We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Road trip from CA to RI- lots of Qs- Help !:)

9 posts
Save Topic
Road trip from CA to RI- lots of Qs- Help !:)

Hi all,

I am planning an epic return to the east coast road trip with my father. I will have my Honda loaded down with my belongings as I am a travel therapist returning from West coast back to East coast for a job.

A few things:

My Dad is 60 and although is looking forward to the trip, is not a HUGE “sightsee-er.” He’ll indulge me, but he’s not about to go traipsing through the city for adventures.

He also is not a big hiker, but we both want to see some National park sites.

I’d like to ideally take 10 days- 2 weeks but no more for this trip!

General plan and itinerary are as follows:

6/16: I leave Santa Barbara, CA. Drive up to see Big Sur (which I have to go North and then go south again due to road closures). Stay in Santa Cruz.

6/17: Drive to San Fran and pick him up. Plan to eat lunch, explore, take a Bay cruise. Drive to Santa Rosa for the night.

3. Drive north through Avenue of the Giants, see the Redwoods, etc.

4. Portland, OR

5. Seattle, WA

6. Onto and through some of Montana

7. Yellowstone

8. South Dakota- Mount Rushmore, Crazy Horse, Badlands

9. Minnesota?

10. Chicago!

From there it’s really smooth sailing back to RI.

My questions for the group: any must sees on the route? any suggestions for towns or places to stay? Beyond my first two nights I don’t have any accommodations booked, because I don’t know where we’ll end up.

Also, in terms of National Parks- considering we are going to see some Yellowstone, some Badlands- is it worth it to get the America the Beautiful pass? Or just pay the entrance fees at each one?

Any, all help and advice appreciated! I’m excited to see even more of our beautiful country!!!!