We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

DRIVING: Vancouver, BC to New York, NY

Level Contributor
15 posts
Save Topic
DRIVING: Vancouver, BC to New York, NY

Hello All.

Planning to drive from Vancouver, BC to New York next week, and looking to get through the drive as fast as possible - however, I'd definitely like to make it enjoyable and as scenic as possible. I'm also a Photographer, so some interesting areas to enjoy a few snapshots would be aces.

I'm looking to get through the drive within 4 days. I haven't been through any most of the areas that are on route (Montana, North Dakota, Illinois, Ohio, etc) So, I'm not sure what stops are best and what stops/cities I should steer clear from! Your knowledge and help is much needed and appreciated!

Cities to stop, rest, hotels (those more important), but also restaurants, photogenic spots etc!

Thanks in advance!

10 replies to this topic
Tacoma, Washington
Destination Expert
for Road Trips
Level Contributor
11,013 posts
1 review
Save Reply
1. Re: DRIVING: Vancouver, BC to New York, NY

You will have no time to see anything other than whats outside the car windows.

Youd drive 90 and 80

Day 1 to missoula or butte

Day 2 to rapid city

Day 3 to chicago

Day 4 to nyc

Bloomington, Indiana
Destination Expert
for Bloomington
Level Contributor
9,295 posts
22 reviews
Save Reply
2. Re: DRIVING: Vancouver, BC to New York, NY