We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Things to do/see/eat nearish to Grosvenor House/JW Marriott

Washington DC...
Level Contributor
571 posts
2 reviews
Save Topic
Things to do/see/eat nearish to Grosvenor House/JW Marriott

I'm trying to decide on a hotel for my upcoming three night stay. I've been to London over a dozen times, so I'm not a rank newbie.

I've stayed in a wide variety of locations, including a few nights at the Dorchester 8 years ago. From what I remember of this area is that it's quite nice (of course) but a bit far from the "action" - rather quiet.

I'm not a club-goer. When I visit London I like to visit historical sites and museums, shop, take tons of photos (amateur photographer) and go on London Walks - you know, regular sightseeing. I also prefer to walk if the weather is fine - in other words being close to the things I want to visit is important. I like Bloomsbury and Covent Garden areas for that reason.

All that said, I'm all for staying in a different part of town than I usually do, as long as I've got local things nailed down ahead of time to visit. What sites of interest, including shopping, are there within, say, a one/two mile walk?

If it helps, I plan to visit Kenwood House on this visit, go on at least one London Walk, perhaps re-visit Greenwich, visit Getty Images Gallery, and probably Natl Gallery (again) and Natl Portrait Gallery (again).

Thanks!

York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
1,016 posts
83 reviews
Save Reply
1. Re: Things to do/see/eat nearish to Grosvenor House/JW Marriott