takes me just under an hour. Taxis varies on time. I can get a taxi to Keswick at 7pm for around £10 and that was a 6 seater. But then at 1-2am it's about £13-15.
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Meals
Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, After-hours
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi
Good for
Kids, Special Occasion Dining, Child-friendly, Local cuisine, Groups, Romantic
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Main Street, Threlkeld, Keswick, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Cumbria  >  Lake District  >  Keswick  >  Threlkeld
  • Phone Number: +44 17687 79688
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing