We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

3 Days Lake District and Hadrian's Wall

3 posts
Save Topic
3 Days Lake District and Hadrian's Wall

Hi,

I am studying in London and would like to take a long weekend trip (three full days) up to see Hadrian's wall and spend some time hiking in the Lake District. I realize it isn't a lot of time, and I'm fully expecting to be quite rushed to see as much as possible.

I'm looking for advice on where to stay (one central place or one near the wall and one in the lake district?) and how to navigate around using public transport.

Thank you!

Mentioned in this post
London
London
England, UK
Hadrian's Wall
Hadrian's Wall
525 Reviews
Carlisle, UK
Lake District
Lake District
Cumbria, UK
5 replies to this topic
Solihull
Level Contributor
4,833 posts
14 reviews
Save Reply
1. Re: 3 Days Lake District and Hadrian's Wall

Do the three full days include the travel UP to the Lake District and then BACK to London (in other words do you travel up on say Friday, stay Friday night, visit on Saturday, stay Saturday night, then travel back Sunday?

So do you only have a 2 nights stay?

If you are using public transport then I think this is going to be difficult (to see both anyway)

The train leaves London Euston and you then have to get off at Oxenholme and then get the train to Windermere. Note that Windermere is the only train station in the Lake District National Park. Windermere is in the Southern part of the Lake District, furthest from Hadrian's Wall.

This journey is going to take between 3 and a half hours (minimum) to 4 and a half hours (or more) depending how long you have to wait for a train at Oxenholme.