We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Mini Trip Report - South Coast

High Wycombe...
Level Contributor
149 posts
4 reviews
Mini Trip Report - South Coast

I've never written a trip report before but because I've raised a negative point about Barbados in another thread and also because it may help other visitors, I thought I'd do a little write up of what we did and would recommend to others. It's not in chronological order because we've visited Barbados over 40 times now and have seen a lot of the country on other visits and this was a relaxing holiday with plenty of days at the poolside and some meals at the hotel but highlights things that I'd recommend or advise.

Our Virgin plane from London Gatwick was delayed by a couple of hours due to a technical issue. We actually saw the plane being towed away from the stand which triggered concern from some passengers about the flight being cancelled but as soon as the airline reassured passengers that the flight would definitely be leaving, calm was restored. The flight itself was fine (economy), it actually flew by (helped by a couple of wines!). As we left late, we arrived slightly later than usual at 5ish so we got through customs pretty quickly. Luggage came through quickly and we joined the usual queue to get through customs. Red caps were taking people through in a separate lane but it was causing confusion with other passengers following them.

We've always had a hire car that we've picked up from the airport but after the long journey and because of advice I've read on here, I'd arranged for the car to be delivered to the hotel the next day. This was a great decision as it saved hanging around in the heat filling out paperwork. The taxi was a fixed price of 31 BBD to the Southern Palms, a hotel we've stayed at for the last 15 or so years.